Exhibitions Amani. On the trail of a colonial reseach station

“German girls in a native village with their teacher. The Wanyakusa Woman proudly shows off her children”: German East Africa / Photo c. 1941 (formerly German colony, now Tanzania)
“German girls in a native village with their teacher. The Wanyakusa Woman proudly shows off her children”: German East Africa / Photo c. 1941 (formerly German colony, now Tanzania) | Photo (detail) From: Helmut and Erna Blenck, Africa in colour. Arranged by Reichskolonialbund, Munich (publishing house Fichte-Verlag) 1941 © picture alliance / akg-images
  • 19. September 2019 — 31. December 2020

  • Postcolonial world order, Colonial legacy, Culture of memory, Postcolonial development cooperation, Postcolonial art production, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Dar es Salaam (Tanzania)

It was considered the pearl of science during German colonial rule: the Amani Biological-Agricultural Research Centre in Tanzania. Ethnologists and artists are exploring the flagship-project of applied scientific research, founded in 1904, culminating in joint exhibitions in Hamburg and Dar es Salaam.


The Amani Biological-Agricultural Research Centre , founded in 1904, was a German flagship-project of applied scientific research in the Tanzanian Usambara highlands. Here – first European and later Tanzanian scientists – conducted research in agriculture and forestry, tropical diseases as well as flora and fauna of the rainforest. Today the former research station houses the Tanzania National Institute for Medical Research.

The exhibition deals with the ambivalent remains of scientific research during German colonial rule, the pearl of which Amani was or should have been. Ethnologists and artists follow the traces of the station - on site, in the lives of those who worked there and in Hamburg collections - and document the often surprising presence of colonial and post-colonial stories.

Exhibition dates and venues:

19th September 2019 to 19th April 2020
MARKK-Museum Hamburg / Germany
(MUSEUM AM ROTHENBAUM – Cultures and Arts of the World)

3rd quarter 2020
National Museum of Tanzania Daressalaam / Tanzania


Organizers: Dr. Peter Mangesho (Director of Amani Research Station, National Institute for Medical Research, Tanzania); Flower Manase (Curator, National Museum of Tanzania); Artists: Evgenia Arbugaeva (Russia), Rehema Chachage (Tanzania), Syowia Kyambi (Kenya), Mariele Neudecker (Great Britain); Prof. Dr. Wenzel Geissler (guest curator, biologist and social anthropologist, University of Oslo)

Contact person at the Goethe-Institut: Frank Werner, Director, Goethe-Institut Dar es Salaam
 

Related articles

Ausstellungen Amani. Auf den Spuren einer kolonialen Forschungsstation

„Deutsche Mädels mit ihrer Lehrerin in einem Eingeborenendorf. Stolz zeigt die Wanyakusa-Frau ihre Kinder“, Foto um 1941, Deutsch-Ostafrika (ehemalige deutsche Kolonie, heute Tansania)
„Deutsche Mädels mit ihrer Lehrerin in einem Eingeborenendorf. Stolz zeigt die Wanyakusa-Frau ihre Kinder“, Foto um 1941, Deutsch-Ostafrika (ehemalige deutsche Kolonie, heute Tansania) | Foto (Detail) aus: Helmut und Erna Blenck „Afrika in Farben“, herausgegeben vom Reichskolonialbund, München (Fichte-Verlag) 1941© picture alliance / akg-images
  • 19. September 2019 — 31. Dezember 2020

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Koloniales Erbe, Kultur der Erinnerung, Postkoloniale Entwicklungs- zusammenarbeit, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Dar es Salaam (Tansania)

Es galt als Perle der deutschen Kolonialwissenschaft: das Biologisch-Agronomische Institut Amani in Tansania. Ethnolog*innen und Kunstschaffende erforschen das 1904 gegründete Vorzeigeprojekt der angewandten wissenschaftlichen Forschung mit gemeinsamen Ausstellungen in Hamburg und Daressalam.


Das Biologisch-Agronomische Institut Amani, gegründet 1904, war ein deutsches Vorzeigeprojekt der angewandten wissenschaftlichen Forschung im tansanischen Usambara-Hochland. Hier wurden – zunächst von europäischen, später von tansanischen Wissenschaftlern – Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Tropenkrankheiten sowie Flora und Fauna des Regenwaldes untersucht. Heute beherbergt die ehemalige Forschungsstation Amani das National Institute for Medical Research Tanzania.

Die Ausstellung beschäftigt sich mit den ambivalenten Überresten der deutschen Kolonialwissenschaft, deren Perle Amani einst war oder sein sollte. Ethnolog*innen und Künstler*innen verfolgen die Spuren der Station – vor Ort, im Leben derer, die dort gearbeitet haben, sowie in Hamburger Sammlungen – und dokumentieren die oft überraschende Gegenwärtigkeit kolonialer und post-kolonialer Geschichten.

Stationen:

19. September 2019 bis 19. April 2020
MARKK-Museum Hamburg / Deutschland
(MUSEUM AM ROTHENBAUM Kulturen und Künste der Welt)
 
3. Quartal 2020
National Museum of Tanzania Daressalaam / Tansania


Beteiligte: Dr. Peter Mangesho (Leiter der Forschungsstation Amani, National Institute for Medical Research, Tansania); Flower Manase (Kuratorin National Museum of Tanzania); Künstler*innen: Evgenia Arbugaeva (Russland), Rehema Chachage (Tansania), Syowia Kyambi (Kenia), Mariele Neudecker (Großbritannien); Prof. Dr. Wenzel Geissler (Gastkurator, Biologe und Sozialanthropologe, Universität Oslo)

Verantwortlich im Goethe-Institut: Frank Werner, Institutsleiter Goethe-Institut Daressalaam

 

Ähnliche Artikel