A denied identity “The history of cookery from the perspective of the colonial rulers”

Manioc - the basis of Brazilian cuisine: Workers of the COOPAC cooperative peeling manioc roots (Manihot esculenta) for the production of manioc flour, settlement of the Brazilian landless movement Movimento dos Trabalhadores Rurais sem Terra, MST, Assentamento 14 de Agosto, Campo Verde, Mato Grosso State
Manioc - the basis of Brazilian cuisine: Workers of the COOPAC cooperative peeling manioc roots (Manihot esculenta) for the production of manioc flour, settlement of the Brazilian landless movement Movimento dos Trabalhadores Rurais sem Terra, MST, Assentamento 14 de Agosto, Campo Verde, Mato Grosso State | Photo (detail): Florian Kopp © picture alliance / imageBROKER

The degree to which indigenous peoples have influenced eating habits in Brazil today is being completely repudiated, says sociologist Carlos Alberto Dória, one of the best-known connoisseurs of Brazilian cuisine.

By Ana Paula Orlandi

For Carlos Alberto Dória, the indigenous influence on the diet of the ethnic classes in the Brazilian population is still visible today – mainly in the form of corn and cassava flour. “Amongst the elite, whose diet has always been Francophile, there are a few people who believe that foods made from corn or cassava flour are for ‘poor people’,” explains the sociologist, who has written books such as A formação da culinária brasileira – Escritos sobre a cozinha inzoneira (The origins of Brazilian cookery – literature about this intriguing cuisine), and is also Director of the Centro de Cultura Culinária Câmara Cascudo. According to the specialist, it wasn’t just cookery from which the native population of Brazil was ‘eradicated’. Carlos Alberto Dória says: “It’s as observed by anthropologist Eduardo Viveiros de Castro: Brazil has turned indigenous people into poor people. We have pushed the native populations into poverty, in every sense of the word,” concludes the sociologist.

What role do the indigenous groups play in the origins of Brazilian cookery?

A key fundamental role. But this is played down in the history of Brazilian cookery, because this story is told from the perspective of the colonial rulers. Archaeology shows that the modern indigenous groups in Brazil originated around 2500 years ago near Santarém in Pará state. They set out from that point and took possession of the whole country. One branch, which consisted of the Tupinambás, traversed the coastal regions and arrived at the point where Rio de Janeiro is now by about 800 AD. The Tupinambás cultivated cassava. Another branch, the Guaraní, advanced along the Andean cordillera and reached what is today the city of São Paulo by the year 1000. The Guaraní planted maize (corn). Two completely different food cultures came into being, and Brazil developed on the basis of these two starchy flours.
  • A group of far women peeling corn cobs, sao Francisco Xavier, Sao Paulo, Brazil, 2007 Werner Rudhart © dpa/au
    A group of far women peeling corn cobs, sao Francisco Xavier, Sao Paulo, Brazil, 2007
  • Member of the Nadeb Maku people in the Amazon region of Brazil with cassava root. The indigenous peoples of the Arawakian language family, which is native to South America and the Caribbean, are called Maku, but reject the name because it translates as slave or savage. Christian Ender © (c) dpa-Report
    Member of the Nadeb Maku people in the Amazon region of Brazil with cassava root. The indigenous peoples of the Arawakian language family, which is native to South America and the Caribbean, are called Maku, but reject the name because it translates as slave or savage.
  • A Yanomami woman prepares cassava. The approximately 35,000 Yanomami form the largest indigenous ethnic group in the Amazon region and live in the border area between Venezuela and Brazil. Robin Hanbury-Tenison © picture alliance/robertharding
    A Yanomami woman prepares cassava. The approximately 35,000 Yanomami form the largest indigenous ethnic group in the Amazon region and live in the border area between Venezuela and Brazil.
  • The indigenous Tupinambá people of Brazil were brewing cassava beer in the Middle Ages. Woodcut after a drawing by Andre Thevet (1504-1592). From: F. Andre Thevet, Les singularitez de la France Antarti- que, autrement nommee Amerique (...), Paris (Maurice de la Porte), 1558. later coloration © picture alliance/akg-images
    The indigenous Tupinambá people of Brazil were brewing cassava beer in the Middle Ages. Woodcut after a drawing by Andre Thevet (1504-1592). From: F. Andre Thevet, Les singularitez de la France Antarti- que, autrement nommee Amerique (...), Paris (Maurice de la Porte), 1558. later coloration
  • Production of flour from the manioc root (Manihot esculenta), grinding of the peeled root Florian Kopp © picture alliance / imageBROKER
    Production of flour from the manioc root (Manihot esculenta), grinding of the peeled root
How does this indigenous influence manifest itself in the Brazilian cuisine of today?

