Essay Against Western thought patterns

Art gallery and music shop in the historical Pelurinho District of Salvador Bahia
Art gallery and music shop in the historical Pelurinho District of Salvador Bahia | Photo (detail): Lou Avers © picture alliance

The debate concerning provenance research, restitution and suitably representative locations for art is raging on between the Tate Modern and Documenta – and of course it’s also a recurring theme in the context of the contentious origins of the Humboldt Forum. 

By Elisabeth Wellershaus

The focus was on the low-key controversy regarding past colonial events at the 10th Berlin Biennale in 2018 as well. And it’s increasingly accepted that artists with a migration background and origins in the Global South are marching forth through a hyper-networked world.


However it’s still the case that they are marching in time with a more dominant West. “The art market is just columbusing, busy ‘discovering’ new territories, new resources and capital to accumulate,” said French-Guyanese artist Tabita Rezaire two years ago in an interview with Contemporary And art magazine. The fact is that even if a reappraisal of colonialism is initiated by artists from the Global South in particular, their visibility is still often dependent on the traditional structures and influence of typically Western institutions. In that light it’s interesting to read culture journalist Hanno Rauterberg’s recent criticism in weekly newspaper "Die Zeit": he complains how much the current north-south dialogue is fuelling the jet-setting art scene in its climate-threatening mobility.

 
Of course he’s right to condemn the international art world’s catastrophic environmental footprint. But Rauterberg fails to realise the urgency of a debate that’s finally getting going somewhere beyond the euro-centric certainties. A debate in which the historical links between Global North and South are finally being addressed, one reason for which is a recent mobility of artists from the South. Rauterberg’s urge to act at a local level where art is concerned seems understandable though. Simply because creative individuals from Africa and Latin America in particular are themselves increasingly pushing for the necessary independence from Western benefactors and demanding more visibility in a local context.

Overcoming a paralysing colonial legacy

Curators, artists and collectors have been moving around between Dakar, Havana, São Paulo and Marrakesh for years, whilst larger museums and commercial galleries are opening in Cape Town, Accra and Lagos. Yet conditions for up-and-coming artists in these places don’t really reflect the glamour of biennales and opening nights. Especially in Africa the lack of structures in an educational environment are a colonial legacy.

Many of the artefacts that are now on show in the Museum of Black Civilizations in Dakar had to be loaned from museums in France or Belgium.

Local artists and art historians have only begun to compensate for this inheritance in the past few years, for instance through projects like the pan-African Asíko Art School founded by Bisi Silva. The school aims to fill the gap “which exists across the whole continent, where art courses within mainstream education unfortunately do not include training in critical theory, art history, research methods or conceptual strategy,” to quote Silva in 2017 in an interview with artist Martha Kazungu.
 
Other than the Art Hubs in larger cities, comparatively little money is invested in cultural structures as a whole, so that contemporary art – particularly from the African continent – still frequently ends up in the hands of collectors and institutions in the West. Even the currently largest contemporary art museum in Cape Town, the Zeitz Mocaa, would hardly have existed without the initiative of the German manager and collector Jochen Zeitz. It is true to say that there’s an increasing number of collectors and curators who are also able to adopt a local perspective on art from the continent and diaspora. But even with their money and expertise they can’t do the legwork for many of the artists – finding a niche for individual creativity between the expectations of an international and national audience and struggling to make a name for themselves – above and beyond acting as a mouthpiece for their places of origin.

Art offers solutions

Ghanaian artist Serge Attukwei Clottey has been successful on both counts for a long time. He creates multimedia installations out of repurposed waste to serve as a comment on environmental problems, the causes of which include the export of Western products. “Afrogallonism” is the name he gives to his art, which uses the principle of recycling to solve more than just material problems. It also describes the routes taken by goods between Europe and Africa, and addresses the economic imbalance between the continents. In particular the gallon containers he works with – which were originally used to transport large quantities of cooking oil to Africa – cause a huge amount of plastic waste. Rubbish that stretches the waste disposal structures in Accra, Clottey’s working environment, to the limit. He uses his art to breathe new life into it, and having added significant value to it he sells it back to the West. Just as he did with his artworks made from jute sacks and cables, he is holding a mirror up to his public by transporting mass-produced Western goods back to their original environment. His GoLocal Performance Collective, or the ANO Institute of Arts and Knowledge in Accra, founded by Nana Oforiatta-Ayim, explore interrelations of precisely this nature – because they seek to improve opportunities for artists as well as social structures at a local level.
In the exhibition "Try Me", the Munich City Museum showed African advertising art in 2003 In the exhibition "Try Me", the Munich City Museum showed African advertising art in 2003 | Photo (Detail): Frank Leonhardt © picture alliance

