Panel Suppressed Memory: Identity and the Politics of Memory on Trial

Suppressed Memory: Identity and the Politics of Memory on Trial © EL BOUM
Panel with Urvashi Butalia (author and publisher, Delhi), Nelago Shilongoh (theatre producer and actress, Windhoek), Mark Terkessidis (freelance author and migration researcher, Berlin), moderator: René Aguigah (moderator and journalist, Berlin)

What role does the colonial era play in the awareness of history and the culture of memory in Namibia, Germany or India? How to remember and at the same time take responsibility for the future? How can structural racism be countered, how can alliances between groups be formed and political strategies be developed together? How to ensure that different histories are given a voice, and how to establish a polyphonic culture of memory?
The question regarding how to handle one’s own colonial past and the racism of the present arises in various places, in a form unique to each, often leading to controversial discussions. The upshot of these is the decision as to who is involved in public discourse, who suffers discrimination, and who develops identity through identification. These are just some of the questions that the experts will address and compare in the discussion.

In English.

Participants

Diskussion Verdrängtes Erinnern: Identitäts- und Erinnerungspolitik auf dem Prüfstand

Verdrängtes Erinnern: Identitäts- und Erinnerungspolitik auf dem Prüfstand © EL BOUM
Diskussion mit Urvashi Butalia (Autorin und Verlegerin, Delhi), Nelago Shilongoh (Theatermacherin und Schauspielerin, Windhoek), Mark Terkessidis (freier Autor und Migrationsforscher, Berlin), Moderation: René Aguigah (Moderator und Journalist, Berlin)

Welche Rolle spielt die Kolonialzeit im Geschichtsbewusstsein und der Erinnerungskultur in Namibia, Deutschland oder Indien? Wie wird ihr gedacht und zugleich Verantwortung für die Zukunft übernommen? Wie soll man strukturellem Rassismus begegnen, wie können Allianzen zwischen Gruppen geformt und gemeinsam politische Strategien entwickelt werden? Wie verschafft man verschiedenen Geschichten Gehör und etabliert eine polyphone Erinnerungskultur?
Die Frage nach dem Umgang mit der eigenen kolonialen Vergangenheit und dem Rassismus der Gegenwart stellt sich an verschiedenen Orten in je spezifischer Weise und führt dabei zu kontroversen Diskussionen. An ihnen entscheidet sich, wer an öffentlichen Diskursen beteiligt wird, wer von Diskriminierung betroffen ist, und wie sich Identität durch Identifikation ausbildet. Dies sind nur einige der Fragen, die die Expert*innen vergleichend diskutieren werden.


Auf Englisch.

Mit