Series “Word-Breaks” Fremdenführer*in

Traces of the colonial past in the German capital: Sign of the allotment garden association Togo in Togostraße in the African quarter in Berlin-Wedding, taken in 2019
Traces of the colonial past in the German capital: Sign of the allotment garden association Togo in Togostraße in the African quarter in Berlin-Wedding, taken in 2019 | Photo (detail): Sascha Steinach © picture alliance/dpa-Zentralbild

Quite a number of words are still firmly established in German language use today – even though they came into existence at a time that barely has anything to do with our diverse present. In this series, Elisabeth Wellershaus tries to fathom them out and reinterpret them from a decolonial perspective. She starts off in March with the term Fremdenführer*in.

These are some of the earliest scenes in my memories of travelling. That wonderful bouncing with which the hovercraft transported us from Ischia to the Italian mainland. The almost infinite climb up Vesuvius and the fried egg that was made for us in the heat at the crater’s edge. More than anything the cheery Fremdenführer, or tour guide, who brought us back down after the egg trick. The emphatic advice he gave us at the bottom: “Please look after your valuables. It’s very dangerous here.”
 
The memories of how  “die Fremde – the foreign place” was explained to me on my first and only package tour, have stayed with me ever since. Memories of a time in which “Fremdheit – foreignness” still seemed to be a clear-cut thing. Over centuries Western travellers had worked their way unchallenged through the “exoticism” of other cultures, Eurocentric perspectives set the tone in science and travel literature. So our state-certified German Fremdenführer chatted openly about the “disconcerting situation” in Italy.
 
But actually we were the ones being socially conspicuous. The German tour group that invaded Naples in 1979 and, guided by a “Führer”, stood marvelling at “somewhere else”. Europeans from the Mediterranean countries had been making their home in Germany for the past 20 years or so, some of them having arrived via what was termed the “Naples gateway”. As so called “Gastarbeiter*innen – migrant workers” they were needed, but were only accepted with caution by society. The fact that these newcomers were the same people who played the extras in a touristic setting that various Germans spent their summers in seemed of negligible interest. Because in pre-globalised times being foreign was an issue even amongst Europeans.
 
Our propensity for things foreign has remained to this day, even though travellers have now explored almost every corner of the Earth. Internally, Europe is no longer defined by hard borders or cultural schisms – despite its damaged community. And as a result we have simply shifted the feelings of foreignness elsewhere. Projected it onto other people who are now being made into outsiders in countries like Germany because of their religion, origins, language, customs, skin colours or names.
 