Zina Saro-Wiwa, daughter of Nigerian activist und author Ken Saro-Wiwa, is someone else who sees the potential of activism in her art. She aims to draw attention to the Niger delta with her “Boys Quarters Project Space” in Port Harcourt. To the region in which her father fought against an exploitative oil industry in the mid-nineties, for which he was executed by the government in a show trial. His daughter’s artistic development describes the way out of postcolonial Nigeria, covering her education and initial attempts at working as a BBC journalist in the diaspora, and culminating in the photographic exploration – of her father’s legacy and the ongoing environmental problems caused by oil extraction in the region.
On 11.11.1995 members of Greenpeace commemorate the death of the executed civil rights activist Ken Saro-Wiwa © dpa / Peer Grimm in front of the Brandenburg Gate On 11.11.1995 members of Greenpeace commemorate the death of the executed civil rights activist Ken Saro-Wiwa © dpa / Peer Grimm in front of the Brandenburg Gate | Photo (Detail): Peer Grimm © picture alliance

The attempt to revive social dialogue through creative discussion is a mammoth task beyond the huge Mecca that is art. In cities like Kampala on the other hand there’s already a scene in which creative talent from both the continent and the diaspora are mixed together. Emma Wolukai-Wanambwa, who grew up in Scotland, is Research Director at the Nagenda International Agency of Art & Design there. An artist whose spectrum of expertise ranges from exploration of Polish colonial ambitions to women in aeroplanes. Against the backdrop of the KLAART Festival and the 32° East Ugandan Arts Trust, Wolukai-Wanamba is part of a trans-local art network in Kampala, in which they have been critically examining the interpretation of curatorship, theory and inflexible museum concepts for some time.
 
In other places, where daily routine is governed by political repression, the art world operates within a restricted framework as well. But even in Brazil, where creative artists are currently suffering under Bolsonaro’s rule, curators made further inroads into the reappraisal of colonialism last autumn, shortly before the political changes. The Museo Afro Brasil in São Paulo opened in 2004. But it was not until 2018 that the Museu de arte de São Paulo (MASP) came to the table as the first internationally recognised art institution in the country with the comprehensive  “Hístorias Afro-Atlanticas” exhibition, actively shifting the focus onto Afro-Brazilian history. The exhibition was full of political impact, it took place right in the middle of the most heated phase of the election in autumn last year. At that point it was already becoming clear that Jair Bolsonaro would become the new president of the country – a man who suggested that the black activists should “go back to the zoo”, and who wanted to deploy the police and army to “impose law and order” in the favelas. The curators of MASP made it quite clear what they thought of the repressive rhetoric of his politics, which constituted a significant threat to the diversity within the country.
Das Museu de arte de São Paulo (MASP) ist eines der wichtigsten Symbole der modernen brasilianischen Architektur. Das Museu de arte de São Paulo (MASP) ist eines der wichtigsten Symbole der modernen brasilianischen Architektur. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Andre M. Chang © picture alliance
In Dakar one year earlier, curators were facing completely different challenges. They had to fill the newly-opened Museum of Black Civilizations with art. But as they were choosing between works by artists from the USA and Cuba, it was becoming clear the extent to which an empty space has been left by the looting of cultural wealth, especially in West African countries – and it’s likely to take a while to fill. Many of the artefacts that are now on show in the new museum in Dakar had to be loaned from museums in France or Belgium.
 
But this isn’t really all about provenance issues. It’s just as much about recognising spaces for discussion. In future at least, the emphasis will have to be on greater awareness of trans-local artistic realities in the Global South – because without contemporary perspectives from there it won’t be anywhere near possible to achieve a comprehensive understanding of the world.

