The former Colonial Museum in Rome On the past and the future

Decolonisation: Rome’s former Colonial Museum has been stored in the archives of the Museo delle Civiltà, and is being reopened after forty years
After four decades return from the depot: the holdings of the former Italian colonial museum | Photo: Maik Reichert © Goethe-Institut Italien

The Luigi Pigorini Museum of Ethnography is part of the museum complex Museo delle Civilità (Museum of Roman Civilisation) in Rome’s EUR district, which was commissioned by Mussolini for the World Expo in 1942 with ceremonial avenues and monumental buildings. It includes an African department, and its archives contain the former Italian Colonial Museum, which is to be reopened after spending forty years in boxes. Two young experts who specialise in Africa and museums are in charge of the project: Gaia Delpino and Rosa Di Lella. A multimedia coverage from the Italian capital.

By By Sarah Wollberg (texts, interviews) and Maik Reichert (photos/camera)

Our tour starts in the African department. Gaia Delpino shows us on a map how the Europeans sailed towards Africa at the start of the 14th century, and forged economic and political alliances on the continental coasts. “What I particularly want to emphasise today is the equality between the African and European kingdoms in those days.” This is also reflected in the language of many written works from this period. Expressions influenced by colonial thought structures did not yet exist. “The Other,” according to the researcher, “was viewed as an equal trading partner and human being.” Even the artefacts on display in the department were made specifically to suit the European tastes of their trading partners and are still viewed as “ambassadors” between the two continents nowadays.
 

The repression of colonialism

From the African department we head for the spacious archives of the museum building, where the former colonial museum is still kept behind locked doors. After forty years in the vaults, the idea is for these artefacts to show the public an area of Italian history that has previously been a victim of extreme repression. “The fact that the museum has been closed for so many years has gone hand in hand with a physical denial of colonialism and its collections,” confirms Rosa Di Lella. Processing this history is long overdue in all our countries, and it’s only in the initial phase in both Italy and Germany. Most of the artefacts we see in the archive originate from the model exhibition and came to Italy for propaganda purposes. It takes courage to deal with them in the jungle of scientific research and politics, and find a path through that’s no longer unfair to anyone.
 

The museum’s future vision

“We’d like to try and put the history of the museum and of colonialism into the greater context of relations between Italy, Europe and Africa. To achieve this, we intend to accommodate multiple interpretations and views. As Europeans, we have a perspective that needs to be complemented by other perspectives,” says Rosa Di Lella. It’s imperative in 2020 that we incorporate the viewpoint of people who were colonised, and that we face up to them. The two young experts have a clear vision in this regard: “We’d like to collaborate with our colleagues in the archives to develop a centre dedicated to Italian colonialism, in which new debates are conducted.” The plan is for the museum to become the central point of reference for this collection, so that it’s alive and open at last.
 

A dialogue with Africa

The idea is to facilitate an ongoing discussion with people of the diaspora in Italy, as well as close cooperation and partnerships with museums and universities of the former colonies in Ethiopia, Eritrea, Libya and Somalia. “The new museum concept is being created together with architects and communication experts. Even in this initial phase we think it’s really important to involve our colleagues from the African countries,” explains Rosa Di Lella. On the other hand they are already talking to Italian witnesses who have a colonial history of their own. “We’re talking to them about memories as well, so that we can gradually reconstruct a colonial history that reflects the full complexity of the situation.”
  • Decolonisation: The Luigi Pigorini Museum of Ethnography is part of the museum complex Museo delle Civilità (Museum of Roman Civilisation) in Rome’s EUR district, which was commissioned by Mussolini for the World Expo in 1942 with ceremonial avenues and monumental buildings. © Maik Reichert
    The Luigi Pigorini Museum of Ethnography is part of the museum complex Museo delle Civilità (Museum of Roman Civilisation) in Rome’s EUR district, which was commissioned by Mussolini for the World Expo in 1942 with ceremonial avenues and monumental buildings.
  • Decolonisation: The spacious archives of the museum building, where the former colonial museum is still kept behind locked doors © Maik Reichert
    The spacious archives of the museum building, where the former colonial museum is still kept behind locked doors
  • Decolonisation: Object from the former colonial museum in Rome © Maik Reichert
    Object from the former colonial museum in Rome
  • Decolonisation: Object from the former colonial museum in Rome © Maik Reichert
    Object from the former colonial museum in Rome
  • Decolonisation: Object from the former colonial museum in Rome © Maik Reichert
    Object from the former colonial museum in Rome
  • Decolonisation: Object from the former colonial museum in Rome © Maik Reichert
    Object from the former colonial museum in Rome
  • Decolonisation: Object from the Africa-Section of the Luigi Pigorini Museum © Maik Reichert
    Object from the Africa-Section of the Luigi Pigorini Museum
Gaia Delpino also believes that it’s high time we stopped talking about Africa and Europe as singular entities, and used the plural instead: Africas and Europes. “In the course of my experiences in Africa, I’ve come across more similarities than differences. But the differences are also very important, as long as you don’t judge them.”
 