Resentment towards headscarf-wearing teachers, African “economic refugees” or Arabic-speaking schoolyard thugs tend to be justified in media or pub conversations as “obvious differences”. Though historical backgrounds, the devaluation of entire cultures to preserve global power relations, are less frequently encouraged.
  • Postcard 'German Colonial Exhibition' Berlin. For the opening of the trade exhibition in Treptower Park on 3 May 1896. colour lithograph akg-images © picture alliance
    Postcard 'German Colonial Exhibition' Berlin. For the opening of the trade exhibition in Treptower Park on 3 May 1896. colour lithograph
  • European travellers in Egypt on camels led by fellahs in Gizeh in front of the Great Sphinx with the Pyramid of Cheops in the background. Photo (stereoscopic image), anonymous, undated, 1880s. Berlin, Collection Archive for Art and History (Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte). akg-images © picture-alliance
    European travellers in Egypt on camels led by fellahs in Gizeh in front of the Great Sphinx with the Pyramid of Cheops in the background. Photo (stereoscopic image), anonymous, undated, 1880s. Berlin, Collection Archive for Art and History (Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte).
  • Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (New Guinea) as a protectorate of the German Empire 1885-1919. The Head of the German Colonial Department Hans August Lorenz Klink accompanied by a local team on an expedition. Photo, anonymous, undated (before 1897), handwritten inscription: “Expedition Klink”. From an album with mainly ethnological photographs taken on various expeditions to the interior of Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Expeditions Hans August Lorenz Klink, Wilhelm Dammköhler and Ramu-Expedition of 1896), page 13. Berlin, Collection Archive for Art and History (Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte). akg-images © picture-alliance
    Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (New Guinea) as a protectorate of the German Empire 1885-1919. The Head of the German Colonial Department Hans August Lorenz Klink accompanied by a local team on an expedition. Photo, anonymous, undated (before 1897), handwritten inscription: “Expedition Klink”. From an album with mainly ethnological photographs taken on various expeditions to the interior of Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Expeditions Hans August Lorenz Klink, Wilhelm Dammköhler and Ramu-Expedition of 1896), page 13. Berlin, Collection Archive for Art and History (Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte).
  • Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (New Guinea) as a protectorate of the German Empire 1885-1919. The Head of the German Colonial Department, Hans August Lorenz Klink (left) on expedition with a local escort team and ox cart. Photo, anonymous, undated (before 1897), handwritten inscription: “Expedition Klink”. From an album with mainly ethnological photographs taken on various expeditions to the interior of Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Expeditions Hans August Lorenz Klink, Wilhelm Dammköhler and Ramu-Expedition of 1896), page 13. Berlin, Collection Archive for Art and History (Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte). akg-images © picture-alliance
    Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (New Guinea) as a protectorate of the German Empire 1885-1919. The Head of the German Colonial Department, Hans August Lorenz Klink (left) on expedition with a local escort team and ox cart. Photo, anonymous, undated (before 1897), handwritten inscription: “Expedition Klink”. From an album with mainly ethnological photographs taken on various expeditions to the interior of Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Expeditions Hans August Lorenz Klink, Wilhelm Dammköhler and Ramu-Expedition of 1896), page 13. Berlin, Collection Archive for Art and History (Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte).
  • The memorial plaque for the African human rights activist Martin Dibobe (1876-1922) from Cameroon at his last home in Berlin, inaugurated in 2016. Martin Dibobe worked his way up in Germany from conductor to train driver. Nevertheless, he did not feel respected, and with a petition he defended himself against racism. Thilo Rückeis TSP © picture-alliance
    The memorial plaque for the African human rights activist Martin Dibobe (1876-1922) from Cameroon at his last home in Berlin, inaugurated in 2016. Martin Dibobe worked his way up in Germany from conductor to train driver. Nevertheless, he did not feel respected, and with a petition he defended himself against racism.
  • 9th commemoration march in memory of the African victims of slave trade, slavery, colonialism and racist violence The Committee for an African Memorial in Berlin (KADIB) and participants of the 9th commemoration march demand the recognition of crimes against black people and people of African origin. Berlin, 28.02.2015 Michaela Ellguth © picture alliance/Geisler-Fotopress
    9th commemoration march in memory of the African victims of slave trade, slavery, colonialism and racist violence The Committee for an African Memorial in Berlin (KADIB) and participants of the 9th commemoration march demand the recognition of crimes against black people and people of African origin. Berlin, 28.02.2015
  • M'barek Bouhchichi's terracotta sculptures from the installation Terre 2 in the exhibition “Ultrasanity” (Savvy Contemporary), Berlin 2019 © Amine Oulmaki
    M'barek Bouhchichi's terracotta sculptures from the installation Terre 2 in the exhibition “Ultrasanity” (Savvy Contemporary), Berlin 2019
  • In 2018, boxer Zeina Nassar fought for the introduction of changes to the competition regulations from the German Boxing Federation so that she could compete in the ring with a headscarf. In 2018 the Muslim woman became German featherweight champion. Arne Immanuel Bänsch © dpa
    In 2018, boxer Zeina Nassar fought for the introduction of changes to the competition regulations from the German Boxing Federation so that she could compete in the ring with a headscarf. In 2018 the Muslim woman became German featherweight champion.
Kübra Gümüşay describes it in her book Sprache und Sein (Language and Being) – how concepts of foreignness have manifested themselves in the way we speak about each other. Many decolonisation projects problematise these constructs too; intellectuals like Achille Mbembe examine them. But at the same time, fear of infiltration by foreigners and worrying about “rebelling minorities” seem troubling to an increasing number of people. So maybe we depend on Fremdenführer*innen more than ever these days– on people like Mbembe and Gümüsay, who are making the origins of current marginalisation reflexes visible in a hyper-accessible world with a community that’s drifting apart.

