Linguistic decolonisation African languages still disadvantaged

US First Lady Melania Trump, alongside Maureen Masi, Head Teacher of Chipala Primary School in Lilongwe, Malawi, observes children learning the English and Chichewa languages
Do we have our own language? | Photo (detail): Andrea Hanks UPI Photo © picture alliance/Newscom

In 1997, an intergovernmental conference on language policies in Africa, supported by UNESCO, was held in Harare, Zimbabwe to among other things, define the framework for the establishment of national languages in African countries. During the said conference 51 out of 54 African countries attended. Unfortunately not many African countries can talk of having a national language.

There are many reasons for this sad state of affairs. One seemingly common reason often cited by those in power and those responsible for crafting their countries’ language policies revolves around the issue of Africa’s multiplicity of languages. There are over 2500 languages in Africa today and establishing a framework for national languages is a tall order, so they reason.  It is noteworthy that a few African countries have succeeded in choosing and implementing one national language. These include Tanzania, Kenya, Botswana, Somalia, Ethiopia, Central African Republic, Rwanda, Burundi, Lesotho, and Eswatini formerly Swaziland.


On the other hand other African countries have opted for the recognition of more than one national language. These countries are: Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe and DR Congo to mention but a few.  However, even if a language or a number of languages are recognised and declared as national or co-official languages of the State, these are often still eclipsed by colonial languages which seem to be deeply entrenched in the system. For example, Botswana recognises English and Setswana as official languages but most street signs and government notices are in English. Similarly, Tanzania which is lauded as a beacon of hope when it comes to the promotion of an African language (Kiswahili) is often criticised for using English in areas where Kiswahili can also be employed. For example, English is used as a medium of instruction at Universities and as a language of foreign relations while Kiswahili could also be used as such.

Another reason often advanced by African language policy-makers is the cost involved in developing orthographies for such languages, instead African governments opt for the use of colonial languages because they are already developed and are easy to implement in all aspects of governance.

Lack of incentives in African languages?

Regrettably, African people’s negative attitudes towards their own languages also plays a role in the marginalisation of indigenous languages. It is generally accepted by many Africans that there are no economic incentives linked to learning and mastering indigenous languages. Parents, including those from low income brackets, will advocate for their children to be taught in colonial languages instead of indigenous ones because of the economic benefits and prestige associated with the former. It is this general attitude towards African languages that often makes it difficult for some states to fully establish legal and policy frameworks aimed at elevating African languages to the same level as their European counterparts. In African countries such as Angola and the Ivory Coast it is not unusual to find locals who were born and raised in Africa and have never been to Europe but can only speak Portuguese and French respectively and claim to have no knowledge of any local indigenous dialects. This is a clear manifestation of the effects of European colonialism on the psyche of some Africans.

No political goodwill

Many African governments continue to marginalise their own languages because of what is referred to as “elite closure”.  Scotton (2010) defines elite closure as a “linguistic divergence created as a result of using a language which is only known to or preferred by the elite, in this case English. This divergence may be purposeful, as a measure of control”.  Forcing the common people to use a colonial language that they have not mastered well is one way of limiting the masses from accessing state resources. 

Young Togolese learn the German language at the school in Palime (Togo), named after the German Africa researcher Dr. Gustav Nachtigal Young Togolese learn the German language at the school in Palime (Togo), named after the German Africa researcher Dr. Gustav Nachtigal | Photo (detail): Roland Witschel © dpa-Bildarchiv

As alluded to above, lack of collective will from Africa’s leaders to promote African languages remains a big stumbling block for the revitalisation of these languages. Besides the Harare Declaration on the establishment of national language policies in Africa, several other conferences have been held and initiatives have been devised to this effect. The Asmara Declaration of 2000 on African languages as well as the Conference on language-in-education, Juba, South Sudan, 2012 all emphasized the importance of using African languages in all aspects of governance, including as media of instruction in higher education but nothing fruitful came from these initiatives. Blame should also be apportioned to regional bodies that fail to promote indigenous languages. It was only when the former Mozambican President Joachim Chissano delivered a speech in an indigenous African language albeit not his native tongue, i.e. Kiswahili, that the African Union declared all African languages official. So far this declaration is on paper only. Ever since Chissano’s speech no African leader has delivered a speech in his or her native tongue at any of the AU sessions since the announcement. How does one take African languages seriously if African leaders themselves are ashamed of promoting them?

