Anaya Patrice Frazier, Danielle Nolen and Aliyah Young

ALWH

Artists

  • Postcolonial world order

  • Chicago (United States of America)

A Long Walk Home (ALWH) is a Chicago-based national non-profit that uses art to educate, inspire, and mobilize young people to end violence against girls and women.
 
During their shared fellowship, Anaya Patrice Frazier, Danielle Nolen, and Aliyah Young of ALWH continued working toward their goal of developing a permanent memorial project for Black women and girls in Douglas Park, Chicago, where Rekia Boyd, an unarmed 22-year-old African American woman was fatally shot by police officer Dante Servin in 2012, the first public art project of its kind in Chicagoland.
 
Anaya Patrice Frazier is a junior at Gwendolyn Brooks Pre School in Chicago, IL. Anaya writes and performs her own poetry, and is a community organizer who has plans to create her own organization for youth of color.
 
Danielle Nolen is a senior at North Lawndale College Preparatory Charter High School in Chicago, IL. Danielle is a photographer, and is committed to making black women and girls stories heard through her art.
 
Aliyah Young is an early high school graduate from Oak Park River Forest and is currently working toward a B.A. in Anthropology and Africana Studies at DePaul University in Chicago, IL. Aliyah is a spiritual leader, and has led a MeToo youth convening with her peers to discuss and strategize ways to center Black girls in the MeToo Movement in the city of Chicago.

Contributions by ALWH

Anaya Patrice Frazier, Danielle Nolen und Aliyah Young

ALWH

Künstlerinnen

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung

  • Chicago (USA)

A Long Walk Home (ALWH) ist eine in Chicago ansässige, nationale, gemeinnützige Organisation, die mithilfe von Kunst junge Menschen bilden, inspirieren und mobilisieren will, um die Gewalt gegen Mädchen und Frauen zu stoppen.

Während des gemeinsamen Stipendiums arbeiteten Anaya Patrice Frazier, Danielle Nolen und Aliyah Young von ALWH weiterhin an ihrem Ziel, das Rekia Boyd Memorial Project zu verwirklichen. Dabei handelt es sich um eine dauerhafte Gedenkstätte für schwarze Frauen und Mädchen, es wäre das erste öffentliche Kunstprojekt dieser Art in Chicago. Die Gedenkstätte soll im Douglas Park in Chicago errichtet werden, wo 2012 eine unbewaffnete 22-jährige Afroamerikanerin von dem Polizisten Dante Servin erschossen wurde.
 
Anaya Patrice Frazier ist Schülerin der Gwendolyn Brooks Pre School in Chicago, Illinois. Sie verfasst Lyrik und veranstaltet Lesungen. Als Community Organizer*in will sie eine eigene Organisation für Jugendliche of Color gründen.
 
Danielle Nolen ist Schülerin der North Lawndale College Preparatory Charter High School in Chicago, Illinois. Nolen ist Fotografin und engagiert sich dafür, den Geschichten von schwarzen Frauen und Mädchen durch ihre Kunst Gehör zu verschaffen.
 
Aliyah Young machte ihr Abitur an der Oak Park River Forest und studiert derzeit im Bachelorstudiengang Anthropologie und Afrikanistik an der DePaul University in Chicago, Illinois. Young ist eine mitreißende Führungspersönlichkeit und leitete eine MeToo-Jugendgruppe. In dieser schlossen sich Gleichaltrige zusammen, um Wege zu diskutieren und Strategien zu entwickeln, die Schwarze Mädchen in den Fokus der MeToo-Bewegung von Chicago  rücken.

Beiträge von ALWH