Colonial art South of the European “Brasilianas”

Picture wallpaper with Brazilian landscape from Jean-Jacques Deltil from a motif by Johann Moritz Rugendas
Exotic Brazil in the view of historical travellers | Photo (detail): akg-images © picture alliance

How can artists in the Global South contribute to the process of retracing the path towards a fading and sometimes seemingly forgotten past, thereby articulating and redefining the region’s cultural, political, social and economic vision?

By Tiago Sant’Ana

Brasilianas is the name of a series of works that European explorers made in Brazil, mostly in the 19th century, to portray the country to the rest of the world. For various purposes, the “Brasilianas” were sold in Europe, but were also used for studies that would foment scientific racism. These artistic productions, mainly prints and photographs, still inform the present imaginary about Brazil, because they are taken as productions that, supposedly, bring into their compositions the details and minutia of a colonial and imperial Brazil – characterized by the enslavement of black people and unrestrained exploitation of the national territory.

Mozambicans: from "Picturesque Journey in Brazil" by Johann Moritz Rugendas, 1830-1835, Collection of the Biblioteca Nacional, Brazil | Photo: Fine Art Images/Heritage © picture-alliance Mozambicans: from "Picturesque Journey in Brazil" by Johann Moritz Rugendas, 1830-1835, Collection of the Biblioteca Nacional, Brazil | Photo: Fine Art Images/Heritage © picture-alliance | Foto: Fine Art Images/Heritage © picture-alliance Despite the constant use of this as ethnographic data, one must question the logic of inserting the Brasilianas as an ipsis litteris [word for word] portrait of the colonial reality of the country. Through an analytic exercise, and also by comparing documentation and artistic images as a whole, there is an immense contradiction: the bodies of the represented black people are healthy and willing to work, even in physically violent conditions and when deprived of food; the social reality is always portrayed as very calm, devoid of conflict or any doubt about the evils of racist colonial enslavement; the scenes are always very organized, without any juxtaposition of people and entirely lacking any trace of rebellions.

The Brasilianas are a good example of how art can be used to crystallize an image about a place or a certain social and historical situation, while reinforcing a social norm. In the case of Brazil, European artists, like the French Jean Baptiste Debret and the German Johann Moritz Rugendas, were responsible for the creation of a colonial Brazilian imaginary which remains to this day. Their records are printed in textbooks and are included in most exhibits about Brazil’s history.

The Eurocentric view has always been taken as “God’s view,” in other words, something impartial seen from a privileged position, detached from reality.


Only very recently have these images begun to be questioned by a group of artists, particularly influenced by decolonial perspectives and black thought and activism. These artists bring to their works the contradictions of the Eurocentric view on the historical reality of Brazil, suggesting that, still in contemporaneity, these scenes are repeated in Brazil by means of updating and refining colonial mechanisms, underscoring that this is still an open wound. It is a diametrically unsubmissive gaze directed at what was produced, attempting to put together a plan of escape from the Eurocentric fantasies about Brazil.

A sustained and complex task weighs on this practice of artistic revision. It is an attempt at disputing the narrative and confronting the European colonial machine that has always held an aesthetic legitimizing power within an artistic tradition. But, moreover, it is a machine that also has the capacity to determine and crystallize representations and knowledge – considering that the Eurocentric view has always been taken as “God’s view,” in other words, something impartial seen from a privileged position, detached from reality.

The task of artists from the Global South is to address their local realities, in many cases destroyed by colonization, but also to highlight that these issues should concern not only to the South, but the entire global community.

When we speak about the decolonial, it is not about being held back by history, but rather something that is happening now and in the future. With the advent, systematization and dissemination of decolonial perspectives, it is impossible, for instance, for the nations that traded the Global South with their agreements to exonerate themselves from this discussion.

Picture wallpaper with Brazilian landscape by Jean-Jacques Deltil from a Motif by Johann Moritz Rugendas Picture wallpaper with Brazilian landscape by Jean-Jacques Deltil from a Motif by Johann Moritz Rugendas | Foto: akg-images © picture alliance Therefore, one of the possible strategies for artists from the South is to carry out a systematic analysis of how, cynically, there is a (re)utilization of the “other” (South) as something local, in other words, that only concerns us from the Global South, whereas Eurocentric perspectives continue referring to themselves as something “global,” as if expressing themselves and composing their works were not coming from their ideas based on a localized view. Even when we underscore the problematic of colonization of the Global South, this issue does not solely concern us. Because, historically, as in the case of the Brasilianas, the view on us was constructed from a Eurocentric point of view.

Koloniale Kunst Südlich der europäischen „Brasiliana”

Bildtapete mit brasilianischer Landschaft von Jean-Jacques Deltil nach Motiv von Johann Moritz Rugendas
Exotisches Brasilien aus Sicht historischer Reisender | Foto (Detail): akg-images © picture alliance

Wie können Künstler*innen im globalen Süden dazu beitragen, den Weg in eine verblassende und manchmal scheinbar in Vergessenheit geratene Vergangenheit zu zeigen? Und dabei die kulturelle, politische, soziale und wirtschaftliche Vision der Region artikulieren und neu definieren?

Von Tiago Sant’Ana

Brasiliana sind Werke, die europäische Reisende schufen, insbesondere im 19. Jahrhundert, um Brasilien für die übrige Welt zu porträtieren. Verkauft wurden diese Werke in Europa aus den unterschiedlichsten Motivationen, fanden aber genauso in Forschungsarbeiten Verwendung, die wissenschaftlichen Rassismus beförderten. Bis heute prägen diese künstlerischen Darstellungen, vor allem Stiche und Fotografien, die Vorstellung über Brasilien aufgrund ihrer angeblich minutiösen und detailreichen Darstellung des kolonialen, kaiserlichen Brasiliens – das geprägt war von der Versklavung schwarzer Menschen und einer zügellosen Ausbeutung des Landes.