The “foreign” in the German capital

In Berlin a quick city tour through colonial history is enough to discover a present  that challenges the happily diverse image of the city. It has been noisily publicised thanks to the renovation work on the castle adjacent to Alexanderplatz for some time now: the fact that Berlin is navigating through the grey areas of a difficult past, what with the reconstruction of Prussian grandeur – and the Humboldt Forum with its controversial ethnological collection housed within.
 
The reconstructed house of Berlin tobacco merchant Wilhelm Ermeler tells a more covert story of how Berlin was also involved in a colonial power structure. It was demolished in 1967 to make room for the GDR State Council Building, and was rebuilt on Märkisches Ufer in 1969. And there is still a frieze from the 19th century hanging above the entrance of the Ermelerhaus, which depicts the tobacco production chain. On one side there are enslaved black men in the Americas, picking tobacco and bringing it to the docks. On the other a ship crosses the Atlantic, heading towards two roof cupolas on the horizon – presumably the French and German cathedrals on Gendarmenmarkt. It’s a scene that reminds us that Brandenburg-Prussia was also involved in the plantation economy and profited from the transatlantic save trade. Even though the guests who stop here today are unlikely to be particularly aware of that. They just stay in the hotel that the Ermelerhaus became years ago.
 
But maybe some people will spot it after all. That part of our history that resounds out as a colonial echo of street names or building reliefs. The part that facilitates the idea of a present day in which many people still suffer under the systematic devaluation of the imperial era. The German Federal Cultural Foundation has been thinking along those lines and plans to start a large-scale project to trace Berlin’s colonial past in 2020.
 
But it’s likely to take more than a few decent city tours to uncover the roots of persistent exclusion and discrimination. Describing a guided tour with a word like “Führung” – which after 20th century fascism is still used in association with words like Zug-, Partei- or Spiel- – might be misleading anyhow. An analysis of colonial themes ‘conducted’ (German: geführt) too rigidly is not likely to encourage people to question prejudice and entrenched views critically. But a participative, collaborative approach might succeed in picking up our complex society at its current point.

The search for the connecting element

A few weeks ago I was standing with some other visitors in the foyer of Savvy Contemporary art gallery, in Berlin-Wedding. With us was the curator of the current exhibition, Kelly Krugman. She’s one of those cultural mediators who speak a trans-cultural language without forcing it upon you. Her “Führung”  (guided tour) of the exhibition, which dazzles in a space far beyond the western canon, reveals perspectives that might seem unusual to some visitors. Krugman pauses in front of the artwork Fabricated Anthropology, which Cameroonian artist Adjani Okpu-Egbe has painted on a door leaf. Quietly, almost between the lines, she attributes the painted blood that clings to his work to an exploitative Western modernity – a frequent theme at Savvy. And she explains how the “pathologisation of the other” – the focus of her group exhibition Ultrasanity – has made that possible in the first place.
 
Krugman tells of the problematic marginalisation between “sick” and “healthy” that was perfected in many colonies, and still affects the way we treat refugees and migrants across the world. Her example of French ethno-psychiatrist Antoine Porot is just one of many. During his work in Algeria last century he came to the conclusion that the inhabitants of the country were not just mentally unstable – they all had criminal tendencies as well. You don’t need much imagination to spot today’s racist attributions in there.
 
When I leave the convoluted rooms within the gallery and emerge into daylight, the variety of artistic perspectives seem to blur into one with the street panorama for the moment. There are still a couple of translocals in the gallery’s vicinity, migrants of third or fourth generation who switch casually between affiliation codes. After that there are just social accommodation blocks. Many people live in these flats and are being made responsible for a perceived sense of foreignness in the country. People, who neither have the space nor the opportunities to oppose that. They live in a society that’s constantly on the move, yet only tolerates the unknown on their doorstep through gritted teeth.
 
I’m counting on the new Fremdenführer*innen within us all. Maybe we’ll meet each other after all.