And on this note we hope that the new Colonial Museum will also be free from the fear of being judged, and that all over Europe we will commit to the responsibility of finally unpacking colonialism from the boxes in our heads and facing up to it.

Das ehemalige Kolonialmuseum in Rom Von Vergangenheit und Zukunft

Dekolonisierung: In den Archiven des Museo delle Civiltà liegt das ehemalige Kolonialmuseum Roms, das nach vierzig Jahren neu eröffnet wird
In den Archiven des Museo delle Civiltà liegt das ehemalige Kolonialmuseum Roms, das nach vierzig Jahren neu eröffnet wird | Foto: Maik Reichert © Goethe-Institut Italien

Das ethnografische Museum Luigi Pigorini ist Teil des Museumskomplexes Museo delle Civilità (Museum der römischen Zivilisation) im römischen EUR-Viertel, das im Auftrag Mussolinis für die Weltausstellung 1942 mit Paradestraßen und Monumentalbauten errichtet wurde. Es beherbergt eine Afrika-Abteilung und in seinen Archiven liegt das ehemalige Kolonialmuseum Roms, das nach vierzig Jahren in Kisten neu eröffnet werden soll. Zuständig dafür sind zwei junge Afrika- und Museumsexpertinnen: Gaia Delpino und Rosa Di Lella. Eine Multimedia-Reportage aus der italienischen Hauptstadt.
 

Von Sarah Wollberg (Texte, Interviews) und Maik Reichert (Fotos/Kamera, Interviews)

Unser Rundgang beginnt in der Afrika-Abteilung. Gaia Delpino zeigt uns auf der Landkarte, wie die Europäer Anfang des 14. Jahrhunderts Richtung Afrika segelten und an den Küsten des Kontinents wirtschaftliche und politische Bündnisse knüpften. „Das, was ich heute besonders hervorheben möchte, ist die damalige Gleichheit zwischen den afrikanischen und europäischen Königreichen.“ Diese spiegelt sich auch in der Sprache vieler Schriftstücke aus dieser Zeit wider. Es gab noch keine von kolonialen Denkstrukturen geprägte Ausdrucksweise. „Der Andere“, so die Wissenschaftlerin, „wurde als gleichwertiger Handelspartner und Mensch betrachtet.“ Auch die in der Abteilung ausgestellten Objekte wurden eigens nach dem europäischen Geschmack der Handelspartner angefertigt und gelten noch heute als „Botschafter“ zwischen den Kontinenten.

Die Verdrängung des Kolonialismus

Von der Afrika-Abteilung gehen wir in die weiträumigen Archive des Museumsbaus, wo das ehemalige Kolonialmuseum hinter noch verschlossenen Türen liegt. Nach vierzig Jahren in Depots sollen seine Objekte dem Publikum den Teil der italienischen Geschichte nahe bringen, der bisher einer starken Verdrängung zum Opfer gefallen ist. „Mit der langjährigen Schließung des Museums ging auch eine physische Verneinung des Kolonialismus und seiner Objekte einher“, bestätigt uns Rosa Di Lella. Die Aufarbeitung dieser Geschichte ist in all unseren Ländern längst überfällig und befindet sich sowohl in Italien als auch in Deutschland erst im Anfangsstadium. Die meisten Objekte, die wir im Archiv zu sehen bekommen, stammen aus der Musterausstellung und sind für Propagandazwecke nach Italien gekommen. Es braucht Mut, sich im Dickicht von Wissenschaft und Politikum damit auseinanderzusetzen und einen Weg zu finden, der niemanden mehr außen vor lässt.