Traditional cooking in the states of Minas Gerais and São Paulo, as well as the Central West region, is based on the maize from the Guaraní. Also we shouldn’t forget that corn flour was the basis on which the Portuguese conquered the Brazilian sertão territory. The indigenous people went ahead to cultivate the maize on the expeditions into the interior of the country, which served as food to members of the explorer groups. As late as the 19th century there was a culinary tradition amongst the ethnic classes based on corn, cassava, beans, pumpkin and dried meat. That was the basis of Brazilian cuisine almost everywhere, apart from the Amazon region: they used a lot of fish and cassava there. It’s worth emphasising that we are talking about ethnic dishes here, because – like other places in the world – the food culture of the Brazilian elite was influenced by the French cuisine from the early decades of the 19th century.

Is it correct that the influence of the indigenous tribes on Brazilian cookery is disappearing over the years?

Corn and cassava flour still play an important role in traditional ethnic Brazilian cookery. Once again, it’s important to emphasise: we’re talking about ethnic cuisine here. In the elite classes there are still a few who think that food made from corn or cassava flour are ‘poor people’s dishes’. But the native population of Brazil has not only been ‘eradicated’ in terms of cookery. The greatest act of violence was when the Marquês de Pombal banned Nheengatu (the general indigenous language of the Amazon region) from being taught in 1758, deeming it a ‘diabolical invention’ by the Jesuits. As the anthropologist Eduardo Viveiros de Castro says, Brazil made the indigenous people into poor people. We’re making the indigenous people poorer in every sense of the word.

In your book “A formação da culinária brasileira – Escritos sobre a cozinha inzoneira” (The origins of Brazilian cookery – literature about this intriguing cuisine) you write that in “old São Paulo they used to sell Tanajura [fried ants] on baking sheets in the streets, and these were valued just as much by the poorer classes as by the ‘best families’. Later on, this latter group would only eat them in secret [...].”

Well, São Paulo has a gruesome past! They killed the indigenous people in a matter-of-fact sort of way right up to the end of the 19th / beginning of the 20th century. The German zoologist Hermann von Ihering, who was the first director of the Museu Paulista from 1895 to 1916, wrote passages justifying the massacre of the Caingangue Indios. Recalling this relationship with the Indios is painful. The Caipira culture with its indigenous roots was finally suppressed, although they were part of the tradition of the elite classes in the São Paulo sertão plains. I hardly need mention that French cuisine was all the rage in the society salons of the day.

Some Brazilian chefs have been using ingredients from indigenous recipes in their own dishes for quite a while, such as ants. Might this be an indication that the reputation of indigenous cookery in Brazil can be salvaged, or is this just a gastro fad?

Today we’re experiencing a turning point in which the Brazilian gastro industry is trying to recreate connections with the indigenous ethnic groups. Around ten years ago for instance, culinary chefs and the press staked a fresh claim to the Amazon for themselves. But I think that as city dwellers in Brazil, we spend more time talking about tucupi [cassava juice] and tacacá [a soup made from that juice] than we do actually eating it. Gastronomy thrives on novelty, it’s a highly competition-driven environment, and chefs like to add certain weapons to their arsenal. At the moment the fashion is to use the ethnic repertoire as a resource, taking a few things from this world, for example taioba [leaves from the tannia plant] and ants, which have been around for centuries, and making themselves stand out from the others with the help of these ‘novelties’. These ingredients get elevated to gourmet status. But ultimately the urban elite don’t have the faintest idea how the ethnic classes of Brazil really eat.