The only way to elevate the status of Africa’s indigenous languages is to establish language regulating bodies that will monitor the use of indigenous languages in government and the private sector. This task can be given to either universities or independent institutions established by government such as South Africa’s pan-African Languages Board. Furthermore, In order to destigmatise African languages politicians, local entertainers and artists should speak them from time to time.


Another pertinent issue within the pan Africanism discourse relates to the decolonisation of African political and social institutions. Centuries of European colonialism have resulted in many Africans feeling lesser of themselves and having less confidence in everything African including their languages and culture. The continuous use of colonial languages and the prestige attached to them in African institutions is an indicator of this anomaly.  One reason advanced by the elite is that African languages lack the terminology, say to be used in courts, or they lack the scientific and technological terms to be used in schools. However, conventional wisdom dictates that no language is inherently embodied with scientific, technological, political and legal terms. The English language itself is known to extensively borrow its scientific, technological, political and legal terms from Latin, Greek and French.

Tanzania, Somalia, Ethiopia and to an extent Rwanda are among the only few African states that use indigenous languages in their respective parliaments. This is a clear example of decolonising African parliaments.  Parliamentary debates in indigenous languages are beneficial to the common man and woman on the street as they will grasp the message from their elected representatives with ease. 

There is fear in some quarters that many African languages might become extinct in less than 100 years.  However, according to several linguists, principally Salikoko Mufwene - a notable Bantu languages linguist, contrary to popular sentiments, European languages are not a threat to African languages, instead it is African languages which are a threat to other African languages. For example Kiswahili is a threat to hundreds of local languages in East Africa, so is Setswana in Botswana.

Interview with Christian Harris during the "Museum Conversations" 2019 in Namibia:

Linguistische Dekolonialisierung Afrikanische Sprachen noch immer benachteiligt

Die First Lady der USA, Melania Trump, und Direktorin Maureen Masiin in der Chipala Primary School in Lilongwe in Malawi mit Kindern, die Englisch und Chichewa lernen
Haben wir eine eigene Sprache? | Foto (Detail): Andrea Hanks UPI Photo © picture alliance/Newscom

1997 fand in Simbabwes Hauptstadt Harare eine von der UNESCO unterstützte Regierungskonferenz über Sprachenpolitik in Afrika statt, unter anderem um ein Rahmenwerk für die Etablierung von Landessprachen in afrikanischen Ländern zu erarbeiten. 51 von 54 afrikanischen Ländern nahmen an der Konferenz teil. Leider können nicht viele afrikanische Länder von sich behaupten, eine Landessprache zu haben.

Für diesen beklagenswerten Zustand gibt es viele Gründe. Ein scheinbar geläufiger Grund, der von den Mächtigen und den Verantwortlichen für die Erarbeitung der Sprachpolitik in ihren jeweiligen Ländern häufig genannt wird, hat mit dem Problem der afrikanischen Sprachenvielfalt zu tun. Es gibt in Afrika heute mehr als 2.500 Sprachen, und, so argumentieren sie, sei die Etablierung eines Rahmenwerks für Landessprachen ein komplexes Unterfangen. Es ist beachtenswert, dass einige afrikanische Länder erfolgreich eine Landessprache ausgewählt und implementiert haben. Zu ihnen gehören Tansania, Kenia, Botswana, Somalia, Äthiopien, die Zentralafrikanische Republik, Ruanda, Burundi, Lesotho und Eswatini (ehemals Swasiland).


Demgegenüber haben sich andere afrikanische Länder dafür entschieden, mehr als eine Landessprache anzuerkennen. Diese Länder sind: Namibia, Südafrika, Sambia, Nigeria, Ghana, Simbabwe und die Demokratische Republik Kongo, um nur einige zu nennen. Aber selbst wenn eine oder mehrere Sprachen als Landessprachen oder Ko-Amtssprachen eines Staates anerkannt und offiziell sind, werden sie dennoch häufig von den Kolonialsprachen überschattet, die tief im System verwurzelt zu sein scheinen. Beispielsweise erkennt Botswana Englisch und Setswana als Amtssprachen an, aber die meisten Straßenschilder und Regierungsmitteilungen sind auf Englisch. Ähnlich wird Tansania, das als Hoffnungsträger gelobt wird, was die Förderung einer afrikanischen Sprache (Kiswahili) angeht, häufig für die Verwendung von Englisch in Bereichen kritisiert, in denen auch Kiswahili eingesetzt werden könnte. So wird Englisch beispielsweise als Unterrichtsprache an den Universitäten sowie in den Außenbeziehungen eingesetzt, obwohl dazu auch Kiswahili benutzt werden könnte.

