Arielle Julia Brown

Arielle Julia Brown

Dramaturg

  • Colonial legacy, Decolonisation, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Philadelphia (United States of America)

Arielle Julia Brown is a creative producer, cultural strategist, social practice artist, and dramaturg.  Emerging from her work and research around U.S. slavery, racial terror and justice, Brown is committed to supporting and creating Black performance work that commands imaginative and material space for social transformation.

She is the founder of The Love Balm Project (2010-2014), a workshop series and performance based on the testimonies of women of color who have lost children to systemic violence. The Love Balm Project was developed and produced at cultural institutions throughout the San Francisco Bay Area and Atlanta.  More recently, Brown developed The DoubleBack, a site-specific performance about three enslaved Black women in Providence, RI while in residence at the Center for Reconciliation. She is also the founder and creative producer of Black Spatial Relics, a new performance residency about slavery, justice and freedom.

Brown currently serves as a Knowledge and Strategy Associate at The Lewis Prize for Music where she informs and manages the foundation's research and development initiatives. She received her Bachelors of Arts from Pomona College and was the 2015-2017 graduate fellow with the Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice at Brown University where she received an M.A. in Public Humanities.

Contributions by Arielle Julia Brown

Arielle Julia Brown

Arielle Julia Brown

Dramaturgin

  • Koloniales Erbe, Dekolonisierung, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Philadelphia (USA)

Arielle Julia Brown ist Creative Producer, Kulturstrategin und Dramaturgin. Sie beschäftigt sich mit sozial engagierter Kunst. Basierend auf ihren Werken und Recherchen über Sklaverei, rassistischen Terror und Gerechtigkeit in den USA unterstützt und erarbeitet Brown schwarze Performance-Kunst, die einen imaginativen, materiellen Raum für den sozialen Wandel herstellt.

Sie initiierte das Love Balm Project (2010–2014), eine Workshop- und Performancereihe, die auf Zeugenberichten von Women of Color aufbaut, die Kinder durch strukturelle Gewalt verloren haben. Das Love Balm Project wurde in Kultureinrichtungen der San Francisco Bay Area und in Atlanta entwickelt und inszeniert. In jüngerer Zeit konzipierte Brown als Residenzkünstlerin des Center for Reconciliation die ortsspezifische Performance The DoubleBack über drei versklavte schwarze Frauen in Providence, Rhode Island. Zudem ist sie Gründerin und Creative Producer von Black Spatial Relics, einer neuen Performance-Residenz über Sklaverei, Gerechtigkeit und Freiheit.

Derzeit ist Brown Knowledge and Strategy Associate der Stiftung Lewis Prize for Music, wo sie die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsinitiativen erweitert und anleitet. Sie erwarb einen Bachelor am Pomona College und war 2015 bis 2017 Stipendiatin am Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice der Brown University, wo sie mit einem Master in Public Humanities abschloss.

Beiträge von Arielle Julia Brown