Online exhibition DIGITAL RESIDENCY VILA SUL – GOETHE-INSTITUT SALVADOR-BAHIA

Digital Residency Vila Sul
Digital Residency Vila Sul | © Vila Sul

Vila Sul is the Goethe-Institut’s artist residency in Salvador de Bahia, Brazil. Geographically, Salvador de Bahia lies along the coast of the ‘Black Atlantic’; historically, it was Brazil’s first capital; and culturally, it has been largely Afro-Brazilian. The city thus forms an important node in the south to south dialogue. The residency is aimed at recognised intellectuals or researchers, while its overarching theme is the south.

Vila Sul’s current residents—Thó Simões (Malanje), Koffi Mensah Akagbor, (Ouagadougou), Émilie B. Guérette (Montreal), and Renata Martins (Bonn)—could not travel to Salvador due to the COVID-19 pandemic and are completing their residencies digitally, which is also a new experience for the institution. The residents will present the initial results from this period at the Latitude festival and offer insights into their work.

TransAções: Mapping of Trans Artists in Brazil  |  Exhibition

TransAções: Mapping of Trans Artists in Brazil © Agência Skooby Artists: Amora Julia Cunha Bueno, Benjamin Modrý Sant'Anna Pimentel, Érica Magalhães, Felipa Queiroz, Guilhermina Augusti da Silva Santos, Léo de Melo Monteiro, Levi Mota Muniz, A Banida, Lino Alves Arruda, Marcela Meirelles, Paulo Bevilacqua​, PorcaFlor, Victório Martins Fróes Abraham, Vitória Martins Amaral dos Santos, Yago Goya (all from Brazil)

Concept: Renata Martins (curator, journalist, and art critic, Bonn). Curators: Renata Martins, National Association of Transvestites and Transsexuals (ANTRA), Casa Aurora – Cultural and Reception Center LGBTQI+, and MONART (National Movement of Trans Artists).

Since Brazil is the world leader in crimes against sexual minorities, this exhibition creates a unique virtual space for visualising the work of trans artists in the field of fine art while also functioning as a meeting place.
 
Find the exhibition here: https://exposicaotransacoes.pageflow.io/transacoes

Best Regards  |  Exhibition

Best Regards © Koffi Mensah Curator: Tiago Sant’Ana (Künstler, Salvador)

Artists: Koffi Mensah Akagbor (Ouagadougou), Thó Simões (Malanje), Renata Martins (Bonn), Emilie B. Guérette (Montreal), Leila Danziger (Rio de Janeiro) and Eduardo Montelli (Brazil)

The exhibition enables contact across distances, between communications, sounds, and relationships in order to conceptualise the ability of interpersonal exchange as a strategy for visual creation. Letters, videos, and other artistic objects are juxtaposed with each other, at a time when relationships are experiencing a paradoxical moment through the prescribed distance.

Find the exhibition here: http://exposicaotransacoes.pageflow.io/bestregards​

Metal contra as nuvens (Metal against Clouds)  | Exhibition

Metal contra as nuvens © Ronaldo Sales Curator: Tiago Sant’Ana (Artist, Salvador)

Artists: Koffi Mensah Akagbor (Ouagadougou), Rebeca Carapiá (Brasilien)

An encounter between the artists Koffi Mensah Akagbor from Burkina Faso and Rebeca Carapiá from Brazil: with different visions, but from places with histories closely tied to colonial wounds, the artists make works that rely on materiality in order to construct their poetic visions.
 
Find the exhibition here: https://exposicaotransacoes.pageflow.io/metal-contra-nuvens

Açúcar sobre capela (Sugar on Chapel)  | Video | 2018

Açúcar sobre capela  © Tiago Santana Künstler: Tiago Sant’Ana (Salvador)

The ruins of a rural chapel belonging to the old Paramirim Mill are covered with 100 kilos of sugar. In the performance, the artist uses sugar as a way to highlight the mill – today forgotten and deteriorated by time – as a space that catalysed the processes of slave-like racial violence in Brazil.

