Culture of Memory The Burden of Memory

German cemetery from the colonial period in Cameroon
German cemetery from the colonial period in Cameroon | Photo (detail): Matthias Graben © picture alliance / imageBROKER
  • 01. March 2018 — 31. December 2020

  • Colonial legacy, Culture of memory, Postcolonial art production, Decolonization, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Yaoundé (Cameroon); Dar es Salaam (Tanzania); Windhoek (Namibia)

In a multidisciplinary cultural week entitled "The Burden of Memory - Considering German Colonial History in Africa", 100 artists from nine nations show how they deal with the colonial past in their countries. The basis for this was an inventory of the cultural perspectives in Cameroon, Namibia, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Togo and Germany.

Experts from the six African countries with a German colonial past and from Germany had previously examined contemporary cultural productions in their own countries that deal with questions of colonial history, the effects of colonialism on contemporary society or national identity. What formats are there? Who are the actors of the cultural scenes? How is the discourse conducted?


Based on the work of the seven experts the brochure German Colonial History in Africa - Artistic and cultural perspectives was produced. Based on this inventory, three curators are putting together a multi-format, multidisciplinary cultural week that is thematically linked to the artists' engagement with the colonial past in their countries. The meeting of the various cultural actors and the presentation of their works will give rise to new project ideas during the week, which can be submitted and implemented in 2020 through a separate project fund.

Participants:
Inventory: Vicensia Shule (Tanzania), Kokou Azamede (Togo), Freddy Sabimbona (Burundi), Eric Ngangare (Rwanda), Jacques Mushaandja (Namibia), Dzekashu McViban (Cameroon), Fabian Lehmann (Germany); Curators: Nontobeko Ntombela (South Africa), Rose Jepkorir Kiptum (Kenya), Princess Marilyn Douala Mangas Bell (Cameroon)

Erinnerungskultur The Burden of Memory

Deutscher Friedhof aus der Kolonialzeit in Kamerun
Deutscher Friedhof aus der Kolonialzeit in Kamerun | Foto (Detail): Matthias Graben © picture alliance / imageBROKER
  • 01. März 2018 — 31. Dezember 2020

  • Koloniales Erbe, Kultur der Erinnerung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Dekolonisierung, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Jaunde (Kamerun); Dar es Salaam (Tansania); Windhoek (Namibia)

100 Kunstschaffende aus neun Nationen zeigen in einer multidisziplinären Kulturwoche mit dem Titel „The Burden of Memory – Considering German Colonial History in Africa“ (Die Last der Erinnerung – Berücksichtigung der deutschen Kolonialgeschichte in Afrika), wie sie sich mit der kolonialen Vergangenheit in ihren Ländern auseinandersetzen. Grundlage dafür war eine Bestandsaufnahme der kulturellen Perspektive in Kamerun, Namibia, Tansania, Rwanda, Burundi, Togo und Deutschland.

Expert*innen aus den sechs afrikanischen Ländern mit deutscher Kolonialvergangenheit und aus Deutschland hatten zuvor in ihren Ländern untersucht, welche zeitgenössischen kulturellen Produktionen sich mit Fragen der Kolonialgeschichte, der Auswirkungen von Kolonialismus auf die heutige Gesellschaft oder die nationale Identität auseinandersetzen. Welche Formate gibt es? Wer sind die Akteure der Kulturszenen? Wie wird der Diskurs geführt? Aus der Arbeit der sieben Expert*innen entstand die Broschüre German Colonial History in Africa – Artistic and cultural perspectives.


Aufbauend auf dieser Bestandsaufnahme stellen drei Kuratorinnen eine mehrformatige multidisziplinäre Kulturwoche zusammen, die thematisch an die Auseinandersetzung von Künstler*innen mit der kolonialen Vergangenheit in ihren Ländern gebunden ist. Aus dem Zusammentreffen der verschiedenen Kulturakteure und der Präsentation ihrer Erzeugnisse entstehen während der Woche neue Projektideen, die eingereicht und 2020 über einen eigenen Projektfonds umgesetzt werden können.

Beteiligte:

Bestandsaufnahme: Vicensia Shule (Tansania), Kokou Azamede (Togo), Freddy Sabimbona (Burundi), Eric Ngangare (Ruanda), Jacques Mushaandja (Namibia), Dzekashu McViban (Kamerun), Fabian Lehmann (Deutschland); Kuratorinnen: Nontobeko Ntombela (Südafrika), Rose Jepkorir Kiptum (Kenia), Princess Marilyn Douala Mangas Bell (Kamerun)