Serie „Wort‑Brüche“ Fremdenführer*in

Spuren der kolonialen Vergangenheit in der deutschen Hauptstadt: Schild des Kleingartenvereins Togo in der Togostraße im Afrikanischen Viertel in Berlin-Wedding, aufgenommen 2019
Spuren der kolonialen Vergangenheit in der deutschen Hauptstadt: Schild des Kleingartenvereins Togo in der Togostraße im Afrikanischen Viertel in Berlin-Wedding, aufgenommen 2019 | Foto (Detail): Sascha Steinach © picture alliance/dpa-Zentralbild

Etliche Wörter sind bis heute fest im deutschen Sprachgebrauch verankert – obwohl sie zu einer Zeit entstanden sind, die mit unserer diversen Gegenwart kaum noch zu tun hat. In dieser Serie versucht Elisabeth Wellershaus ihnen auf den Grund zu gehen und sie aus dekolonialer Perspektive umzudeuten. Sie steigt mit dem Begriff Fremdenführer*in ein.

Von Elisabeth Wellershaus

Die Szenen gehören zu meinen ersten Reiseerinnerungen. Das wunderbare Hüpfen, mit dem das Luftkissenboot uns von Ischia aufs italienische Festland transportierte. Der schier endlose Anstieg auf den Vesuv und das Spiegelei, das uns in der Hitze am Kraterrand zubereitet wurde. Vor allem der gut gelaunte Fremdenführer, der uns nach dem Trick mit dem Ei wieder herunterbrachte. Sein eindringlicher Rat, den er unten an uns richtete: „Bitte achten Sie auf Ihre Wertsachen. Hier ist es sehr gefährlich.“
 
Die Erinnerungen daran, wie mir die „Fremde“ auf meiner ersten und einzigen Pauschalreise erklärt wurde, begleiten mich seither. Erinnerungen an eine Zeit, in der „Fremdheit“ noch eine eindeutige Sache zu sein schien. Über Jahrhunderte hatten westliche Reisende sich unhinterfragt an der „Exotik“ anderer Kulturen abgearbeitet, gaben eurozentrische Perspektiven den Ton in Wissenschaft und Reiseliteratur an.  Also plauderte auch unser staatlich geprüfter deutscher Fremdenführer zwanglos über die „befremdlichen Zustände“ in Italien.
 
Sozial auffällig waren dabei wohl eher wir. Die deutsche Reisegruppe, die 1979 in Neapel einfiel und an der Hand eines „Führers“ das Anderswo bestaunte. Zu Hause in Deutschland lebten seit knapp 20 Jahren Europäer*innen aus dem Mittelmeerraum, die unter anderem über die sogenannte Neapel‑Schleuse ins Land gelangt waren. Als „Gastarbeiter*innen“ wurden sie gebraucht, von der Gesellschaft aber nur verhalten akzeptiert. Die Tatsache, dass die Neuankömmlinge in Deutschland dieselben Menschen waren, die als Statist*innen die Sommerurlaubskulisse bespielten, schien nebensächlich. Denn Fremdheit war in präglobalisierten Zeiten auch unter Europäer*innen Thema.
 
Unser Hang zum Fremdeln ist bis heute geblieben, obwohl Reisende mittlerweile fast jeden Winkel der Erde erschlossen haben. Nach innen zeichnet sich Europa trotz lädierter Gemeinschaft kaum noch durch harte Grenzen oder kulturelle Brüche aus. Und so haben wir die Fremdheitsgefühle schlicht verlagert. Sie auf andere Menschen projiziert, die nun in Ländern wie Deutschland durch Religion, Herkunft, Sprache, Gewohnheiten, Hautfarbe oder Namen zu Außenseiter*innen gemacht werden.
 
