Ada Pinkston

Ada Pinkston

Artist

  • Culture of memory, Postcolonial art production

  • Baltimore (United States of America)

Ada Pinkston is an artist, educator, and cultural organizer living and working in Baltimore, MD, where she is lecturer in Art Education at Towson University. Her work explores the intersection of imagined histories and sociopolitical realities on our bodies using performance, digital media, and mixed-media sculptures and installations. Her project, Landmarked, explores new ways of activating the empty spaces left by the 48 Confederate monuments that have been removed. Her most recent collaborative project includes founding the LabBodies Performance Art Laboratory in Baltimore, Maryland.
 
Landmarked is a multi-site, multi-iterative, multi-media/genre-blurring artwork series that is based on participatory, library and ancestral research. Recent iterations of the project include More than a Number... (A requiem to the GU 272) and AfterLives After Slavery (A tribute to Marie Joseph).

The project considers how we reframe public space to be more equitable and inclusive of all histories. Landmarked includes workshops, the creation of site-specific installations, and public performances. The project centers civic engagement, the voices of people of color, and historical memories that are often overlooked by dominant cultural narratives found in public school textbooks.

Over the years, Pinkston's work has been featured at a variety of spaces including but not limited to The Smithsonian Arts and Industries Building, The Walters Art Museum, The Peale Museum, P.S.1, The New Museum, and Light City Baltimore. She has also performed on the streets and public gardens of Berlin, Orlando, Baltimore, and Porto, Portugal to name a few. In 2019, she was short listed on the Creative Capital On Our Radar List of noteworthy artist projects. She has given lectures at numerous venues including the National Gallery of Art, UCLA, and The French Embassy to name a few.

Related link:

Article on the project “LandMarked” by US artist Ada Pinkston, who aims to activate the empty pedestals of 48 dismantled Confederate monuments(Goethe-Institut USA, goethe.de)

Contact Ada Pinkston


Contributions by Ada Pinkston

Ada Pinkston

Ada Pinkston

Künstlerin

  • Kultur der Erinnerung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion

  • Baltimore (USA)

Ada Pinkston lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin, Dozentin und Kulturveranstalterin in Baltimore, MD, wo sie im Studiengang Kunstpädagogik an der Towson University lehrt. Mit Hilfe von Performancekunst, digitalen Medien, Mixed-Media-Skulpturen und Installationen untersucht sie die Schnittstelle fiktiver Geschichten und soziopolitischer Realitäten auf unseren Körpern. In ihrer Arbeit Landmarked ergründet sie neue Wege zur Aktivierung der leeren Sockel von 48 abmontierten Konföderierten-Denkmälern. Ihr jüngstes Gemeinschaftsprojekt ist die Gründung des LabBodies Performance Art Laboratory in Baltimore.

Landmarked ist eine multifunktionale Kunstreihe, die durch Einsatz von Multi-Media die Grenzen ihres Genres verwischt und auf Recherchen in verschiedenen Bibliotheken sowie Ahnenforschung basiert. Die neueste Iteration des Projektes beinhaltet More than a Number… (A requiem to the GU 272) und AfterLives After Slavery (A tribute to Marie Joseph).
 
Dabei geht es um neue Möglichkeiten, öffentlichen Raum so zu gestalten, dass sie gerechter und inklusiver für verschiedene Geschichten werden. Landmarked umfasst Workshops, ortsspezifische Installationen und öffentliche Performances und stellt ziviles Engagement, die Stimmen von People of Color und geschichtliche Erinnerungen, die in den dominierenden kulturellen Narrativen der Schulbücher keinen Platz haben, in den Vordergrund.
 
Im Lauf der Jahre wurden ihre Werke an verschiedenen Orten ausgestellt, u.a. im Arts and Industries Building des Smithsonian Institute, im Walters Art Museum, im Peale Museum, im MoMA PS1, im New Museum und während des Light City Festivals in Baltimore. Zudem trat sie auf Straßen und in öffentlichen Parks auf, u.a. in Berlin (Deutschland), Orlando (USA), Baltimore (USA) und Porto (Portugal). 2019 stand sie auf der Shortlist des Creative Capital Award für außergewöhnliche Kunstprojekte. Sie hielt zahlreiche Vorlesungen, u.a. an der National Gallery of Art, der University of California, Los Angeles, und der Französischen Botschaft.

Weiterführender Link:

Artikel über das Projekt „Landmarked“ der US-Künstlerin Ada Pinkston, das die leeren Sockel von 48 abmontierten Konföderierten-Denkmälern aktivieren will (Goethe-Institut USA, goethe.de)

Ada Pinkston kontaktieren


Beiträge von Ada Pinkston