Find the video here: https://vimeo.com/423654885

Untouchable | Installation and Performance | 2020

Unberührbar © Intocavel Artist: Thó Simões

How is it going to be? Will we be able to ... And the feelings ... Love ... The longings ... What should we do with them ... How can we fullfill them? Will we be left ... The people!?

Find the videos here: https://youtu.be/MzYvh2c5CKA
                                   https://youtu.be/w2WgMA8Nh9U
                                   https://youtu.be/ijgFBbWr0B0

Find the live talk with Thó Simões as part of the Latitude Festival here: https://www.goethe.de/prj/lat/de/dtl/pro.cfm?event_id=21875281

Rio de Janeiro Continua Lindo? | Short film | 2018

Rio de Janeiro Continua Lindo? © Émilie B. Guérette Artist: Émilie B. Guérette

The port area of ​​Rio de Janeiro, which in recent years has been the target of radical urban changes in favour of tourism and international investors, is also a space of popular resistance. The short documentary film Rio de Janeiro Continua Lindo? (Is Rio de Janeiro Still Beautiful?) presents different popular housing projects, where the population of the region struggles to maintain their right to the city. This video is the result of a co-creation process between representatives of four social movements, residents of squats and popular housing projects in the port area and the Canadian film maker Émilie B. Guérette. The video was produced as part of the international ethnographic research Helping the Poor Stay Put by the Syracuse University (USA), the King's College London (England), the Universidade Federal Fluminense (Brazil) and the Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) – which compares several models of popular housing in the central region of Rio de Janeiro.

Calq_noir © Calq Find the short film here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CrddgMYjm5c

Find the live talk with Émilie B. Guérette as part of the Latitude Festival here: https://www.goethe.de/prj/lat/de/dtl/pro.cfm?event_id=21875260

Virtual Writers’ Room Brazil | Virtual scenic reading of “Ar-f-ar” | 2020

Virtueller Writers' Room © Leonel Henckes Playwrights: Diego Pinheiro, Aldri Anunciação, Mônica Santana, Maria Shu und Jhonny Salaberg (alle aus Brasilien)
Ensemble: Márcia Lima, Lais Machado, Filipe Ramos, Marina Esteves und Caboclo de Cobre (alle aus Brasilien)

The playwrights Aldri Anunciação, Diego Araúja, Jhonny Salaberg, Maria Shu and Mônica Santana present the result of their joint work on an unpublished theatre text in the form of a stage reading. The text was written live and publicly in a digital archive during one month under the current conditions of social isolation. The work entitled Ar-f-ar was created as part of the Sala de Dramaturgia Virtual Brasil, a project of the Goethe-Institut Salvador-Bahia in partnership with the platform Melanina Digital. The Virtual Dramaturgy Room Brazil began on 8th April with a video conference in which the five authors* discussed themes, arguments and mottoes for the text. The group then worked online in a digital file available at http://bit.ly/saladedramaturgia, which allows anyone interested to follow the writing of the play as it takes place.

Find the film here: https://youtu.be/j3hyf615U7Y
(English subtitles are available for this film. Please activate captions on YouTube.)

Online-Ausstellung DIGITALE RESIDENZ DER VILA SUL – GOETHE-INSTITUT SALVADOR-BAHIA

Digitale Residenz der Vila Sul
Digitale Residenz der Vila Sul | © Vila Sul

Die Vila Sul ist die Künstler*innenresidenz des Goethe-Instituts in Salvador de Bahia, Brasilien, und bildet geographisch – gelegen am „Black Atlantic“ –, historisch – erste Hauptstadt Brasiliens – und kulturell – afrobrasilianisch – einen Knotenpunkt des Süd-Süd-Dialogs. Das Programm richtet sich an bereits anerkannte Intellektuelle oder forschende Personen. Das übergeordnete Thema ist der „Süden“.

Die aktuellen Resident*innen der Vila Sul – Thó Simões (Malanje), Koffi Mensah Akagbor, (Ouagadougou), Émilie B. Guérette (Montreal) und Renata Martins (Bonn) – konnten aufgrund der COVID-19-Pandemie nicht nach Salvador reisen und absolvieren ihre Residenzen digital, auch für das Haus eine neue Erfahrung. Auf dem Latitude-Festival präsentieren die Resident*innen erste Ergebnisse und gewähren Einblicke in ihre Arbeit.

