Creative Discourse Counter-Memories

Counter Memories Key Visual
© Goethe-Institut
  • 07. December 2020 — 31. October 2021

  • Culture of memory, Postcolonial art production, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Toronto (Canada)

The conversation series “Counter-Memories” investigates a number of international monuments and places of remembrance whose symbolic significance reveals a great deal about the relationship of civilisations to their history.

To shed light on historical memory in different places, the Goethe-Institutes in North America, the Thomas Mann House in Los Angeles and the Onassis Foundation Los Angeles bring together artists, activists and intellectuals. They convene for illustrated virtual conversations around the topic historical memory complemented by video clips of historical testimonies, pictures and videos.

The project was initiated due to recent protests and interventions around statues of Confederate generals and figures such as Columbus and Bismarck reflecting a yearning to correct and critically re-examine dominant histories and their ongoing legacies in the present.

At the beginning of Counter-Memories the synagogue in Stommeln was a centre piece of the project. It is one of the few places of public Jewish life in Germany that was not destroyed during the 1938 pogroms. In order to create a new perception and attention among the population for this place, the conceptual artist and professor of public art Mischa Kuball illuminated the synagogue over a period of eight weeks. The building cast light on its surroundings like a light sculpture and became a symbol visible from afar. In the following video Kuball takes us to the synagogue in Stommeln near Cologne and tells us the almost forgotten history of this special place. In a conversation with the curator Paul Holdengräber, Kuball provides insights into artistic projects in Stommeln, at the Jewish Museum in Berlin and in Katowice, Poland.

Counter-Memories is a cooperation between the Goethe-Institutes in Canada, Mexico and the USA, the Onassis Foundation Los Angeles and the Thomas Mann House Los Angeles in collaboration with the project Shaping the Past.

Künstlerischer Diskurs Counter-Memories

Counter Memories Key Visual
© Goethe-Institut
  • 07. Dezember 2020 — 31. Oktober 2021

  • Kultur der Erinnerung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Toronto (Kanada)

Die Gesprächsreihe „Counter-Memories“ untersucht internationale Denkmäler und Gedenkstätten, deren symbolische Bedeutung das Verhältnis von Kulturen zu ihrer Geschichte entlarvt.

Um das historische Gedächtnis an verschiedenen Orten zu beleuchten, bringen die Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika, das Thomas-Mann-Haus in Los Angeles und die Onassis Foundation Los Angeles Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Intellektuelle zusammen. Sie treffen sich zu virtuellen Gesprächen zum Thema Erinnerungskultur, die in Videoclips um historische Zeugnisse, Bilder und Videos ergänzt werden. 

Anlass des Projekts sind die jüngsten Proteste und Interventionen rund um Statuen konföderierter Generäle und Persönlichkeiten wie Kolumbus und Bismarck, die den Wunsch widerspiegeln, die vorherrschende Geschichte und ihr fortwährendes Vermächtnis in der Gegenwart zu korrigieren und kritisch zu hinterfragen.

Zum Auftakt des Projekts Counter-Memories stand die Synagoge in Stommeln im Mittelpunkt. Sie ist einer der wenigen Orte des öffentlichen jüdischen Lebens in Deutschland, der während der Pogrome von 1938 nicht zerstört wurde. Um diesem Ort eine neue Wahrnehmung und Aufmerksamkeit in der Bevölkerung zu verschaffen, beleuchtete der Konzeptkünstler und Professor für öffentliche Kunst Mischa Kuball die Synagoge über einen Zeitraum von acht Wochen. Wie eine Lichtskulptur warf das Gebäude Licht auf seine Umgebung und wurde zu einem weithin sichtbaren Symbol. Im folgenden Video führt der Künstler durch die Synagoge in Stommeln bei Köln und erzählt die fast vergessene Geschichte dieses besonderen Ortes. Im Gespräch mit dem Kurator Paul Holdengräber gibt er zudem Einblicke in künstlerische Projekte in Stommeln, im Jüdischen Museum in Berlin und im polnischen Kattowitz.

Counter-Memories ist eine Kooperation zwischen den Goethe-Instituten in Kanada, Mexiko und den USA mit der Onassis Foundation Los Angeles und dem Thomas-Mann-Haus Los Angeles in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projekt Shaping the Past.