This article first published on www.goethe.de/Brasilien.

Verleugnete Identität „Die Geschichte der Kochkunst aus der Perspektive der Kolonialherren“

Maniok – die Basis der brasilianischen Küche: Arbeiter*innen der Kooperative COOPAC schälen Maniok-Wurzeln (Manihot esculenta) für die Produktion von Maniok-Mehl, Siedlung der brasilianischen Landlosenbewegung Movimento dos Trabalhadores Rurais sem Terra, MST, Assentamento 14 de Agosto, Campo Verde, Bundesstaat Mato Grosso
Maniok – die Basis der brasilianischen Küche: Arbeiter*innen der Kooperative COOPAC schälen Maniok-Wurzeln (Manihot esculenta) für die Produktion von Maniok-Mehl, Siedlung der brasilianischen Landlosenbewegung Movimento dos Trabalhadores Rurais sem Terra, MST, Assentamento 14 de Agosto, Campo Verde, Bundesstaat Mato Grosso | Foto (Detail): Florian Kopp © picture alliance / imageBROKER

Wie stark indigene Völker die heutigen Essgewohnheiten Brasiliens geprägt haben, wird vollkommen negiert, beklagt der Soziologe Carlos Alberto Dória, einer der bedeutendsten Kenner der brasilianischen Kochkunst.

Von Ana Paula Orlandi

Für Carlos Alberto Dória ist der indigene Einfluss in der Ernährung der volkstümlichen Schichten der brasilianischen Bevölkerung noch heute sichtbar – hauptsächlich in Form von Mais- und Maniokmehl. „In der Elite, die immer frankophil gespeist hat, gibt es einige, die glauben, dass das Essen von Mais- oder Maniokmehl ein ,Armending' sei“, erklärt der Soziologe, der Autor von Büchern wie A formação da culinária brasileira – Escritos sobre a cozinha inzoneira (Die Entstehung der brasilianischen Kochkunst – Schriften über die spannende Küche) ist und Direktor des Centro de Cultura Culinária Câmara Cascudo. Dem Spezialisten zufolge wurden die Indigenen in Brasilien nicht nur aus der Kochkunst „getilgt“. Carlos Alberto Dória: „Es ist wie der Anthropologe Eduardo Viveiros de Castro gesagt hat: Brasil hat den Indigenen in einen Armen verwandelt. Wir haben die indigenen Bevölkerungen in jeglichem Sinn verarmt”, schlussfolgert der Soziologe.

Welche Rolle spielen die indigenen Gruppen bei der Entstehung der brasilianischen Küche?