Ressentiments gegenüber kopftuchtragenden Lehrerinnen, afrikanischen „Wirtschaftsflüchtlingen“ oder arabischsprachigen Schulhofrandalierer*innen werden in Medien und am Stammtisch gern mit „offensichtlichen Unterschieden“ begründet. Historische Hintergründe, die Herabwürdigung ganzer Kulturen zum Erhalt globaler Machtverhältnisse werden seltener bemüht.
  • Postkarte ‚Deutsche Kolonial-Ausstellung‘ Berlin. Zur Eröffnung der Gewerbeausstellung im Treptower Park am 3. Mai 1896. Farblithografie akg-images © picture alliance
    Postkarte ‚Deutsche Kolonial-Ausstellung‘ Berlin. Zur Eröffnung der Gewerbeausstellung im Treptower Park am 3. Mai 1896. Farblithografie
  • Europäische Reisende in Ägypten auf von Fellachen geführten Kamelen in Gizeh vor der Großen Sphinx, im Hintergrund die Cheopspyramide. Foto (stereoskopische Aufnahme), anonym, undatiert, 1880er-Jahre. Berlin, Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte. akg-images © picture-alliance
    Europäische Reisende in Ägypten auf von Fellachen geführten Kamelen in Gizeh vor der Großen Sphinx, im Hintergrund die Cheopspyramide. Foto (stereoskopische Aufnahme), anonym, undatiert, 1880er-Jahre. Berlin, Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte.
  • Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Neuguinea) als Schutzgebiet des Deutschen Reiches 1885–1919. Der deutsche Kolonial-Dienststellenleiter Hans August Lorenz Klink mit indigener Begleitmannschaft auf Expedition. Foto, anonym, undatiert (vor 1897), handschriftlich bezeichnet: „Expedition Klink“. Aus einem Album mit überwiegend völkerkundlichen Aufnahmen, entstanden auf verschiedenen Expeditionen in das Landesinnere von Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Expeditionen Hans August Lorenz Klink, Wilhelm Dammköhler und Ramu-Expedition von 1896), Seite 13. Berlin, Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte. akg-images © picture-alliance
    Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Neuguinea) als Schutzgebiet des Deutschen Reiches 1885–1919. Der deutsche Kolonial-Dienststellenleiter Hans August Lorenz Klink mit indigener Begleitmannschaft auf Expedition. Foto, anonym, undatiert (vor 1897), handschriftlich bezeichnet: „Expedition Klink“. Aus einem Album mit überwiegend völkerkundlichen Aufnahmen, entstanden auf verschiedenen Expeditionen in das Landesinnere von Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Expeditionen Hans August Lorenz Klink, Wilhelm Dammköhler und Ramu-Expedition von 1896), Seite 13. Berlin, Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte.
  • Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Neuguinea) als Schutzgebiet des Deutschen Reiches 1885–1919. Der deutsche Kolonial-Dienststellenleiter Hans August Lorenz Klink (links) mit indigener Begleitmannschaft und Ochsenkarren auf Expedition. Foto, anonym, undatiert (vor 1897), handschriftlich bezeichnet: „Expedition Klink“. Aus einem Album mit überwiegend völkerkundlichen Aufnahmen, entstanden auf verschiedenen Expeditionen in das Landesinnere von Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Expeditionen Hans August Lorenz Klink, Wilhelm Dammköhler und Ramu-Expedition von 1896), Seite 13. Berlin, Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte. akg-images © picture-alliance
    Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Neuguinea) als Schutzgebiet des Deutschen Reiches 1885–1919. Der deutsche Kolonial-Dienststellenleiter Hans August Lorenz Klink (links) mit indigener Begleitmannschaft und Ochsenkarren auf Expedition. Foto, anonym, undatiert (vor 1897), handschriftlich bezeichnet: „Expedition Klink“. Aus einem Album mit überwiegend völkerkundlichen Aufnahmen, entstanden auf verschiedenen Expeditionen in das Landesinnere von Kaiser-Wilhelms-Land (Expeditionen Hans August Lorenz Klink, Wilhelm Dammköhler und Ramu-Expedition von 1896), Seite 13. Berlin, Sammlung Archiv für Kunst und Geschichte.
  • Die 2016 eingeweihte Gedenktafel für den afrikanischen Menschenrechtsaktivisten Martin Dibobe (1876–1922) aus Kamerun an seinem letzten Wohnhaus in Berlin. Martin Dibobe arbeitete sich in Deutschland vom Schaffner zum Zugführer hoch. Respektiert fühlte er sich trotzdem nicht, mit einer Petition wehrte er sich gegen Rassismus. Thilo Rückeis TSP © picture-alliance
    Die 2016 eingeweihte Gedenktafel für den afrikanischen Menschenrechtsaktivisten Martin Dibobe (1876–1922) aus Kamerun an seinem letzten Wohnhaus in Berlin. Martin Dibobe arbeitete sich in Deutschland vom Schaffner zum Zugführer hoch. Respektiert fühlte er sich trotzdem nicht, mit einer Petition wehrte er sich gegen Rassismus.
  • 9. Gedenkmarsch zur Erinnerung an die afrikanischen Opfer von Sklavenhandel, Sklaverei, Kolonialismus und rassistischer Gewalt. Das Komitee für ein afrikanisches Denkmal in Berlin (KADIB) und Teilnehmer des 9. Gedenkmarsches fordern die Anerkennung der Verbrechen gegen Schwarze Menschen und Menschen afrikanischer Herkunft. Berlin, 28.02.2015 Michaela Ellguth © picture alliance/Geisler-Fotopress
    9. Gedenkmarsch zur Erinnerung an die afrikanischen Opfer von Sklavenhandel, Sklaverei, Kolonialismus und rassistischer Gewalt. Das Komitee für ein afrikanisches Denkmal in Berlin (KADIB) und Teilnehmer des 9. Gedenkmarsches fordern die Anerkennung der Verbrechen gegen Schwarze Menschen und Menschen afrikanischer Herkunft. Berlin, 28.02.2015
  • M’barek Bouhchichis Terrakotta-Skulpturen aus der Installation Terre 2 in der Ausstellung „Ultrasanity“ (Savvy Contemporary), Berlin 2019 © Amine Oulmaki
    M’barek Bouhchichis Terrakotta-Skulpturen aus der Installation Terre 2 in der Ausstellung „Ultrasanity“ (Savvy Contemporary), Berlin 2019
  • Boxerin Zeina Nassar erkämpfte 2018 beim Deutschen Boxsport-Verband Änderungen der Wettkampfbestimmungen, damit sie im Ring mit Kopftuch antreten darf. 2018 wurde die Muslimin deutsche Meisterin im Federgewicht. Arne Immanuel Bänsch © dpa
    Boxerin Zeina Nassar erkämpfte 2018 beim Deutschen Boxsport-Verband Änderungen der Wettkampfbestimmungen, damit sie im Ring mit Kopftuch antreten darf. 2018 wurde die Muslimin deutsche Meisterin im Federgewicht.
Kübra Gümüşay beschreibt es in ihrem Buch Sprache und Sein – wie Fremdheitskonzepte sich in unserem Sprechen übereinander manifestiert haben. Auch viele Dekolonisierungsprojekte thematisieren diese Konstrukte, Intellektuelle wie Achille Mbembe durchleuchten sie. Doch zugleich plagen Überfremdungsängste und die Sorge vorm „Aufmucken der Minderheiten“ immer mehr Menschen. Vielleicht sind wir in diesen Tagen also mehr denn je auf Fremdenführer*innen angewiesen – auf Menschen wie Mbembe und Gümüsay, die in einer hyper-erschlossenen Welt mit auseinanderdriftender Gemeinschaft die Ursprünge aktueller Ausgrenzungsreflexe sichtbar machen?