Ein weiterer Grund, der häufig von sprachpolitischen Entscheidungsträgern in Afrika vorgebracht wird, sind die Kosten, die mit der Entwicklung einer Orthografie für diese Sprachen verbunden sind. Stattdessen entscheiden sich afrikanische Regierungen für den Einsatz kolonialer Sprachen, weil diese bereits voll entwickelt sind und sich in allen Regierungszusammenhängen leicht umsetzen lassen.

Fehlende Anreize für afrikanische Sprachen?

Bedauerlicherweise spielt auch die negative Einstellung der Afrikaner*innen gegenüber ihren eigenen Sprachen eine Rolle bei der Marginalisierung indigener Sprachen. Für viele Afrikaner*Innen gilt als weithin akzeptiert, dass es keinerlei wirtschaftliche Anreize gibt, indigene Sprachen zu lernen und zu beherrschen. Eltern, einschließlich derer aus niedrigen Einkommensstufen, plädieren aufgrund der mit den Kolonialsprachen verbundenen wirtschaftlichen Vorteile und ihres Prestiges dafür, dass ihre Kinder in diesen statt in indigenen Sprachen unterrichtet werden. Diese weit verbreitete Haltung gegenüber afrikanischen Sprachen macht es für viele Staaten oft schwierig, legale und politische Rahmenbedingungen vollständig zu etablieren, die darauf abzielen, afrikanische Sprachen auf dieselbe Stufe emporzuheben wie ihre europäischen Gegenstücke. In afrikanischen Ländern wie Angola und der Côte d’Ivoire ist es nicht ungewöhnlich, Einheimische anzutreffen, die in Afrika geboren wurden, dort aufgewachsen sind und nie in Europa waren, aber nur Portugiesisch oder Französisch sprechen und behaupten, keinerlei Kenntnisse in irgendeinem der lokalen indigenen Dialekte zu haben. Hier manifestieren sich die Auswirkungen des europäischen Kolonialismus auf die Psyche vieler Afrikaner*innen ganz deutlich.

Kein politischer Wille

Zahlreiche afrikanische Regierungen marginalisieren ihre eigenen Sprachen auch weiterhin wegen eines Phänomens, das „elitäre Abschottung“ genannt wird. Scotton (2010) definiert elitäre Abschottung als „linguistische Divergenz, die als Ergebnis der Benutzung einer Sprache auftritt, die nur der Elite bekannt ist oder von ihr bevorzugt wird, in diesem Fall Englisch. Diese Divergenz kann zweckorientiert sein, nämlich als Kontrollmaßnahme.“ Die einfachen Leute zu zwingen, eine koloniale Sprache zu benutzen, die sie nicht gut beherrschen, ist nicht zuletzt auch ein Weg, den Zugang der Massen zu Staatsgeldern zu beschränken. 

In der nach dem deutschen Afrikaforscher Dr. Gustav Nachtigal benannten Schule in Palime (Togo) lernen junge Togolesen die deutsche Sprache In der nach dem deutschen Afrikaforscher Dr. Gustav Nachtigal benannten Schule in Palime (Togo) lernen junge Togolesen die deutsche Sprache | Foto (Detail): Roland Witschel © dpa-Bildarchiv