TransAções: Mapping of Trans Artists in Brazil  |  Ausstellung

TransAções: Mapping of Trans Artists in Brazil © Agência Skooby Künstler*innen: Amora Julia Cunha Bueno, Benjamin Modrý Sant'Anna Pimentel, Érica Magalhães, Felipa Queiroz, Guilhermina Augusti da Silva Santos, Léo de Melo Monteiro, Levi Mota Muniz, A Banida, Lino Alves Arruda, Marcela Meirelles, Paulo Bevilacqua​, PorcaFlor, Victório Martins Fróes Abraham, Vitória Martins Amaral dos Santos, Yago Goya (alle aus Brasilien)

Konzept: Renata Martins (Kuratorin, Journalistin und Kunstkritikerin, Bonn), Kuratorium: Renata Martins, National Association of Transvestites and Transsexuals (ANTRA), Casa Aurora – Cultural and Reception Center LGBTQI+ und MONART (National Movement of Trans Artists)

Die Ausstellung eröffnet einen einzigartigen virtuellen Raum, um die Arbeit von Trans-Künstler*innen im Bereich der bildenden Kunst zu visualisieren und einen Treffpunkt zu schaffen.
 
Hier geht es zur Ausstellung: https://exposicaotransacoes.pageflow.io/transacoes

Best Regards  |  Ausstellung

Best Regards © Koffi Mensah Kurator: Tiago Sant’Ana (Künstler, Salvador)

Künstler*innen: Koffi Mensah (Burkina Faso), Tho Simões (Angola), Renata Martins (Deutschland), Emilie  B. Guiguèrre (Kanada), Eduardo Montelli (Brasilien), Leila Danziger (Brasilien)

Die Ausstellung schafft Berührungspunkte zwischen Distanz, Kommunikation, Lauten und Beziehungen, mit dem Ziel, die Fähigkeit des zwischenmenschlichen Austauschs als eine Strategie sichtbaren Schaffens zu verstehen. So werden Briefe, Videos und andere künstlerische Objekte einander gegenübergestellt, in einer Zeit, in der Beziehungen durch die vorgeschriebene Distanz einen widersprüchlichen Moment durchleben.

Hier geht es zur Ausstellung: http://exposicaotransacoes.pageflow.io/bestregards​

Metal contra as nuvens (Metall gegen Wolken)  | Ausstellung

Metal contra as nuvens © Ronaldo Sales Kurator: Tiago Sant’Ana (Künstler, Salvador)

Künstler*innen: Koffi Mensah Akagbor (Ouagadougou), Rebeca Carapiá (Brasilien)

Die Künstler*innen Koffi Mensah Akagbor aus Burkina Faso und Rebeca Carapiá aus Brasilien begegnen sich: Mit unterschiedlichen Visionen, aber aus Orten mit Geschichten, die eng mit kolonialen Wunden verbunden sind, bauen die Künstler*innen Werke, die auf Materialität setzen, um ihre poetischen Visionen aufzubauen.
 
Hier geht es zur Ausstellung: https://exposicaotransacoes.pageflow.io/metal-contra-nuvens

Açúcar sobre capela (Zucker auf Kapelle) | Video | 2018

Açúcar sobre capela  © Tiago Santana Künstler: Tiago Sant’Ana (Salvador)

Die Ruinen einer ländlichen Kapelle, die zur alten Paramirim-Mühle gehört, sind mit 100 Kilo Zucker bedeckt. In der Aktion verwendet der Künstler Zucker, um die Mühle – heute vergessen und von der Zeit gezeichnet – als einen Raum hervorzuheben, der die Prozesse sklavenähnlicher rassistischer Gewalt in Brasilien katalysierte.

Hier geht es zum Video: https://vimeo.com/423654885

Unberührbar | Installation und Performance | 2020

Unberührbar © Intocavel Künstler: Thó Simões

Wie wird es sein? Werden wir in der Lage sein... Und die Gefühle ... Lieben ... Die Sehnsüchte ... Was sollen wir mit ihnen machen ... Wie erreichen wir sie? Werden wir noch übrig sein ... Die Menschen!?