Die Zukunftsvision des Museums

„Wir möchten versuchen, die Geschichte des Museums und des Kolonialismus in den größeren Kontext der Beziehungen zwischen Italien, Europa und Afrika zu stellen. Dabei sollen mehrere Stimmen der Interpretation zu Wort kommen. Wir Europäer*innen haben einen Blick, der von anderen Blicken ergänzt werden muss“, so Rosa Di Lella. Es ist unabdingbar, dass wir im Jahr 2020 den Standpunkt der Kolonialisierten mit einbeziehen und uns mit ihnen konfrontieren. Die beiden jungen Expertinnen haben dazu eine klare Vision: „Wir möchten zusammen mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen in den Archiven ein Zentrum zum italienischen Kolonialismus aufbauen, in dem neue Debatten geführt werden.“ Das Museum soll zum zentralen Bezugspunkt für diese Sammlung werden, sodass sie endlich lebendig und offen ist.

Ein Dialog mit Afrika

Es soll einen ständigen Austausch mit den Menschen der Diaspora in Italien sowie eine enge Zusammenarbeit und Partnerschaften mit Museen und Universitäten der ehemaligen Kolonien in Äthiopien, Eritrea, Libyen und Somalia geben. „Das neue Museumskonzept wird zusammen mit Architekt*innen und Kommunikationsexpert*innen entworfen. Schon in dieser Anfangsphase ist es uns ganz wichtig, die Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus den afrikanischen Ländern mit einzubeziehen“, erklärt uns Rosa Di Lella. Auf der anderen Seite stehen sie schon jetzt mit italienischen Zeitzeug*innen im Gespräch, die eine eigene koloniale Geschichte haben. „Auch mit ihnen sprechen wir über Erinnerungen, um nach und nach eine Kolonialgeschichte zu rekonstruieren, die die ganze Komplexität der Sache wiedergibt.“
  • Dekolonisation: Das ethnografische Museum Luigi Pigorini ist Teil des Museumskomplexes Museo delle Civilità (Museum der römischen Zivilisation) im römischen EUR-Viertel, das im Auftrag Mussolinis für die Weltausstellung 1942 mit Paradestraßen und Monumentalbauten errichtet wurde. © Maik Reichert
    Das ethnografische Museum Luigi Pigorini ist Teil des Museumskomplexes Museo delle Civilità (Museum der römischen Zivilisation) im römischen EUR-Viertel, das im Auftrag Mussolinis für die Weltausstellung 1942 mit Paradestraßen und Monumentalbauten errichtet wurde.
  • Dekolonisation: Die weiträumigen Archive des Museumsbaus, wo das ehemalige Kolonialmuseum hinter noch verschlossenen Türen liegt © Maik Reichert
    Die weiträumigen Archive des Museumsbaus, wo das ehemalige Kolonialmuseum hinter noch verschlossenen Türen liegt
  • Dekolonisation: Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom © Maik Reichert
    Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom
  • Dekolonisation: Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom © Maik Reichert
    Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom
  • Dekolonisation: Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom © Maik Reichert
    Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom
  • Dekolonisation: Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom © Maik Reichert
    Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom
  • Dekolonisation: Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom © Maik Reichert
    Objekt aus dem ehemaligen Kolonialmuseum in Rom
Gaia Delpino ist der Meinung, dass es außerdem an der Zeit sei, von Afrika und Europa nicht mehr in der Einzahl zu sprechen, sondern in der Mehrzahl: Afrikas und Europas. „Ich bin im Laufe meiner Erfahrungen in Afrika auf mehr Ähnlichkeiten als Unterschiede gestoßen. Aber auch die Unterschiede sind sehr wichtig, man darf sie nur nicht werten.“
 
Und so hoffen wir, dass auch das neue Kolonialmuseum frei von der Angst vor Wertung sein wird und wir uns in ganz Europa der Aufgabe stellen, den Kolonialismus endlich aus den Kisten unserer Köpfe hervorzuholen, um ihm auf Augenhöhe zu begegnen.