Video-Performance & Conversation The Mourning Citizen / by Trixie Munyama

The Mourning Citizen Performance © Andreas Elifas
Video-Performance (Duration: 29 Min) by Trixie Munyama (choreographer und performer, Windhoek), followed by conversation and Q&A with Vitjitua Ndjiharine (Artist, Windhoek) and Prasanna Oommen (Moderator, Köln)

The Mourning Citizen is an extension of The Mourning, an original body of work conceptualised by Trixie Munyama in 2016. This time around, the work interrogates the underlay of the genocide as a historical focal point which continues to haunt our present.
Our collective devised process begins with asking ourselves, how do we mourn? Who holds a passport to mourn?
We are deeply concerned about how Namibian patriarchal nationalism has denied us the right to mourn. We recognise how culture and memory has been captured and demobilised in the new dispensation. We also know that the Ministry of Mourning and Restorative Justice is non-existent. Therapy is expensive.
We acknowledge the unaccounted bones that litter the land. The ancestors are not asleep. We are aware of the haunted public sites. Ghosts dancing and singing about the struggle. We find our acts, rituals and archives of mourning in our cultures, communities and far between spaces of:

HEALING & TRAUMATISING
CLEANSING & ERASURE
CARE & VIOLENCE
PRAYING & CURSING
WEEPING & WHIPPING
 
This performance art is an onsite collaboration between various Namibian artists with an immersive artistic intervention featuring visuals, soundscapes and performance art, bringing a personal experience as the audience becomes part of the performance. For the “Latitude” festival, Trixie Munyama and her artistic companions convert the work into a digital format.
(by Trixie Munyama)


Gift Uzera, Patricia Amoomo, Justina Andreas, West Uarije, Joy Kaperu, Joanne Sitler (Dancers), Justine Thwabi (Actress), Enchanté (Musician), Sam Batola (Guitarist), Raymond Mupfumira (Musician), Chris Eiseb (Drummer), Nesindano Namises (Spoken Word), Isabel Katjavivi (Sculptor), Hildegard Titus (Visuality and Design), Vitjitua Ndjiharine (Visuality and Design), Jacques Mushaandja (Curator and Musical Arrangement), Trixie Munyama (Artistic Director), Tulimeke Shileka (Production Assistant), Jumper Namibia (Video Production)

Film and conversation in English, the conversation will be translated into German simultaneously.
 

With

Video-Performance & Gespräch The Mourning Citizen / von Trixie Munyama

The Mourning Citizen Performance © Andreas Elifas
Video-Performance (Dauer: 29 Min) von Trixie Munyama (Choreografin und Performerin, Windhoek), im Anschluss Gespräch und Q&A mit Vitjitua Ndjiharine (Künstlerin, Windhoek) und Prasanna Oommen (Moderatorin, Köln)

Mit The Mourning Citizen führt Trixie Munyama ihr 2016 entwickeltes Ursprungswerk The Mourning weiter. Diesmal fragen sie nach den Ursachen des Völkermords als Brennpunkt der Geschichte, der uns bis in die Gegenwart verfolgt.
Zu Beginn unseres gemeinsam entwickelten Prozesses stellten wir uns die Frage: Wie trauern wir? Wer hat eine Berechtigung zur Trauer?
Wir beobachten mit großer Sorge, wie uns durch den patriarchalisch geprägten Nationalismus in Namibia das Recht auf Trauer versagt wurde. Wir erkennen, wie Kultur und Erinnerung von der neuen Ordnung gekapert und demobilisiert wurden. Wir wissen auch, dass es ein Ministerium der Trauer und eine opferorientierte Justiz nicht gibt. Therapie ist eine kostspielige Angelegenheit.
Uns ist bekannt, dass die Gebeine der Vermissten überall im Land verteilt sind. Unsere Ahnen finden keinen Schlaf. Wir wissen, dass ihre Geister im öffentlichen Raum tanzen und Lieder des Leids anstimmen. Wir finden unsere Akte, Rituale und Archive der Trauer in unseren Kulturen, Gemeinschaften und an den weit voneinander entfernten Orten von:

HEILUNG & TRAUMA
REINIGUNG & AUSLÖSCHUNG
FÜRSORGE & GEWALT
GEBETEN & FLÜCHEN
KLAGEN & PEITSCHENHIEBEN
 
Die Performance geht auf eine Zusammenarbeit lokaler Künstler*innen aus Namibia zurück, die mit eindrücklichen künstlerischen Beiträgen wie Visuals, Klanglandschaften und Performance-Kunst und durch die Beteiligung des Publikums an der Performance eine ganz persönliche Erfahrung ermöglichen. Für das Festival Latitude überführen Trixie Munyama und ihre künstlerischen Begleiter*innen die Arbeit in ein digitales Format.
(von Trixie Munyama)


Gift Uzera, Patricia Amoomo, Justina Andreas, West Uarije, Joy Kaperu, Joanne Sitler (Dancers), Justine Thwabi (Actress), Enchanté (Musician), Sam Batola (Guitarist), Raymond Mupfumira (Musician), Chris Eiseb (Drummer), Nesindano Namises (Spoken Word), Isabel Katjavivi (Sculptor), Hildegard Titus (Visuality and Design), Vitjitua Ndjiharine (Visuality and Design), Jacques Mushaandja (Curator and Musical Arrangement), Trixie Munyama (Artistic Director), Tulimeke Shileka (Production Assistant), Jumper Namibia (Video Production)

Film und Gespräch auf Englisch, letzteres mit Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche.
 

Mitwirkende