Josep Oriol Pascual Sanpons

Josep Oriol Pascual Sanpons

Historian

  • Provenance research, The role of museums, Colonial legacy

  • Barcelona (Spain)

Josep Oriol Pascual Sanpons graduated in Geography and History from the UB, in Sociology from the UA, and holds postgraduate qualifications in Cultural Management and International Cultural Cooperation.

As a municipal official attached to the Institute of Culture of Barcelona (ICUB), between 2009 and 2016, he was responsible for the management of the heritage centres of the Museum of History of Barcelona (MUHBA). Now he is the head of the department of programmes of the Ethnological Museum of Barcelona - of which the Museum of Cultures of the World is a part - leading the activities, exhibitions and communication of this institution.

For a long time he has collaborated with Qadar, art and travel, in various projects to disseminate artistic productions from Mediterranean countries and to research the heritage they have in common, often travelling to the countries of the Maghreb and sub-Saharan Africa. Hence the interest in deciphering the meanings of that which unites them and his fascination with Mediterranean culture.
 

Contributions by Josep Oriol Pascual Sanpons

Josep Oriol Pascual Sanpons

Josep Oriol Pascual Sanpons

Historiker

  • Provenienzforschung, Rolle der Museen, Koloniales Erbe

  • Barcelona (Spanien)

Josep Oriol Pascual Sanpons hat einen Hochschulabschluss in Geografie und Geschichte an der UB, in Soziologie an der UA und verfügt über Postgraduiertenabschlüsse in Kulturmanagement und internationaler kultureller Zusammenarbeit.

Als städtischer Beamter, der dem Kulturinstitut von Barcelona (ICUB) angegliedert ist, war er zwischen 2009 und 2016 war er für die Verwaltung der Kulturerbezentren des Historischen Museums von Barcelona (MUHBA) verantwortlich. Jetzt ist er Leiter der Programmabteilung des Ethnologischen Museums von Barcelona – zu dem das Museum der Kulturen der Welt gehört  und leitet die Aktivitäten, Ausstellungen und Kommunikation dieser Institution.

Seit langer Zeit arbeitet er mit Qadar, Kunst und Reisen, an verschiedenen Projekten zur Verbreitung künstlerischer Produktionen aus den Mittelmeerländern und zur Erforschung des gemeinsamen Erbes zusammen, wobei er häufig in die Länder des Maghreb und des subsaharischen Afrikas reiste. Daher das Interesse an der Dechiffrierung der Bedeutungen dessen, was sie verbindet, und seine Faszination für die mediterrane Kultur.
 
 

Beiträge von Josep Oriol Pascual Sanpons