Eine entscheidende, fundamentale Rolle. Doch diese wird in der Geschichte der brasilianischen Kochkunst klein gemacht, denn diese Geschichte wird aus der Perspektive der Kolonialherren erzählt. Die Archäologie zeigt, dass die modernen indigenen Gruppen in Brasilien vor ungefähr 2500 Jahren in der Nähe von Santarém im Bundesstaat Pará entstanden sind. Von dort zogen sie los und nahmen das ganze Land ein. Ein Zweig, der aus den Tupinambás bestand, durchquerte das Küstengebiet und gelangte um 800 an die Stelle, wo sich heute Rio de Janeiro befindet. Die Tupinambás bauten Maniok an. Ein anderer Zweig, der aus Guaraní bestand, zog an der Kordillere der Anden entlang und erreichte um das Jahr 1000 das heutige São Paulo. Die Guaraní bauten Mais an. Es entstanden zwei ganz unterschiedliche Küchen, und Brasilien entwickelte sich auf der Grundlage der zwei stärkehaltigen Mehle.
  • Eine Gruppe von Frauen, die Maiskolben schälen, Sao Francisco Xavier, Sao Paulo, Brasilien, 2007 Werner Rudhart © dpa/au
    Eine Gruppe von Frauen, die Maiskolben schälen, Sao Francisco Xavier, Sao Paulo, Brasilien, 2007
  • Angehöriger des Nadeb-Maku-Volks im Amazonasgebiet Brasiliens mit Maniokwurzel. Die indigenen Völker der arawakischen Sprachfamilie, die in Südamerika und der Karibik beheimat ist, werden Maku genannt, lehnen die Bezeichnung aber ab, da sie übersetzt Sklave oder Wilder bedeutet. Christian Ender © (c) dpa-Report
    Angehöriger des Nadeb-Maku-Volks im Amazonasgebiet Brasiliens mit Maniokwurzel. Die indigenen Völker der arawakischen Sprachfamilie, die in Südamerika und der Karibik beheimat ist, werden Maku genannt, lehnen die Bezeichnung aber ab, da sie übersetzt Sklave oder Wilder bedeutet.
  • Eine Yanomami-Frau bereitet Maniok vor. Die rund 35.000 Yanomami leben in Venezuela und Brasilien zwischen den Flüssen Orinoco und Amazonas. Robin Hanbury-Tenison © picture alliance/robertharding
    Eine Yanomami-Frau bereitet Maniok vor. Die rund 35.000 Yanomami bilden die größte indigene Volksgruppe im Amazonas-Gebiet und leben im Grenzgebiet zwischen Venezuela und Brasilien.
  • Das indigene Tupinambá-Volk Brasiliens braute sich im Mittelalter Maniokbier. Holzschnitt nach Zeichnung von Andre Thevet (1504-1592). Aus: F. Andre Thevet, Les singularitez de la France Antarti- que, autrement nommee Amerique (...), Paris (Maurice de la Porte), 1558. Spätere Kolorierung. © picture alliance/akg-images
    Das indigene Tupinambá-Volk Brasiliens braute sich im Mittelalter Maniokbier. Holzschnitt nach Zeichnung von Andre Thevet (1504-1592). Aus: F. Andre Thevet, Les singularitez de la France Antarti- que, autrement nommee Amerique (...), Paris (Maurice de la Porte), 1558. Spätere Kolorierung.
  • Produktion von Mehl aus der Maniok-Wurzel (Manihot esculenta), Mahlen der geschälten Wurzel Florian Kopp © picture alliance / imageBROKER
    Produktion von Mehl aus der Maniok-Wurzel (Manihot esculenta), Mahlen der geschälten Wurzel

Wie zeigt sich dieser indigene Einfluss in der heutigen brasilianischen Kochkunst?

Die traditionelle Küche in den Bundesstaaten Minas Gerais, São Paulo, in der Region Mittelwesten basiert auf dem Mais der Guaraní. Wir sollten auch nicht vergessen, dass Maismehl die Grundlage für die Eroberung des brasilianischen Sertão durch die Portugiesen war. Auf den Expeditionen ins Landesinnere gingen die Indigenen voraus, um Mais anzupflanzen, der den Mitgliedern der Erkundungstrupps als Nahrungsmittel diente. Bis ins 19. Jahrhundert gab es eine volkstümliche ländliche Küche, die auf Mais, Maniok, Bohnen, Kürbis und Dörrfleisch basierte. Das war fast überall die Grundlage der brasilianischen Kochkunst, bis auf die Amazonasregion: Dort wurde viel Fisch und Maniok verwendet. Man muss betonen, dass wir von der volkstümlichen Küche sprechen, denn die Kochkunst der brasilianischen Elite war wie auch an anderen Orten der Welt seit den ersten Jahrzehnten des 19. Jahrhunderts von der französischen Küche beeinflusst.

Stimmt es, dass der Einfluss der Indigenen aus der brasilianischen Küche im Lauf der Zeit verschwindet?

