Video chain reaction Good Question, Next Question: Identity

Good Question, Next Question: Decolonise the Internet © EL BOUM
Video chain reaction with Malcolm Ohanwe (journalist, Munich), Urvashi Butalia (author and publisher, Delhi), Nelago Shilongoh (theatre producer and actress, Windhoek), Keyna Eleison (Curator, Rio de Janeiro)

Race, class, gender: identity categories like these shape our understanding of ourselves and others. They create community and feelings of belonging, but also lead to exclusion and marginalisation. What forms of discrimination shape our present, and how can one counter them? How can one rethink alliances between different groups and translate them into common political strategies?
 
In a discursive chain reaction on the topic of “identity,” Malcolm Ohanwe, Urvashi Butaliaand Nelago Shilongoh question our notions of identity and attempt to grasp the tension between the positive and negative dimensions of identity.


In English with German subtitles.
 

With

Video-Kettenreaktion Good Question, Next Question: Identität

Good Question, Next Question: Dekolonisierung des Internets © EL BOUM
Video-Kettenreaktion mit Malcolm Ohanwe (Journalist, München), Urvashi Butalia (Autorin und Verlegerin, Delhi), Nelago Shilongoh (Theatermacherin und Perfomerin, Windhoek), Keyna Eleison (Kuratorin, Rio de Janeiro)

Race, Class, Gender: Identitätskategorien wie diese prägen unser Verständnis von uns selbst und anderen. Sie stiften Gemeinschaft und Gefühle der Zugehörigkeit, gleichzeitig führen sie zu Ausschluss und Ausgrenzung. Welche Formen der Diskriminierung prägen unsere Gegenwart und wie kann man ihnen begegnen? Können Allianzen zwischen verschiedenen Gruppen neu gedacht und in gemeinsame politische Strategien überführt werden?

In einer diskursiven Kettenreaktion zum Thema „Identität“ hinterfragen Malcolm Ohanwe, Urvashi Butalia und Nelago Shilongoh unsere Vorstellungen von Identität und versuchen, die Spannung zwischen den positiven und den negativen Dimensionen von Identität zu fassen.

Auf Englisch mit deutschen Untertiteln.
 

Mitwirkende