Sergio Beltrán-García

Sergio Beltrán-García

Architect

  • Colonial legacy, Culture of memory, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Mexico City (Mexico)

Sergio Beltrán-García is an architect, activist, and researcher from Mexico City, Mexico. Beltrán-Garcia engages with the aesthetic and political practices of truth elucidation, judicialization, and non-repetition of human rights violations by using memory as an entry point.
 
His work focuses on the design and construction of memorial processes, emphasizing memory’s power to mitigate historic violences. His project, The Dispersed Memorial, responds to artificially heightened political and economic costs of memorial-building in Mexico for victims of human rights violations: a low-cost, modular and self-constructing memorial prototype which, assisted by mixed reality technologies, will bridge the gaps between attended and forgotten victims.
 
Beltrán-García also practices as a forensic architect and assists human rights lawyers. In 2019, the United Kingdom granted him the prestigious Chevening Award to pursue a postgraduate degree in Research Architecture at Goldsmiths University of London to deepen his knowledge on counter-forensic investigation. He is a member of the Memory Studies Association, and has also received fellowships at the Aspen Institute and at Bloomberg Philanthropies.
 

Contributions by Sergio Beltrán-García

Sergio Beltrán-García

Sergio Beltrán-García

Architekt

  • Koloniales Erbe, Kultur der Erinnerung, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Mexiko-Stadt (Mexiko)

Sergio Beltrán-García ist Architekt, Aktivist und Wissenschaftler in Mexiko-Stadt und beschäftigt sich mit ästhetischen und politischen Praktiken zur Aufdeckung von Menschenrechtsverletzungen und ihrer rechtlichen Verfolgung. Erinnerung bildet hierbei den Ausgangspunkt seiner Arbeit.
 
Sein Ansatz basiert auf der Konzeption und Konstruktion von Erinnerungsprozessen, wobei die Kraft der Erinnerung zur Linderung von in der Vergangenheit begangener Gewalt betont wird. Sein Projekt, The Dispersed Memorial, ist eine Reaktion auf die seitens der Politik und der Wirtschaft künstlich in die Höhe getriebenen Kosten für die Errichtung von Denkmälern in Mexiko, die an Opfer von Menschenrechtsverletzungen erinnern: ein kostengünstiges, modulares und multimediales Denkmal, das selbst zusammengebaut werden kann und dabei helfen soll, die Kluft zu verringern, die zwischen in der offiziellen Erinnerungskultur repräsentierten und von dieser ausgeschlossenen Opfergruppen besteht.

Darüber hinaus befasst sich Beltrán-García mit forensischer Architektur und unterstützt Menschenrechtsanwält*innen. 2019 erhielt er das renommierte Chevening-Stipendium für ein Postgraduiertenstudium am Centre for Research Architecture des Goldsmiths Colleges der Universität London, um dort sein Wissen auf dem Gebiet der Gegenforensik auszubauen. Er ist Mitglied der Memory Studies Association und war Stipendiat des Aspen Institute und von Bloomberg Philanthropies.

Beiträge von Sergio Beltrán-García