Das „Fremde“ in der deutschen Hauptstadt

In Berlin reicht eine kurze Stadtführung zur Kolonialgeschichte, um eine Gegenwart zu entdecken, die das fröhlich‑diverse Image der Stadt herausfordert. Die Schlossbaustelle neben dem Alexanderplatz brüllt es seit geraumer Zeit entgegen: dass Berlin sich mit dem Wiederaufbau preußischen Prunks – und dem darin ansässigen Humboldt Forum mit seiner umstrittenen ethnologischen Sammlung – in den Grauzonen einer schwierigen Vergangenheit bewegt.
 
Eher flüsternd erzählt dagegen das wiederaufgebaute Haus des Berliner Tabakfabrikanten Wilhelm Ermeler von der Verstrickung, die auch Berlin in ein koloniales Machtgefüge einband. 1967 wurde es abgerissen, um Platz für das DDR‑Staatsratsgebäude zu schaffen, 1969 am Märkischen Ufer wieder aufgebaut. Und noch immer hängt über dem Eingang des Ermelerhauses ein Fries aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, der die Produktionskette des Tabaks beschreibt: auf der einen Seite Schwarze versklavte Menschen in Amerika, die Tabak pflücken und zum Hafen bringen. Auf der anderen ein Schiff, das über den Atlantik auf zwei Kuppeldächer am Horizont zusteuert – vermutlich den Französischen und den Deutschen Dom am Berliner Gendarmenmarkt. Es ist eine Szene, die daran erinnert, dass auch Brandenburg‑Preußen in Plantagengeschäfte verwickelt war und vom transatlantischen Menschenhandel profitierte. Auch wenn die Gäste, die hier heute absteigen, vermutlich kaum davon wissen. Sie wohnen schlicht in dem Hotel, zu dem das Ermelerhaus vor Jahren wurde.
 