Ungeachtet dessen, dass sie ungebrochen als ethnografische Tatsachen gelten, muss der Logik misstraut werden, die Brasiliana zu Abbildern ipsis litteris der kolonialen Realität des Landes erhebt. Eine analytische Betrachtung und auch der Abgleich von anderen Dokumentationen mit jenen künstlerischen Darstellungen fördern große Widersprüche zutage: Die Körper der dargestellten schwarzen Personen sind stets gesund und bei der Arbeit gut aufgelegt, trotz der realen Verhältnisse von körperlicher Gewalt und des Entzugs von Nahrung; die soziale Realität wird immer harmonisch dargestellt, ohne Konflikte und mit keinerlei Zweifel am Makel der rassistischen, kolonialen Sklaverei; die Szenerien sind geordnet, ohne Überlagerung von Personen und ohne jede Spur von Rebellion.

Die Brasiliana sind ein gutes Beispiel dafür, wie Kunst dafür gebraucht werden kann, um ein Bild über einen Ort oder eine bestimmte soziale, historische Situation zu kristallisieren und eine soziale Norm zu verfestigen. Im Fall von Brasilien schufen europäische Künstler wie der Franzose Jean Baptiste Debret oder der Deutsche Johann Moritz Rugendas eine Vorstellung vom kolonialen Brasilien, die bis heute fortdauert. Ihre Werke werden in didaktischen Büchern abgedruckt und sind in den meisten historischen Ausstellungen über Brasilien zu sehen.

Der eurozentrische Blick wird stets als der „Blick Gottes“ gesehen, also als aus einer privilegierten, von der Realität entfernten Position heraus unparteiisch.

Erst in jüngster Zeit beginnt eine Gruppe von künstlerisch tätigen Personen, diesen Bildern zu misstrauen, insbesondere unter dem Einfluss dekolonialer Perspektiven und schwarzen Aktivismen und Einstellungen. Diese Künstlerinnen und Künstler lassen in ihren Werke die Widersprüche des eurozentrischen Blicks auf die historische Wirklichkeit Brasiliens einfließen und zeigen, wie sich durch Aktualisierung und Verfeinerung kolonialer Werkzeuge diese Szenen in Brasilien noch in der Gegenwart wiederholen. Sie stellen heraus, dass die Wunde weiter offen ist. Es ist ein diametral dem Produzierten entgegengesetzter, nicht unterwürfiger Blick, der versucht, einen Weg des  Entkommens aus eurozentrischen Fantasien über Brasilien zu zeichnen.

Mozambicans: from "Picturesque Journey in Brazil" by Johann Moritz Rugendas, 1830-1835, Collection of the Biblioteca Nacional, Brazil | Photo: Fine Art Images/Heritage © picture-alliance Mozambicans: from "Picturesque Journey in Brazil" by Johann Moritz Rugendas, 1830-1835, Collection of the Biblioteca Nacional, Brazil | Photo: Fine Art Images/Heritage © picture-alliance | Foto: Fine Art Images/Heritage © picture-alliance

Auf dieser Praxis künstlerischer Neubewertung liegt der Schwerpunkt einer permanenten, komplexen Aufgabe: Der Versuch, Narrativen entgegenzutreten und sich mit der europäischen kolonialen Maschinerie anzulegen, die innerhalb einer künstlerischen Tradition stets eine ästhetische Legitimationsmacht besaß. Einer Maschinerie, die darüber hinaus auch in der Lage war, Darstellungen und Wissen zu bestimmen und zu verfestigen – der eurozentrische Blick wird stets als der „Blick Gottes“ gesehen, also als aus einer privilegierten, von der Realität entfernten Position heraus unparteiisch.

Die Aufgabe der Künstlerinnen und Künstler des globalen Südens ist, sich mit ihren lokalen, oft von der Kolonisierung zerstörten Realitäten zu beschäftigen, dabei aber hervorzuheben, dass dies nicht nur eine Angelegenheit des Globalen Südens ist, sondern der gesamten Weltgemeinschaft.

Dekolonisierung ist nichts, was irgendwo in der Geschichte ruht, sondern passiert heute und in der Zukunft. Mit dem Entstehen, der Systematisierung und der Verbreitung dekolonialer Perspektiven ist es zum Beispiel unmöglich geworden, dass jene Nationen, die den Globalen Süden mit ihren Abkommen verschachern, sich der Debatte entziehen.

Wallpaper with Brazilian landscape by Jean-Jacques Deltil from a motif by Johann Moritz Rugendas | Photo: akg-images © picture alliance Wallpaper with Brazilian landscape by Jean-Jacques Deltil from a motif by Johann Moritz Rugendas | Photo: akg-images © picture alliance | Foto: akg-images © picture alliance Daher ist eine der möglichen Strategien künstlerisch handelnder Personen des Südens die systematische Analyse dessen, wie es möglich sein kann, dass der „Andere“ (der Süden) zynischerweise (erneut) als lokal angesehen wird, also etwas, das nur uns im Globalen Süden angeht, während die eurozentrischen Perspektiven weiter von sich als „global“ reden, als verbreiteten sie nicht ebenfalls in ihrem Ausdruck und in der Gestaltung Ideen aus einem lokalisierten Blickwinkel heraus. Selbst wenn wir die Problematik der Kolonisierung des Globalen Südens betonen, geht auch dies nicht nur uns etwas an. Denn historisch, wie etwa im Fall der Brasiliana, ist der Blick auf uns aus einer eurozentrischen Perspektive heraus konstruiert.