Essay Gegen westliche Denkmuster

Kunstgalerie und Musikshop im historischen Pelourinho-Viertel von Salvador Bahia
Kunstgalerie und Musikshop im historischen Pelourinho-Viertel von Salvador Bahia | Foto (Ausschnitt): Lou Avers © picture alliance

Die Auseinandersetzung um Provenienzforschung, Restitution und angemessene Repräsentationsorte für die Kunst wird zwischen Tate Modern und Documenta geführt – und natürlich immer wieder auch im Rahmen der umstrittenen Entstehung des Humboldt-Forums. 

Von Elisabeth Wellershaus

Auch bei der 10. Berlin Biennale stand 2018 die unaufdringliche Auseinandersetzung mit kolonialen Vergangenheiten im Zentrum. Und ja: Kunstschaffende mit Migrationsbiografien und aus dem globalen Süden bewegen sich immer selbstverständlicher durch eine hyper-vernetzte Welt.


Doch noch immer bewegen sie sich im Takt eines dominanteren Westens. „Der Kunstmarkt ist bloß dabei, zu ‘kolumbussen’, neue Territorien zu ‘entdecken’, neue Ressourcen und anzuhäufendes Kapital”, hatte die französisch-guayanische Künstlerin Tabita Rezaire vor zwei Jahren im Interview mit dem Kunstmagazin Contemporary And gesagt. Denn auch wenn die Aufarbeitung des Kolonialismus vor allem von Künstler*innen des globalen Südens angestoßen wird: Ihre Sichtbarkeit ist noch immer häufig abhängig von den tradierten Strukturen und dem Einfluss westlich geprägter Institutionen. Interessant daher, was der Kulturjournalist Hanno Rauterberg kürzlich in der Wochenzeitung Die Zeit monierte: Er bemängelte, wie sehr unter anderem der aktuelle Nord-Süd-Dialog die jetsettende Kunstszene in ihrer klimafeindlichen Mobilität befeuere.

 
Natürlich hat er Recht, wenn er den katastrophalen ökologischen Fußabdruck der internationalen Kunstwelt anprangert. Doch verkennt Rauterberg dabei die Dringlichkeit einer Debatte, die jenseits eurozentrischer Gewissheiten endlich in Fahrt kommt. Eine Debatte, in der historische Zusammenhänge zwischen globalem Norden und Süden endlich aufgearbeitet werden und zwar auch dank einer neuerlichen Beweglichkeit von Künstler*innen des Südens. Dennoch ist Rauterbergs Drängen auf ein gestärktes lokales Handeln in der Kunst nicht ganz abwegig. Aber eher deshalb, weil Kreative aus Afrika und Lateinamerika selbst immer mehr auf notwendige Unabhängigkeit von den Erwartungen westlicher Geldgeber*innen und auf mehr Sichtbarkeit in lokalen Kontexten drangen.

Überwindung eines lähmenden kolonialen Erbes

Kurator*innen, Künstler*innen und Sammler*innen bewegen sich seit Jahren zwischen Dakar, Havanna, São Paulo und Marrakesch, große Museen und kommerzielle Galerien eröffnen in Kapstadt, Accra, Lagos. Und doch spiegeln die Bedingungen für den Kunstnachwuchs an diesen Orten den Glamour von Biennalen und Eröffnungsabenden kaum wider. Gerade in Afrika sind die fehlenden Strukturen in pädagogischem Umfeld koloniales Vermächtnis.
 

Viele der Kunstgegenstände, die heute im Museum of Black Civilizations in Dakar zu sehen sind, mussten aus Museen in Frankreich oder Belgien geliehen werden.

Ein Erbe, das erst seit einigen Jahren durch lokale Künstler*innen und Kunsthistoriker*innen aufgefangen wird. Unter anderem durch Projekte, wie die von Bisi Silva gegründete panafrikanische Asíko Art School. Die Schule versucht, eine Lücken zu füllen, „die es auf dem ganzen Kontinent gibt, wo die Kunstausbildung im Rahmen der Bildungssysteme leider keine Ausbildung in kritischer Theorie, Kunstgeschichte, Forschungsmethodik und konzeptionellen Strategien beinhaltet”, wie Silva 2017 im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin Martha Kazungu sagte.
 