Mais- und Maniokmehl spielen immer noch eine bedeutende Rolle in der volkstümlichen brasilianischen Küche. Noch mal, es ist wichtig zu betonen: Wir sprechen hier von der volkstümlichen Küche. In der Elite gibt es immer noch einige, die glauben, dass das Essen von Mais- oder Maniokmehl ein „Armending“ sei. Die Indigenen wurden in Brasilien aber nicht nur aus der Kochkunst „gelöscht“. Der größte Akt von Gewalt war es, als der Marquês de Pombal 1758 das Unterrichten von Nheengatu [die allgemeine indigene Sprache in der Amazonasregion] als „teuflische Erfindung“ der Jesuiten verbot. Wie der Anthropologe Eduardo Viveiros de Castro sagt, hat Brasilien den Indigenen in einen Armen verwandelt. Wir verarmen die Indigenen in jeglichem Sinne.

In Ihrem Buch „A formação da culinária brasileira – Escritos sobre a cozinha inzoneira“ (Die Entstehung der brasilianischen Kochkunst – Schriften über die spielerische Küche) schreiben Sie, dass im „alten São Paulo Tanajura [gebratene Ameisen] ,auf den Straßen auf Backblechen verkauft’ wurde und genauso von den ärmeren Schichten wie von den ,besten Familien’ geschätzt wurde. Später aßen letztere dieses nur noch im Verborgenen’ [...]“.

Nun ja, die Vergangenheit von São Paulo ist grauenvoll! Hier wurde die indigene Bevölkerung mit größter Selbstverständlichkeit bis Ende des 19., Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts getötet. Der deutsche Zoologe Hermann von Ihering, der von 1895 bis 1916 erster Direktor des Museu Paulista war, verfasste Texte, in denen er das Massaker an den Caingangue-Indios rechtfertigte. Sich dieses Verhältnis zu den Indios in Erinnerung zu rufen, schmerzt. Die Caipira-Kultur, die indigene Wurzeln hatte, wurde schließlich unterdrückt, obwohl sie Teil der Gewohnheiten der Elite des Hinterlands von São Paulo war. Ich muss nicht erzählen, dass in den gesellschaftlichen Salons jener Zeit die französische Küche angesagt war.

Einige brasilianische Küchenchefs benutzen seit einiger Zeit Zutaten aus den indigenen Küchen wie Ameisen bei der Zubereitung ihrer Gerichte. Ist dies womöglich ein Anzeichen für die Ehrenrettung der indigenen Kochkunst in Brasilien oder handelt es sich nur um eine gastronomische Modeerscheinung?

Wir erleben heute einen Moment, in dem die brasilianische Gastronomie versucht, Verbindungen zu den indigenen Ethnien wieder herzustellen. Vor ungefähr zehn Jahren haben sich zum Beispiel Küchenchefs und die Presse den Amazonas wieder angeeignet. Aber ich glaube, dass wir aus der Stadtbevölkerung Brasiliens mehr über Tucupi [Manioksaft] und Tacacá [eine Suppe, die daraus hergestellt wird] sprechen, als dass wir es wirklich essen. Die Gastronomie lebt von Neuheiten, sie ist ein sehr wettbewerbsorientiertes Universum und die Küchenchefs rüsten ihre Schlachtrösser mit bestimmten Dingen aus. Gerade ist es Mode, im volkstümlichen Repertoire zu suchen, einige Dinge aus diesem Universum wie zum Beispiel Taioba [Blätter der Tannia-Pflanze] und Ameisen zu nehmen, die seit Jahrhunderten vorhanden sind, und sich mithilfe dieser „Neuheiten“ von anderen abzuheben. Es findet eine Gourmetisierung dieser Zutaten statt. Am Ende haben die Angehörigen der städtischen Elite aber nicht die geringste Vorstellung davon, was die volkstümlichen Klassen Brasiliens wirklich essen.

Dieser Artikel erschien zuerst auf www.goethe.de/Brasilien.