Quentin VerCetty Lindsay

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay

Artist

  • Colonial legacy, Culture of memory, Postcolonial art production, Decolonisation, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Toronto (Canada)

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay is an award-winning, multidisciplinary visual griot (storyteller), artpreneur, art educator, activist, and an ever-growing interstellar tree based in Montreal, Canada. He is also co-founder and director of the Black Speculative Arts Movement, whose foundational work with second-wave Afrofuturism provides new, inclusive, and intersectional perspectives to reimagine public spaces.

His project, Missing Black Technofossil Here, uses augmented reality, digital 3D art, and printing to address the absence of monuments to Black bodies in Toronto and across the Canadian landscape. The project will exhibit works of digital, imaginary monuments to local Black Canadian leaders, past and present, in futuristic community spaces. The project will facilitate workshops that engage community members to create awareness around erasure.
 
VerCetty Lindsay has numerous publications, art, and essays on Afrofuturism, art, feminism, gang and drug intervention, and social reforms in numerous publications. He also has his own book in the works about his life journey lessons from being a street hustler to where he is now, entitled Exported Pollen from Mercury: Tales and Parables from a Life Growth along with several artistic projects like creating a series of bronze cast rapid-prototype larger than life-scaled bust monument commissions.

Related link:

Article on projects by Quentin VerCetty Lindsay, a multidisciplinary artist from Canada with African-American origins, to make Black people visible through monuments(Goethe-Institut USA, goethe.de)

Contact Quentin VerCetty Lindsay


Contributions by Quentin VerCetty Lindsay

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay

Künstler

  • Koloniales Erbe, Kultur der Erinnerung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Dekolonisierung, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Toronto (Kanada)

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay ist ein preisgekrönter, multidisziplinärer Griot der bildenden Kunst, Artpreneur, Kunstpädagoge, Aktivist und stetig wachsender interstellarer Baum. Er ist Mitbegründer und Direktor des Black Speculative Arts Movement, dessen Arbeit die zweite Welle des Afrofuturismus mit neuen, inklusiven und intersektionalen Perspektiven auf öffentlichen Raum verbindet

Für sein Projekt Missing Black Technofossil Here verwendet er Augmented Reality, digitale 3D-Kunst und Druck und thematisiert den Mangel an Denkmälern für Schwarze Körper in Toronto und anderen Teilen Kanadas. In seinem Projekt werden imaginäre Denkmäler für lokale Schwarze Persönlichkeiten Kanadas der Vergangenheit und der Gegenwart in futuristischen Gemeinschaftsorten ausgestellt. Teil des Projekts sind Workshops, die sich an Mitglieder der Gemeinschaft wenden und Bewusstsein für blinde Flecke schaffen.
 
VerCetty Lindsay hat in zahlreichen Publikationen, Kunst und Essays über Afrofuturismus, Feminismus, Banden- und Drogenintervention sowie soziale Reformen veröffentlicht. Zudem arbeitet er an einem Buch über seinen Werdegang vom Leben auf der Straße bis zu dem, was er heute ist, mit dem Titel Exported Pollen from Mercury: Tales and Parables from a Life Growth sowie an mehreren Kunstprojekten, darunter eine Auftragsarbeit für eine Reihe überlebensgroßer Bronzebüsten.

Weiterführender Link:

Artikel über Projekte von Quentin VerCetty Lindsay, multidisziplinärer Künstler aus Kanada mit afroamerikanischer Herkunft, zur Sichtbarmachung Schwarzer Menschen durch Denkmäler (Goethe-Institut USA, goethe.de)

Quentin VerCetty Lindsay kontaktieren


Beiträge von Quentin VerCetty Lindsay