Video-Performance & Conversation Decolonize Architecture Now / by Pascale Obolo

Decolonize Architecture Now © Pascale Obolo
The film is in French, the transcription is available here:  In her performative film project Decolonize Architecture Now, filmmaker Pascale Obolo follows the traces of German colonial rule in Cameroon and questions their role in today’s culture of memory. As part of the festival, she presents Decolonized Bismarck's Fountain/Living Archive Part I, which is the latest film in the project and was made between 2016 and 2019 in collaboration with André Takou Saa. The work’s starting point is Puttkamer’s castle, which testifies to German colonial rule in Buea, and a monument in the castle park honoring Otto von Bismarck. Pascale Obolo's work is an intervention in the prevailing discourses of memory and explores new possibilities for decolonizing” public space.

“The film stages a performance in the city of Buea in Cameroon. The film’s subject is not taken as a fixed historical truth, but as a sociopolitical and cultural practice in which architectural remains, objects, memories, and sound documents are turned around and interpreted in a new way. It is structured by a non-linear fictional narrative and questions the presence of the colonial body in a public space haunted by the ghost of Bismarck. The medium of the body decolonizes/re-colonizes the public space in a performance that creates a fleeting monument to honor the Cameroonian resistance fighters. Much like bodies, buildings and monuments have their own history and memory. This statement acquires its full meaning in the context of colonial architecture. What role does the body play in the construction of the individual? What is at stake when bodies are deconstructed through works of art, like the colonial body in Frantz Fanon? In Fanon’s work the black man dreams of being white, but what does the colonizer dream of? The work thus understands and uses history as an unfinished fiction in which visual aesthetics are freely unfolded and counter-fictions are invented in order to visualize stories that have been erased from our memory.
(by Pascale Obolo)

The film is part of the project Decolonize Architecture Now.

After the film, in a conversation moderated by Katharina Hey Pascale, Obolo will talk with Assumpta Mugiraneza about their work and how they deal with the colonial legacy in Cameroon, Rwanda, and Germany.

The conversation is in French, simultaneously translated into English.
 

With

Video-Performance & Gespräch Decolonize Architecture / von Pascale Obolo

Decolonize Architecture Now © Pascale Obolo
Der Film ist auf Französisch, die Transkription finden Sie hier:  In ihrem filmisch-performativen Projekt Decolonize Architecture Now folgt die Filmemacherin Pascale Obolo den Spuren deutscher Kolonialherrschaft in Kamerun und befragt deren Rolle in der heutigen Erinnerungskultur. Im Rahmen des Festivals präsentiert sie Decolonized Bismarck’s Fountain/Living Archive Part I, den neusten Film des Projekts, entstanden zwischen 2016 und 2019, in Zusammenarbeit mit André Takou Saa. Ausgangspunkt der Arbeit ist das Schloss von Puttkamer, Zeugnis der deutschen Kolonialherrschaft in Buea, und ein Denkmal im Schlosspark, das Otto von Bismarck ehrt. Pascale Obolos Arbeit stellt eine Intervention zu herrschenden Erinnerungsdiskursen dar und erkundet neue Möglichkeiten der Dekolonisierung des öffentlichen Raums.
 
„Der Film inszeniert eine Performance in der Stadt Buea in Kamerun. Der Gegenstand des Films wird nicht als feste historische Wahrheit betrachtet, sondern als gesellschaftspolitische und kulturelle Praxis, in der architektonische Überreste, Objekte, Erinnerungen und Tondokumente neu gewendet und interpretiert werden. Er wird durch eine fiktionale und nicht-lineare Erzählung strukturiert und hinterfragt die Präsenz des kolonialen Körpers in einem öffentlichen Raum, der vom Gespenst Bismarcks heimgesucht wird. Das Medium Körper dekolonisiert/rekolonisiert den öffentlichen Raum in einer Performance, die ein flüchtiges Denkmal entstehen lässt, um die kamerunischen Widerstandskämpfer zu ehren. Gebäude und Denkmäler haben, ebenso wie Körper, ihre eigene Geschichte und Erinnerung. Im Kontext kolonialer Architektur erlangt diese Aussage ihre volle Bedeutung. Welche Rolle spielt der Körper für die Konstruktion des Individuums? Was steht auf dem Spiel, wenn Körper durch Kunstwerke dekonstruiert werden, wie der koloniale Körper bei Frantz Fanon? In Fanons Werk träumt der Schwarze davon, weiß zu sein, aber wovon träumt der Kolonisator? Die Arbeit begreift und nutzt so Geschichte als unabgeschlossene Fiktion, in der sich die visuelle Ästhetik frei entfalten kann, um durch die Erfindung von Gegen-Fiktionen Geschichten sichtbar zu machen, die aus unserem Gedächtnis gelöscht wurden.“
(von Pascale Obolo)

Der Film ist Teil des Projekts Decolonize Architecture Now.
 
Im Anschluss an den Film sprechen Pascale Obolo und Assumpta Mugiraneza über ihre Arbeit und reflektieren gemeinsam mit der Moderatorin Katharina Hey über den Umgang mit dem kolonialen Erbe in Kamerun, Ruanda und Deutschland.

Das Gespräch findet auf Französisch mit Simultanübersetzung ins Englische statt.
 

Mitwirkende