Carolina Orsini

Carolina Orsini

Archaeologist

  • Provenance research, The role of museums, Colonial legacy

  • Mailand (Italy)

Carolina Orsini is an archaeologist, specialized in archaeology at the Scuola Normale Superiore of Pisa and received her doctor at the University of Bologna with a thesis on archaeology of the Sierra de Ancash (Peru).

Since 2003 she is senior conservator of the archaeological and ethnographic collections of the City of Milan, on display at the Museum of Cultures, in which he has curated the permanent exhibition and is responsible for the new presentation of the collection and the catalogue.

In addition to the activity of care and enhancement of the collections, she has devised and promoted several public programs for the accessibility of the museum's heritage, especially from an intercultural point of view.

Since 1998 she has been conducting field research in Peru and Argentina with the support of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, collaborating with numerous local research institutes.

He works with the Armed Forces, as well as with several Italian courts to combat and prevent the illicit trafficking of American archaeological goods in Italy.

Since 2009 she has been on the board of directors of the Passaré Foundation for the Promotion of the Primary Arts. Since 2019 she is on the international advisory board of the journal Scientific Museumology and is member of the board of the International Committee of Pre-Columbian Textiles.

Contributions by Carolina Orsini

Carolina Orsini

Carolina Orsini

Archäologin

  • Provenienzforschung, Rolle der Museen, Koloniales Erbe

  • Mailand (Italien)

Carolina Orsini ist eine italienische Archäologin. Sie studierte an der Scuola Normale Superiore von Pisa und promovierte an der Universität Bologna mit einer Arbeit über die Archäologie der Sierra de Ancash (Peru).

Seit 2003 ist sie leitende Konservatorin der archäologischen und ethnografischen Sammlungen der Stadt Mailand, die im Museum der Kulturen ausgestellt werden. Dort hat sie die Dauerausstellung (2015) kuratiert und ist für die neue Präsentation der Sammlung und des Katalogs verantwortlich.

Neben der Pflege und Aufwertung der Sammlungen hat sie mehrere öffentliche Programme für die Zugänglichkeit des Museumserbes, insbesondere unter interkulturellem Gesichtspunkt, ausgearbeitet und gefördert.

Seit 1998 führt sie mit Unterstützung des italienischen Außenministeriums Feldforschung in Peru und Argentinien durch und kooperiert dabei mit zahlreichen lokalen Forschungsinstituten.

Sie arbeitet mit den Streitkräften sowie mit mehreren italienischen Gerichten zusammen, um den illegalen Handel mit amerikanischen archäologischen Gütern in Italien zu bekämpfen und zu verhindern.

Seit 2009 gehört sie dem Vorstand der Stiftung Passaré für die Förderung der Grundkünste an, seit 2019 dem internationalen Beirat der Zeitschrift Scientific Museumology und ist Mitglied des Vorstands des Internationalen Komitees für präkolumbianische Textilien.

Beiträge von Carolina Orsini