Thalia Fernández Bustamante

Thalia Fernández Bustamante

Artist

  • Postcolonial world order, Culture of memory, Postcolonial art production

  • San Francisco Xochicuautla (Mexico)

Thalia Fernández Bustamante is an artist, activist and human rights defender from the indigenous Otomí community of San Francisco Xochicuatla in Lerma, Mexico. Her work is committed to creating public awareness for her community’s resistance towards the state government’s plan to build a highway through the forest.

As the Communications Coordinator of the Otomi Ñatho Xochicuatla Supreme Council A.C., she leads the documentation of the whole conflict through photography, video and other forms of art. Through these artistic processes, Thalia shows the participation of women and children in defense of their territory, highlighting the experiences through emotions and the ancestral knowledge of the community. Moreover, she is helping her community to build a Castle of Memory (Castillo de la Memoria), a space to undertake new forms of resistance and to help other communities who require support to document their own efforts.
 
Fernández Bustamante received a degree in Educational Science at the Colegio Mexiquense Universitario located in Toluca. She attended the J'Tatik Samuel Ruiz National School of Peace in Mexico City, which is affiliated to SERAPAZ, an independent Mexican organization, dedicated to peace consulting and positive conflict transformation. She also received a diploma in Cultural Processes Management for the Construction of Peace and Memory, through the Spanish Cultural Center and the Claustro de Sor Juana University in Mexico City. Thalia also trained in ethnographic photography at the National School of Anthropology and History, as well as a theoretical and practical courses on documentary script and audiovisual editing at the Autonomous University of the State of Mexico.

Related link:

Article on projects by Thalia Fernández Bustamante, an indigenous Mexican artist, on the issue of land and territorial defence(Goethe-Institut USA, goethe.de)

Contributions by Thalia Fernández Bustamante

Thalia Fernández Bustamante

Thalia Fernández Bustamante

Künstlerin

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Kultur der Erinnerung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion

  • San Francisco Xochicuautla (Mexiko)

Thalia Fernández Bustamante ist Künstlerin und Aktivistin und setzt sich vor allem für Menschenrechte ein. Sie gehört zur indigenen Gemeinschaft der Otomí in San Francisco Xochicuatla im mexikanischen Verwaltungsbezirk Lerma und wurde in der Stadt Toluca geboren.

Mit ihrer Arbeit möchte sie öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit erzeugen für den Widerstand ihrer Gemeinschaft gegen den staatlich gewollten Bau einer Autobahn und damit einhergehender Zerstörung von Waldgebieten. Als Koordinatorin der Kommunikation des Consejo Supremo (Oberster Rat) des Territoriums Otomí-Ñatho in Xochicuatla ist sie verantwortlich für die Dokumentation des gesamten Konflikts. Mithilfe von Fotografie, Video und Kunst zeigt sie die Beteiligung der Frauen und Kinder an der Verteidigung ihres Landes und unterlegt diese Erfahrungen mit den Gefühlen und dem überlieferten Wissen der Gemeinschaft der Otomí. Darüber hinaus unterstützt sie ihre Gemeinschaft darin, ein Castillo de la Memoria zu errichten, ein Ort für neue Formen des Widerstands sowie für die Unterstützung anderer Gemeinschaften, die ihre eigenen Bemühungen dokumentieren wollen.
 
Fernández Bustamante hat einen Abschluss in Erziehungswissenschaften des Colegio Mexiquense Universitario. Zudem besuchte sie die Escuela de Paz Nacional J'Tatik Samuel Ruiz in Mexiko-Stadt, die der SERAPAZ angegliedert ist, einer unabhängigen mexikanischen Organisation, die sich der Friedensberatung und positiven Konfliktbearbeitung widmet. Sie hat außerdem ein Diplom in Management kultureller Prozesse zur Friedensförderung und Erinnerung des spanischen Kulturzentrums der Universidad Claustro de Sor Juana in Mexiko-Stadt. Außerdem befasste sie sich an der Escuela Nacional de Antropología e Historia mit ethnografischer Fotografie und belegte theoretische und praktische Kurse über das Drehbuchschreiben von Dokumentarfilmen und audiovisuelle Bearbeitung an der Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

Weiterführender Link:

Artikel über Projekte von Thalia Fernández Bustamante, indigene mexikanische Künstlerin, zum Thema Land- und Territorialverteidigung (Goethe-Institut USA, goethe.de)

Beiträge von Thalia Fernández Bustamante