Vocational training Triggerfish Academy

Triggerfish Academy
Triggerfish Academy | © Video still from the Triggerfish trailer
  • 01. September 2018 — 31. December 2020

  • Postcolonial development cooperation, Postcolonial art production

  • Capetown (South Africa)

A free vocational training in computer animation is included in the project “Triggerfish Academy – Taking African Voices to the World”. The digital learning platform addresses creatives, not only in South Africa but also in all other African countries. Its objective is to counter the industry dominated by Western actors and narratives with local productions and content. In addition to its own black aesthetics, it is about image motifs and stories from the perspective of the African population in the sense of "Decolonize Animation".

The development of the learning platform was implemented by the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ) in partnership with the Goethe-Institut as part of the global project on Culture and Creative Industries of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). Between 2018 and 2020, the potential of the creative sector as a global driver of development will be supported for the first time. The focus of the support is on South Africa, Kenya, Jordan, Iraq and Lebanon as well as Senegal.

In addition to the online training in video courses at the Triggerfish Academy, more than 800 people in South Africa have already been personally trained in numerous events and workshops and networked with the African animation film industry. In addition, animation competitions take place regularly, for which entries have already been received from twelve African countries.

The animation industry has enormous potential for the future, but it is still in its infancy on the African continent. There are excellent job opportunities for animation professionals, not only in the film industry, but also in industries such as advertising, app and web design, architecture, technology, gaming, industrial design, medicine and the automotive industry, as well as augmented reality and virtual reality.

Berufsausbildung Triggerfish Academy

Triggerfish Academy
Triggerfish Academy | © Videostandbild aus dem Triggerfish-Trailer
  • 01. September 2018 — 31. Dezember 2020

  • Postkoloniale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion

  • Kapstadt (Südafrika)

Das Projekt „Triggerfish Academy – Taking African Voices to the World” beinhaltet eine kostenlose Berufsausbildung in Computeranimation. Die digitale Lernplattform wendet sich an Kreative in Südafrika und allen anderen afrikanischen Staaten. Damit sollen der von westlichen Akteur*innen und Narrativen dominierten Branche lokale Produktionen und Inhalte entgegengesetzt werden. Neben einer eigenen schwarzen Ästhetik geht es um Bildmotive und Geschichten aus Sicht der afrikanischen Bevölkerung im Sinne von „Decolonize Animation“.

Die Entwicklung der Lernplattform wurde im Rahmen des Globalvorhabens Kultur und Kreativwirtschaft des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) in Partnerschaft mit dem Goethe-Institut umgesetzt. Zwischen 2018 und 2020 wird damit erstmals das Potenzial der Kreativbranche als weltweiter Entwicklungsmotor unterstützt. Schwerpunkte der Förderung liegen in Südafrika, Kenia, Jordanien, im Irak und Libanon sowie in Senegal.

Neben der Onlineausbildung an der Triggerfish Academy in Videokursen wurden in Südafrika bisher schon mehr als 800 Menschen persönlich in zahlreichen Veranstaltungen und Workshops weitergebildet und mit der afrikanischen Zeichentrickfilmindustrie vernetzt. Zudem finden regelmäßig finden Animationswettbewerbe statt, für die bereits Beiträge aus zwölf afrikanischen Ländern eingegangen sind.
 
Die Animationsbranche hat ein enormes Potenzial für die Zukunft, steckt aber auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent noch in den Kinderschuhen. Nicht nur in der Filmindustrie, auch in Branchen wie Werbung, App- und Webdesign, Architektur, Technik, Gaming, Industriedesign, Medizin und Automobilindustrie sowie Augmented Reality und Virtual Reality bestehen hervorragende Arbeitsmarktchancen für Animationsfachleute.