Vergleichsweise wenig Geld wird jenseits der Art Hubs in den Metropolen insgesamt in kulturelle Strukturen investiert, sodass zeitgenössische Kunst – vor allem vom afrikanischen Kontinent – noch immer häufig bei Sammler*innen und in Institutionen des Westens landen. Selbst das derzeit größte zeitgenössische Kunstmuseum in Kapstadt, das Zeitz Mocaa, hätte es ohne die Initiative des deutschen Managers und Sammlers Jochen Zeitz kaum gegeben. Zwar gibt es immer mehr Sammler*innen und Kurator*innen, die Kunst vom Kontinent und aus der Diaspora auch aus lokaler Perspektive denken. Doch selbst mit ihrem Geld und ihrer Expertise können sie es vielen Künstler*innen nicht abnehmen: das Ausloten der individuellen Kreativität zwischen den Erwartungen eines internationalen und nationalen Publikums und das Ringen um Selbstbehauptung – jenseits der oft erwarteten Sprachrohrfunktion für ihre Herkunftsorte.

Kunst bietet Lösungen

Dem ghanaischen Künstler Serge Attukwei Clottey gelingt beides seit Langem. Mit seinen Multimedia-Installationen, in denen er Müll umfunktioniert, thematisiert er Umweltprobleme, die unter anderem durch den Export von westlichen Produkten entstehen. „Afrogallonism“ bezeichnet er seine Kunst, die durch das Prinzip der Wiederverwertung nicht nur Materialprobleme löst. Sie beschreibt auch Warenwege zwischen Europa und Afrika und thematisiert das wirtschaftliche Ungleichgewicht zwischen den Kontinenten. Vor allem die Kanister, mit denen er arbeitet – in denen ursprünglich in großem Umfang Kochöl nach Afrika transportiert wurde – verursachen enorme Mengen an Plastikmüll. Abfall, der die Entsorgungsstrukturen in Clotteys Arbeitsumfeld Accra an Grenzen bringt. Mit seiner Kunstpraxis haucht er ihm neues Leben ein und verkauft ihn mit deutlicher Wertsteigerung zurück an den Westen. Ähnlich wie mit den von ihm bearbeiteten Jutesäcken oder Kabeln hält er dem Publikum den Spiegel vor, wenn er massenproduzierte West-Erzeugnisse in ihre ursprüngliche Umgebung zurück transportiert. Verflechtungen genau dieser Art erforschen sein GoLocal Performance Kollektiv oder das von Nana Oforiatta Ayim gegründete ANO Institute of Arts and Knowledge in Accra – weil sie die künstlerischen Möglichkeiten und sozialen Strukturen vor Ort verbessern wollen.
In der Ausstellung „Try Me“ zeigte das Münchner Stadtmuseum 2003 afrikanische Reklamekunst In der Ausstellung „Try Me“ zeigte das Münchner Stadtmuseum 2003 afrikanische Reklamekunst | Foto (Ausschnitt): Frank Leonhardt © picture alliance
Auch Zina Saro-Wiwa, Tochter des nigerianischen Aktivisten und Schriftstellers Ken Saro-Wiwa, sieht in ihrer Kunst die Möglichkeiten aktivistischen Handelns. Mit ihrem „Boys Quarters Project Space“ in Port Harcourt versucht sie, den Blick aufs Niger-Delta zu lenken. Auf jene Region, in der ihr Vater Mitte der 1990er Jahre gegen eine ausbeuterische Öl-Industrie kämpfte und dafür in einem Schauprozess von der Regierung hingerichtet wurde. Die künstlerische Entwicklung seiner Tochter beschreibt den Weg aus dem postkolonialen Nigeria, über Ausbildung und erste Arbeitsversuche als BBC-Journalistin in der Diaspora bis hin zur fotografischen Auseinandersetzung – mit dem Vermächtnis des Vaters und den anhaltenden Umweltproblemen durch die Ölförderung in der Region.
Am 11.11.1995 gedenken Mitglieder von Greenpeace vor dem Brandenburger Tor des hingerichteten Bürgerrechtlers Ken Saro-Wiwa Am 11.11.1995 gedenken Mitglieder von Greenpeace vor dem Brandenburger Tor des hingerichteten Bürgerrechtlers Ken Saro-Wiwa | Foto (Ausschnitt): Peer Grimm © picture alliance
Der Versuch, über die kreative Auseinandersetzung den gesellschaftlichen Dialog wiederzubeleben, ist jenseits der großen Kunstmekkas Sisyphusarbeit. In Städten wie Kampala findet sich dagegen bereits eine Szene, an der sich kreatives Talent vom Kontinent mit dem aus der Diaspora mischt. Die in Schottland aufgewachsene Emma Wolukai-Wanambwa ist dort Research Direktorin der Nagenda International Agency of Art & Design. Eine Künstlerin, deren Themenspektrum von der Auseinandersetzung mit polnischen Kolonialambitionen bis zu Frauen in Flugzeugen reicht. Im Umfeld des KLAART Festivals und dem 32° East Ugandan Arts Trust ist Wolukai-Wanamba in Kampala Teil eines translokalen Kunstnetzwerks, in dem das Verständnis von kuratorischer Praxis, Theorie und starren musealen Konzepten längst kritisch hinterfragt wird.
 
Andernorts, wo politische Repressionen den Alltag bestimmen, agiert auch die Kunstwelt in eingeschränktem Rahmen. Doch selbst in Brasilien, dessen Kulturschaffende derzeit unter der Regierung Bolsonaro leiden, machten Kurator*innen vergangenen Herbst, kurz vor der politischen Wende, noch einmal einen Vorstoß in Sachen kolonialer Aufarbeitung. 2004 hatte das Museo Afro Brasil in São Paulo eröffnet. Doch erst 2018 legte das Museu de arte de São Paulo (MASP) als erste international anerkannte Kunstinstitution des Landes mit der umfassenden Ausstellung „Hístorias Afro-Atlanticas“ nach und lenkte den Blick offensiv auf die afro-brasilianische Geschichte. In der Ausstellung steckte politische Wucht, sie war direkt während der heißesten Wahlkampfphase im Herbst letzten Jahres zu sehen. Damals zeichnete sich bereits ab, dass Jair Bolsonaro neuer Präsident des Landes werden würde – ein Mann, der Schwarzen Aktivist*innen nahe gelegt hatte, „zurück in den Zoo zu gehen“ und mit Polizei und Militär in den Favelas „für Ordnung sorgen“ wollte. Die Kurator*innen des MASP bezogen deutlich Stellung zur repressiven Rhetorik seiner Politik, die die Vielfalt innerhalb des Landes deutlich bedrohte.
Das Museu de arte de São Paulo (MASP) ist eines der wichtigsten Symbole der modernen brasilianischen Architektur. Das Museu de arte de São Paulo (MASP) ist eines der wichtigsten Symbole der modernen brasilianischen Architektur. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Andre M. Chang © picture alliance
In Dakar standen Kurator*innen ein Jahr zuvor vor ganz anderen Herausforderungen. Sie mussten das neu eröffnete Museum of Black Civilizations mit Kunst anfüllen. Doch in der Auswahl zwischen Arbeiten von Künstler*innen aus den USA und Kuba zeigte sich, wie sehr die Plünderung kultureller Bestände, vor allem in westafrikanischen Ländern eine Leerstelle hinterlassen hat, die so schnell wohl nicht zu füllen ist. Viele der Kunstgegenstände, die heute im neuen Museum in Dakar zu sehen sind, mussten aus Museen in Frankreich oder Belgien geliehen werden.
 
Doch es geht gar nicht nur um Provenienz-Fragen. Sondern genauso um die Anerkennung von Auseinandersetzungs-Räumen. Zumindest in Zukunft wird es um eine stärkere Wahrnehmung translokaler künstlerischer Realitäten im globalen Süden gehen müssen – ohne dessen zeitgenössische Perspektiven ist ein umfassendes Verständnis von Welt nämlich längst nicht mehr möglich.