Wie oben angedeutet, bleibt ein Mangel an kollektivem Willen auf Seiten der afrikanischen Machthaber, afrikanische Sprachen zu fördern, ein entscheidender Hemmschuh für die Wiederbelebung dieser Sprachen. Neben der Erklärung von Harare zur Etablierung einer Landessprachenpolitik in Afrika gab es noch mehrere weitere Konferenzen und Initiativen mit demselben Ziel. Die Erklärung von Asmara zu afrikanischen Sprachen aus dem Jahr 2000 ebenso wie die Konferenz zu Sprache in der Bildung im südsudanesischen Dschuba im Jahr 2012 betonten allesamt die Wichtigkeit, afrikanische Sprachen in allen Regierungszusammenhängen einzusetzen, einschließlich als Unterrichtssprache in der Hochschulausbildung. Jedoch fielen diese Initiativen nicht auf fruchtbaren Boden. Die Schuld sollte auch bei regionalen Behörden gesucht werden, die indigene Sprachen nicht fördern. Erst als der ehemalige mosambikanische Präsident Joachim Chissano eine Rede in einer indigenen afrikanischen Sprache, nämlich Kiswahili, hielt, wenn auch nicht seiner Muttersprache, erklärte die Afrikanische Union (AU) alle afrikanischen Sprachen für offiziell. Bis jetzt steht diese Erklärung aber nur auf dem Papier. Seit Chissanos Rede hat kein afrikanischer Machthaber bei einer der AU-Sitzungen seit dieser Ankündigung eine Rede in seiner oder ihrer Muttersprache gehalten. Wie sollen afrikanische Sprachen ernstgenommen werden, wenn die afrikanischen Machthaber selbst sich schämen, sie zu fördern?

Der einzige Weg, den Status von Afrikas indigenen Sprachen zu erhöhen, liegt darin, Regelungsausschüsse für Sprachen einzurichten, die den Einsatz indigener Sprachen im Regierungs- und Privatsektor überwachen. Diese Aufgabe kann entweder Universitäten oder von der Regierung eingerichteten unabhängigen Institutionen übertragen werden, wie zum Beispiel dem südafrikanischen Pan South African Language Board. Zudem sollten Politiker*innen, einheimische Unterhaltungskünstler*innen und Kunstschaffende ab und zu afrikanische Sprachen sprechen, um diesen ihr Stigma zu nehmen.

Ein weiteres relevantes Problem innerhalb des Panafrikanismus-Diskurses bezieht sich auf die Entkolonialisierung der politischen und sozialen Institutionen in Afrika. Jahrhunderte des europäischen Kolonialismus haben dazu geführt, dass viele Afrikaner das Gefühl haben, sie seien weniger wert, und weniger Vertrauen in alles Afrikanische haben, einschließlich ihrer Sprachen und Kulturen. Die fortlaufende Benutzung kolonialer Sprachen und das ihnen in afrikanischen Institutionen zugewiesene Prestige ist ein Indikator für diese Anomalie. Von der Elite wird als Grund dafür unter anderem vorgebracht, dass afrikanischen Sprachen die Terminologie beispielsweise für den Einsatz vor Gericht fehlt oder dass sie nicht über die nötigen wissenschaftlichen und technischen Begriffe verfügen, um in Schulen Verwendung zu finden. Es ist jedoch eine Binsenweisheit, dass keine Sprache von sich aus wissenschaftliche, technische, politische und rechtliche Begriffe aufweist. Das Englische selbst ist dafür bekannt, dass es seine wissenschaftlichen, technischen, politischen und rechtlichen Begriffe weitgehend aus dem Lateinischen, Griechischen und Französischen entlehnt hat.

Tansania, Somalia, Äthiopien und bis zu einem gewissen Grad auch Ruanda gehören zu den wenigen afrikanischen Staaten, die indigene Sprachen in ihren Parlamenten einsetzen. Dies ist ein klares Beispiel für die Entkolonialisierung afrikanischer Parlamente. Parlamentsdebatten in indigenen Sprachen sind von Vorteil für die ganz normalen Bürgerinnen und Bürger, da sie so die Botschaften ihrer gewählten Vertreter*innen ohne Schwierigkeiten verstehen können. 

In bestimmten Kreisen geht die Angst um, dass viele afrikanische Sprachen in weniger als 100 Jahren ausgestorben sein könnten. Entgegen der landläufigen Meinung sind europäische Sprachen jedoch manchen Linguisten zufolge – allen voran Salikoko Mufwene, ein namhafter Linguist für Bantu-Sprachen – keine Bedrohung für afrikanische Sprachen. Vielmehr sind es afrikanische Sprachen, die eine Gefahr für andere afrikanische Sprachen darstellen. So ist beispielsweise Kiswahili, ähnlich wie Setswana in Botswana, eine Bedrohung für Hunderte von lokalen Sprachen in Ostafrika.

Interview mit Christian Harris im Rahmen der „Museumsgespräche“ 2019 in Namibia: