Opening Opening talk

Opening Talk © EL BOUM
Opening talk with Michelle Müntefering (Minister of State at the Federal Foreign Office of Germany, Berlin), Johannes Ebert (Secretary General, Goethe-Institut, Munich), Nanjira Sambuli (political scientist and digital strategist, Nairobi), Souleymane Bachir Diagne (philosopher, New York City), Nikita Dhawan (political scientist, Berlin), Prasanna Oommen (moderator, Cologne)

The Latitude festival opens with a conversation that brings together three positions which explore coloniality in dominant thought structures, infrastructures, and institutional orders in our societies from their own perspectives. The political scientist and digital strategist Nanjira Sambuli advocates globally for equal access to the digital world, especially for women. The philosopher Souleymane Bachir Diagne rethinks the history of ideas from an inclusive global perspective by highlighting the interconnections of Islamic, African, and European traditions. The political scientist Nikita Dhawan reflects on categories such as justice and injustice in the context of alternative narratives that have been displaced from classical historiography and illustrates the future potential of postcolonial and queer-feminist theories.
 
The festival’s opening focuses on unequal global relations and puts the colonial traces that still shape our present into stark relief. At the same time, it opens up spaces for reflection and action which resonate with the subsequent program topics.
 
In English, simultaneously translated into German.

 

With

Eröffnung Eröffnungsgespräch

Begrüßung und Eröffnungsgespräch © EL BOUM
Eröffnung mit Michelle Müntefering (Staatsministerin für Internationale Kulturpolitik, Auswärtiges Amt, Berlin), Johannes Ebert (Generalsekretär, Goethe-Institut, München), Nanjira Sambuli (Politologin und Digitalstrategin, Nairobi), Souleymane Bachir Diagne (Philosoph, New York City), Nikita Dhawan (Politikwissenschaftlerin, Berlin), Prasanna Oommen (Moderatorin, Köln)

Im Eröffnungsgespräch des Festivals Latitude treffen drei Positionen aufeinander, die aus ihren Perspektiven Kolonialität in herrschenden Denkstrukturen, Infrastrukturen und institutionellen Ordnungen in unseren Gesellschaften nachgehen. Die Politologin und Digitalstrategin Nanjira Sambuli engagiert sich weltweit für gleichen Zugang zum Digitalen, besonders für Frauen. Der Philosoph Souleymane Bachir Diagne denkt Ideengeschichte aus einer inklusiven globalen Perspektive neu, indem er die Verflechtungen islamischer, afrikanischer und europäischer Traditionen aufzeigt. Die Politikwissenschaftlerin Nikita Dhawan reflektiert über Kategorien wie Recht und Unrecht im Kontext alternativer Narrative, die aus der klassischen Geschichtsschreibung verdrängt wurden, und verdeutlicht das Zukunftspotenzial von postkolonialen und queer-feministischen Theorien.

Der Auftakt des Festivals legt ungleiche globale Beziehungen offen und zeichnet koloniale Spuren scharf, die unsere Gegenwart noch immer formen. Zugleich eröffnet er Räume der Reflexion und des Handelns und erzeugt Resonanzen in den weiteren Programmpunkten.

Auf Englisch mit Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche.
 

Mitwirkende