Hier geht es zu den Videos: https://youtu.be/MzYvh2c5CKA
                                             https://youtu.be/w2WgMA8Nh9U
                                             https://youtu.be/ijgFBbWr0B0
      
Den Live-Talk mit Thó Simões im Rahmen des Latitude Festivals finden Sie hier: https://www.goethe.de/prj/lat/de/dtl/pro.cfm?event_id=21875281

Rio de Janeiro Continua Lindo? | Kurzfilm  | 2018

Rio de Janeiro Continua Lindo? © Émilie B. Guérette Künstlerin: Émilie B. Guérette

Das Hafengebiet von Rio de Janeiro, das in den letzten Jahren radikaler städtischer Veränderungen zugunsten des Tourismus und internationaler Investoren ausgesetzt war, ist ebenfalls ein Ort des Widerstands aus der Bevölkerung. Der kurze Dokumentarfilm Rio de Janeiro Continua Lindo? (Ist Rio de Janeiro immer noch schön?) präsentiert verschiedene beliebte Wohnprojekte, mit denen die Bevölkerung der Region sich trotz der Widrigkeiten bemüht, ihr Recht auf Stadt zu erhalten. Das Video ist das Ergebnis eines gemeinsamen Entstehungsprozesses zwischen Vertreter*innen von vier sozialen Bewegungen, Bewohner*innen von besetzten Häusern und beliebten Wohnprojekten im Hafengebiet sowie der kanadischen Filmemacherin Émilie B. Guérette. Das Video wurde im Rahmen der internationalen ethnografischen Forschung Helping the Poor Stay Put der Syracuse University (USA), des King's College London (England), der Universidade Federal Fluminense (Brasilien) und der Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (Brasilien) produziert, welche mehrere Modelle des populären Wohnens in der Zentralregion von Rio de Janeiro vergleicht.

Calq_noir © Calq Hier geht es zum Kurzfilm: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CrddgMYjm5c

Den Live-Talk mit Émilie B. Guérette im Rahmen des Latitude Festivals finden Sie hier: https://www.goethe.de/prj/lat/de/dtl/pro.cfm?event_id=21875260

Virtueller Writers' Room Brasilien | Virtuelle szenische Lesung von „Ar-f-ar“ | 2020

Virtueller Writers' Room © Leonel Henckes Dramatiker*innen: Diego Pinheiro, Aldri Anunciação, Mônica Santana, Maria Shu und Jhonny Salaberg (alle aus Brasilien)
Ensemble: Márcia Lima, Lais Machado, Filipe Ramos, Marina Esteves und Caboclo de Cobre (alle aus Brasilien)

Die Dramatiker*innen Aldri Anunciação, Diego Araúja, Jhonny Salaberg, Maria Shu und Mônica Santana präsentieren in Form einer Bühnenlesung das Ergebnis ihrer gemeinsamen Arbeit an einem unveröffentlichten Theatertext, der live und öffentlich in einem digitalen Archiv während eines Monats unter den gegenwärtigen Bedingungen der sozialen Isolation entstanden ist. Das Werk mit dem Titel Ar-f-ar entstand im Rahmen des Sala de Dramaturgia Virtual Brasil, einem Projekt des Goethe-Instituts Salvador-Bahia in Partnerschaft mit der Plattform Melanina Digital. Der Virtuelle Dramaturgie-Raum Brasilien begann am 8. April mit einer Videokonferenz, in der die fünf Autor*innen Themen, Argumente und Leitsprüche für den Text diskutierten. Danach arbeitete die Gruppe online in einer digitalen Datei, die unter http://bit.ly/saladedramaturgia abrufbar ist und es jedem Interessierten ermöglicht, das Schreiben des Stückes zu verfolgen, während es stattfindet.

Hier geht es zum Film: https://youtu.be/j3hyf615U7Y
(Für den Film stehen englische Untertitel zur Verfügung. Bitte aktivieren Sie dafür die Untertitelung bei YouTube)