Aber vielleicht entdecken manche ihn doch: jenen Teil unserer Geschichte, der als koloniales Echo aus Straßennamen oder Häuserreliefs hallt. Der den gedanklichen Brückenschlag in eine Gegenwart ermöglicht, in der viele Menschen noch immer unter der systematischen Abwertung aus imperialen Zeiten leiden. Die Bundeskulturstiftung hat in eine solche Richtung gedacht und startet 2020 ein größeres Projekt, das der kolonialen Vergangenheit Berlins nachspüren will.
 
Doch vermutlich braucht es mehr als ein paar Stadtführungen, um die Wurzeln hartnäckiger Ressentiments aufzudecken. Ohnehin ist das Wort „Führung“ – das nach dem Faschismus des 20. Jahrhunderts noch immer selbstverständlich an Wörtern wie Zug-, Partei- oder Spiel- hängt – hier vielleicht missverständlich. Eine allzu starr „geführte“ Auseinandersetzung mit kolonialen Themen wird kaum dazu anhalten, dass Vorurteile und eingefahrene Perspektiven kritisch hinterfragt werden. Ein partizipativer, gemeinschaftlicher Ansatz aber schafft es womöglich, unsere komplexe Gesellschaft dort abzuholen, wo sie gerade steht.

Die Suche nach dem Verbindenden

Vor ein paar Wochen stehe ich zusammen mit anderen Besucher*innen im Foyer des Kunstraums Savvy Contemporary, in Berlin-Wedding. Neben uns die Kuratorin der aktuellen Ausstellung, Kelly Krugman. Sie ist eine jener Kulturschaffenden, die eine transkulturelle Sprache sprechen, ohne sie aufzudrängen. Ihre „Führung“ durch die Ausstellung, die hier jenseits des westlichen Kanons schillert, beschreibt eine für manche Gäste ungewohnte Perspektive. Vor dem Kunstwerk Fabricated Anthropology, das der kamerunische Künstler Adjani Okpu-Egbe auf eine Flügeltür gemalt hat, bleibt Krugman stehen. Leise, zwischen den Zeilen, ordnet sie das gemalte Blut, das an seinem Werk klebt, einer ausbeuterischen westlichen Moderne zu, um die es im Savvy häufig geht. Und sie erklärt, wie die „Pathologisierung der anderen“ – das Thema der Gruppenausstellung Ultrasanity – diese Moderne überhaupt erst möglich gemacht hat.
 
Krugman erzählt von der problematischen Abgrenzung zwischen „Kranken“ und „Gesunden“, die in vielen Kolonien perfektioniert wurde und bis heute im Umgang mit Geflüchteten und Migrant*innen weltweit greift. Ihr Beispiel des französischen Ethnopsychiaters Antoine Porot ist nur eines von vielen. Während seiner Arbeit in Algerien kam er vergangenes Jahrhundert zu dem Schluss, dass die Bewohner*innen des Landes nicht nur psychisch labil, sondern allesamt auch kriminell veranlagt seien. Man braucht wenig Phantasie, um rassistische Zuschreibungen der Gegenwart darin zu erkennen.
 
Als ich aus verschachtelten Galerieräumen ans Tageslicht komme, scheint die Vielfalt der künstlerischen Perspektiven für den Moment mit dem Straßenpanorama zu verschmelzen. Noch ein paar translokale Durchgangsstädter*innen im Galerie‑Umfeld, Migrant*innen in dritter oder vierter Generation, die lässig zwischen Zughörigkeitscodes wechseln. Dann nur noch Häuserblocks mit Sozialwohnungen. Etliche Menschen leben in diesen Wohnungen, die für die gefühlte Fremde im Land verantwortlich gemacht werden. Menschen, die weder Raum noch Möglichkeiten haben, dem etwas entgegenzusetzen. Sie leben mitten in einer Gesellschaft, die ständig unterwegs ist und das Unbekannte vor der eigenen Haustür doch nur zähneknirschend erträgt.
 
Ich zähle auf die neuen Fremdenführer*innen in uns allen. Vielleicht begegnen wir uns doch.