Alisha B. Wormsley

Alisha B. Wormsley

Artist

  • Postcolonial world order, Postcolonial art production, Decolonisation

  • Pittsburgh (United States of America)

Alisha B. Wormsley is an interdisciplinary artist and cultural producer based in Pittsburgh, PA. Her work focuses on collective memory and the synchronicity of time, specifically through the stories of women of color.

Wormsley’s project, There are Black People in the Future, is inspired by afro-futurist artists and writers who highlight the need for black people to claim their place. Through the inscription and utterance of the words, ‘There are Black People in the Future,’ the project – an afro-futurist interdisciplinary body of work; video, prints, collages, sculptures – addresses systematic oppression of black communities through space and time by reassuring the presence of black bodies. In 2017, Wormsley placed these words on a billboard in East Liberty, a neighborhood in Pittsburgh’s east end that has suffered gentrification. When the billboard was removed by the city, community members protested. Since then, the billboard has replicated in various locations across the world. Forms of the slogan have been used in Detroit, MI, New York City, London, and Charlotte, NC, it is scheduled for Oakland CA, Toronto Canada and Accra Ghana for 2020/21.
 
Wormsley’s work has received a number of awards and grants to support programs including: The People Are The Light (part of the Hillman Photography Initiative), afronaut(a) film and performance series, Homewood Artist Residency, the Children of NAN film series and archive, and There Are Black People in the Future.

These projects and works have exhibited at the Andy Warhol Museum, Octavia Butler conference at Spelman University, Carnegie Museum of Art, Artup in Johannesburg SA, Studio XX in Montreal, Project Row House, the Houston Art League, Rush Art Gallery in NYC, the Charles Wright Museum in Detroit, and the Mattress Factory in Pittsburgh.

Contact Alisha B. Wormsley


Contributions by Alisha B. Wormsley

Alisha B. Wormsley

Alisha B. Wormsley

Künstlerin

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Dekolonisierung

  • Pittsburgh (USA)

Alisha B. Wormsley ist interdisziplinäre Künstlerin und Kulturproduzentin. Ihre Arbeit kreist um das kollektive Gedächtnis und die Synchronität der Zeit, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Geschichten von Women of Color.

Wormsleys Projekt There are Black People in the Future wurde von afro-futuristischen Künstler*innen und Schriftsteller*innen inspiriert, die Schwarze Menschen dazu ermutigten, ihren Platz in der Gesellschaft einzufordern. Durch die Inschrift und den Ausdruck der Worte „There are Black People in the Future“ weist das Projekt – ein afrofuturistisches, interdisziplinäres Gesamtkunstwerk aus Videos, Drucken, Collagen, Skulpturen und Werbetafeln – auf systematische Unterdrückung Schwarzer Gemeinschaften in Zeit und Raum hin. 2017 platzierte Wormsley diese Worte auf einem Billboard in East Liberty, einer Nachbarschaft im Osten Pittsburghs, die gentrifiziert wurde. Als die Stadt das Billboard entfernte, gab es Proteste. Seitdem wurde das Billboard an verschiedenen Orten der Welt repliziert. Interpretationen des Slogans waren in Detroit (USA), New York (USA), London (GB) und Charlotte (USA) zu sehen und sollen 2020/21 in Oakland (USA), Toronto (Kanada) und Accra (Ghana) ausgestellt werden.
 
Wormsleys Werke wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet und gefördert. Dazu zählen das Projekt The People Are The Light (Teil der Hillman Photography Initiative), die Film- und Performancereihe afronaut(a) das Film- und Videoarchiv Children of NAN sowie das Projekt There Are Black People in the Future und ihr Stipendium bei der Homewood Artist Residency.

Ihre Projekte und Werke wurden im Andy Warhol Museum, auf der Octavia-Butler-Konferenz der Spelman University, im Carnegie Museum of Art, auf der ArtUp in Johannesburg (Südafrika), im Kunstzentrum Studio XX in Montreal, im Project Row House, in der Art League Houston, in der Rush Art Gallery in New York, im Charles Wright Museum in Detroit und in der Mattress Factory in Pittsburgh ausgestellt.

Alisha B. Wormsley kontaktieren


Beiträge von Alisha B. Wormsley