Panel Discussions Everything passes, except the past

Roundtable-Talk with Karel Arnaut, Grace Ndiritu, Wayne Modest, Dada Kahindo and Ayoko Mensah
Roundtable-Talk with Karel Arnaut, Grace Ndiritu, Wayne Modest, Dada Kahindo and Ayoko Mensah | © Caroline Lessire
  • 01. January 2019 — 31. October 2020

  • Restitution, The role of museums, Colonial legacy, Culture of memory, Postcolonial art production

  • Brussels (Belgium); Lisbon (Portugal); Barcelona (Spain); Bordeaux (France)

The goal of the project “Everything passes, except the past” is to build a network for dealing with colonial objects in European countries. Experts from Belgium, Spain, France and Portugal link their previously isolated discourses on the handling of colonial objects and deal with the subject from an artistic point of view.


Everything Passes Except The Past is the large-scale project of the Goethe-Institut Brussels, in cooperation with the Goethe-Institutes in Belgium, France, Italy, Portugal, Spain and various other partners, such as the Africa Museum Tervuren, L’ISELP (Brussels), Museu Etnològic i de Cultures del Món (Barcelona) Museo Musée d’Aquitaine (Bordeaux) and Culturgest (Lisbon). It focuses on dealing with the colonial heritage in these countries. At the center is the artistic-discursive engagement with a past that remains present in the museums, in the public space and in the picture archives of the region.
 
The project’s title is taken from the book with the same name by Luc Huyse. The Belgian sociologist describes how people, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, come to terms with pain caused by occupation and colonization that refuses to pass. The collective reprossessing of the past is the crux of this project that proves what appears to have passed, does not fade away. To honestly look at the colonial history and its effects on the present means that we have to leave safe ground in order to redefine and rethink power structures we are imposing and reproducing ourselves.
 
For the purposes of the two-year-long-project Everything Passes Except The Past we propose an artistic and discoursive approach to the residues of colonialism, whether that involves monuments or other traces of colonialism in urban space or popular culture, film archives or artefacts acquired by European museums and collectors during the colonial era, for the most part under dubious circumstances. In 2019, four different workshops took place in Brussels, Lisbon, Bordeaux and Barcelona, accompanied by several public events, to gather together knowledge that is widely scattered. The aim is to get an overview of practices and possibilities, and develop a space in which conflicts can be thrashed out without the usual automatic formation of rigid fronts. The results of the research will be presented in a publication and a festival taking place in Turin in October 2020.

Participants: Africa Museum Tervuren (Brussels/Belgium), Art Centre L'ISELP (Belgium), Culturgest (Lisbon/Portugal), Cinemateca Portuguesa (Lisbon/Portugal), Museu Etnològic i de Cultures del Món (Barcelona/Spain), Musée d'Aquitaine (Bordeaux/France), Artist collective Mémoire Coloniale et Lutte contre les Discriminations, Goethe-Institutes in Belgium, France, Italy, Portugal and Spain

Contact person at the Goethe-Institut:
Dr. Jana Haeckel – Project Coordinator, Goethe-Institut Brussels (Belgium)

Podiumsdiskussionen Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit

Roundtable-Talk mit Karel Arnaut, Grace Ndiritu, Wayne Modest, Dada Kahindo und Ayoko Mensah
Roundtable-Talk mit Karel Arnaut, Grace Ndiritu, Wayne Modest, Dada Kahindo und Ayoko Mensah | © Caroline Lessire
  • 01. Januar 2019 — 31. Oktober 2020

  • Restitution, Rolle der Museen, Koloniales Erbe, Kultur der Erinnerung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion

  • Brüssel (Belgien); Lissabon (Portugal); Barcelona (Spanien); Bordeaux (Frankreich)

Ein Netzwerk zum Umgang mit kolonialen Objekten in europäischen Ländern ist das Ziel des Projektes „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“. Expert*innen aus Belgien, Spanien, Frankreich und Portugal verzahnen ihre bislang isolierten Diskurse und setzen sich künstlerisch mit dem Thema auseinander.

Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit ist ein Großprojekt des Goethe-Instituts Brüssel in Zusammenarbeit mit den Goethe-Instituten in Belgien, Frankreich, Italien, Portugal, Spanien und verschiedenen anderen Partnern, wie dem Afrikamuseum Tervuren, L'ISELP (Brüssel), Museu Etnològic i de Cultures del Món (Barcelona) Museo Musée d'Aquitaine (Bordeaux) und Culturgest (Lissabon). Im Mittelpunkt steht der Umgang mit dem kolonialen Erbe in diesen Ländern: als künstlerisch-diskursive Auseinandersetzung mit einer Vergangenheit, die in den Museen, im öffentlichen Raum und in Bildarchiven der Region präsent ist.

Der Titel des Projekts stammt von Luc Huyse. Der belgische Soziologe beschreibt in seinem gleichnamigen Buch, wie Menschen von Afghanistan bis Simbabwe mit den Schmerzen der Besatzung und Kolonisation zurechtkommen. Die kollektive Neubewertung der Vergangenheit ist der Kern dieses Projekts, das beweisen will: Was vergangen zu sein scheint, verblasst nicht. Ein ehrlicher Blick auf die Kolonialgeschichte und deren Auswirkungen auf die Gegenwart bedeutet, dass wir sicheren Boden verlassen müssen, um die Machtstrukturen, die wir weiterhin anwenden und reproduzieren, neu zu definieren und zu überdenken.

Das zweijährige Projekt Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit schlägt einen künstlerischen und diskursiven Umgang mit den Überresten des Kolonialismus vor: mit Denkmälern und anderen Spuren des Kolonialismus im urbanen Raum oder in der Populärkultur, mit Filmarchiven oder Artefakten, die von europäischen Museen und Sammlern während der Kolonialzeit erworben wurden – meist unter zweifelhaften Umständen. 2019 fanden vier verschiedene Workshops in Brüssel, Lissabon, Bordeaux und Barcelona statt, begleitet von mehreren öffentlichen Veranstaltungen, um weit verstreutes Wissen zusammenzutragen. Ziel war es, sich einen Überblick über Praktiken und Möglichkeiten zu verschaffen und einen Raum zu entwickeln, in dem Konflikte ohne die übliche automatische Bildung von starren Fronten ausgetragen werden können. Die Ergebnisse der Forschung werden in einer Publikation zusammengefasst und bei einem Festival in Turin im Oktober 2020 vorgestellt.

Beteiligte: Africa Museum Tervuren (Brüssel/Belgien), Kunstzentrum L’ISELP (Belgien), Culturgest (Lissabon/Portugal), Cinemateca Portuguesa (Lissabon/Portugal), Museu Etnològic i de Cultures del Món (Barcelona/Spanien), Musée d'Aquitaine (Bordeaux/Frankreich), Künstlerkollektiv Mémoire Coloniale et Lutte contre les Discriminations, Goethe-Institute Belgien, Frankreich, Italien, Portugal, Spanien

Verantwortlich im Goethe-Institut: 
Dr. Jana Haeckel – Projektkoordinatorin, Goethe-Institut Brüssel (Belgien)