Kitchen talk Travelling Kitchen with Food Explorer Ozoz Sokoh

Travelling Kitchen with Food Explorer Ozoz Sokoh © EL BOUM
With Ozoz Sokoh (food explorer, Lagos), Luciana Santos dos Reis (PhD Student and Translator, Salvador)

As a “kitchen traveller”, Ozoz Sokoh is tracking down the links between food cultures in different countries. At the Latitude festival she’s cooking Nigerian Akara and Brazilian Acarajé (bean fritters), as well as opening up perspectives on (inter)cultural practices, history and Sokoh’s own experiences. What influences helped to shape these foods? What can they tell us about (de)colonial entanglements? The recipes are available in advance.

Statement Ozoz Sokoh:
When I discovered Acarajé in 2009 - I was homesick and living abroad. I immediately understood its importance and relevance in Brazilian cuisine as a cultural anchor, I understood holding on the home in a foreign land. In Nigeria, I'd only encountered Akara in its daily form - without reverence. This struck me - Akara is loved and Acarajé is treasured. I see the role remembering plays in making it live on, I see how home is carried in this fritter, identities shaped, culture honoured. I see food that not only nourishes the body but soothes the soul in spite of its tragic, tortured beginnings on the seas of slavery. I'm thankful that this fritter has been a beacon for me, opening my eyes to all the ways home exists, in spite of where we are. Roberto da Matta is quoted as saying in the book, Black Milk: Imagining Slavery in the Visual Cultures of Brazil and America: “Sanduíche é alimenta; Acarajé é comida”, which translates as “The sandwich is grub, the Acarajé is soul food”. 
 
Statement Luciana Reis
Talking about Acarajé to us Black Brazilian women, is much more than talking about a delicacy. It is talking about the existing ties between Brazil and Africa and also about the secular strategies that Black women have used to keep their cultural and religious traditions alive. In addition, the sale of acarajé is one of several ways of generating work and income for Black families and communities. Thus, in order to legitimize the importance not only of acarajé, but also of the Baianas of Acarajé, there is an effort by the National Association of Baianas de Acarajé  and Porridge Vendors (ABAM) to recognize this craft / heritage practice of Baianas de Acarajé as Salvador exemplars of Intangible Heritage. 

In English.

With

Küchengespräch Travelling Kitchen mit Food Explorer Ozoz Sokoh

Travelling Kitchen mit Food Explorer Ozoz Sokoh © EL BOUM
Gespräch mit Ozoz Sokoh (Food Explorer, Lagos), Luciana Santos dos Reis (Doktorandin und Übersetzerin, Salvador)

Als „Reisende durch die Küchen“ spürt Ozoz Sokoh den Verbindungen zwischen Esskulturen verschiedener Länder nach. Auf dem Latitude-Festival kocht sie nigerianische Akara und brasilianische Acarajé (frittierte Bohnenbällchen) und eröffnet Perspektiven auf (inter-)kulturelle Praktiken, Geschichte und Sokohs eigene Erfahrungen. Welche Einflüsse haben diese Speisen geformt? Was erzählen sie über einst koloniale Verflechtungen? Die Rezepte gibt es vorab.

Statement Ozoz Sokoh:
Als ich 2009 Acarajé entdeckte, hatte ich Heimweh und lebte im Ausland. Ich verstand sofort seine Bedeutung und Relevanz in der brasilianischen Küche als kultureller Anker, ich verstand das Festhalten an der Heimat in einem fremden Land. In Nigeria war ich dem Acarajé nur in seiner alltäglichen Form begegnet - ohne Ehrfurcht. Das fiel mir auf - Akara wird geliebt, aber Acarajé wird verehrt. Ich sehe die Rolle, die das Erinnern spielt, damit es weiterleben kann, ich sehe, wie in diesen frittierten Teigbällen die Heimat transportiert wird, Identitäten geformt, die Kultur geehrt wird. Ich sehe eine Nahrung, die nicht nur den Körper nährt, sondern auch die Seele, trotz ihrer tragischen, quälerischen Anfänge auf den Meeren der Sklaverei. Ich bin dankbar dafür, dass diese frittierte Mahlzeit für mich ein Leuchtfeuer war, das mir die Augen für alle Wege geöffnet hat, die es nach Hause gibt, ungeachtet dessen, wo wir uns aufhalten. Roberto da Matta wird in dem Buch Black Milk: Imagining Slavery in the Visual Cultures of Brazil and America zitiert mit den Worten: "Sanduíche é alimenta; Acarajé é comida", was übersetzt so viel bedeutet wie "Das Sandwich ist Futter, Acarajé hingegen ist eine Seelennahrung".  
 
Statement Luciana Reis
Mit uns schwarzen brasilianischen Frauen über Acarajé zu sprechen, ist viel mehr als nur ein Gespräch über eine Delikatesse. Es geht um die bestehenden Bindungen zwischen Brasilien und Afrika und auch um die säkularen Strategien, mit denen schwarze Frauen ihre kulturellen und religiösen Traditionen am Leben erhalten haben. Darüber hinaus ist der Verkauf von Acarajé eine von mehreren Möglichkeiten, Arbeit und Einkommen für schwarze Familien und Gemeinschaften zu schaffen. Um die Bedeutung nicht nur von Acarajé, sondern auch der Baianas (Verkäuferinnen) von Acarajé hervorzuheben, setzt sich die Nationale Vereinigung der Acarajé-Verkäuferinnen (ABAM) dafür ein, diese Handwerks- und Kulturerbe-Praxis als salvadorianisches Beispiel für ein unantastbares Erbe anzuerkennen.

Auf Englisch.

 

Mit