Panel Discussions North-Southern Divan

Financed with German funds: the new building of the Congolese University of Goma
Financed with German funds: the new building of the Congolese University of Goma | Photo (detail): Mika Schmidt © picture alliance
  • 01. January 2019 — 31. December 2020

  • Postcolonial world order, Postcolonial development cooperation, Decolonization

  • Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire)

The series of events critically questions German-African relations. The focus is on the discourse on the so-called developing countries as a continuation of Eurocentric colonial thinking on superiority. The thesis: The “civilization of the uncivilized” was followed by the “development of the underdeveloped” in the sub-Saharan Africa region in the post-war period.

The series North-Southern Divan, with lectures and moderated discussions, is dedicated to the German-language discourse on postcolonialism from different perspectives in the humanities, social sciences and economics. The focus is on African-German and European history, literature, politics, economics and culture.

The Topics covered include Africa and the literary discourse of postcolonialism, German African terminologies, postcolonial literature outside the German-speaking linguistic and cultural area or the intercultural memory of (post-) colonial places of remembrance in Germany and Africa.

Representatives of various disciplines discuss these (post-) colonial approaches controversially, also with regard to the key terms “development” and “globalization” in the German-African context.

The focus is on the relationship between development research and postcolonial studies. “Postcolonial Studies” refers to a loosely defined interdisciplinary field of perspectives, theories and methods that deals with the analysis of the non-material dimensions of colonial rule. Accordingly, post-colonial is not limited to a temporal “afterwards” and does not simply describe the situation after the formal end of colonial rule. Postcolonial critique also aims at deconstructing and overcoming patterns of thought and central assumptions of colonial discourse.

Podiumsdiskussionen Nord-Südlicher Divan

Mit deutschen Geldern finanziert: der Neubau der kongolesischen Universität Goma
Mit deutschen Geldern finanziert: der Neubau der kongolesischen Universität Goma | Foto (Ausschnitt): Mika Schmidt © picture alliance
  • 01. Januar 2019 — 31. Dezember 2020

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Postkoloniale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Dekolonisierung

  • Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire)

Die Veranstaltungsreihe „Nord-Südlicher Divan“ hinterfragt kritisch die deutsch-afrikanischen Beziehungen. Im Zentrum steht der Diskurs über die sogenannten Entwicklungsländer als Fortsetzung eurozentrisch kolonialen Überlegenheitsdenkens. Die These: Auf die „Zivilisierung der Unzivilisierten“ folgte in der Region Subsahara-Afrika in der Nachkriegszeit die „Entwicklung der Unterentwickelten“.

Die Reihe Nord-Südlicher Divan mit Vorträgen und moderierten Diskussionsrunden widmet sich dem deutschsprachigen Postkolonialismus-Diskurs aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven der Geistes-, Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf afrikanisch-deutschsprachiger und europäischer Geschichte, Literatur, Politik, Wirtschaft und Kultur.

Themen sind beispielsweise: Afrika und der literarische Postkolonialismus-Diskurs; deutsche Afrikaterminologien; postkoloniale Literatur außerhalb des deutschsprachigen Sprach- und Kulturraums oder die interkulturelle Gedächtniskultur (post-) kolonialer Erinnerungsorte in Deutschland und in Afrika.

Vertreter*innen unterschiedlicher Disziplinen diskutieren diese (post-) kolonialen Ansätze kontrovers auch im Hinblick auf die Schlüsselbegriffe „Entwicklung“ und „Globalisierung“ im deutsch-afrikanischen Kontext. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Verhältnis von Entwicklungsforschung und postkolonialen Studien.

Mit „postcolonial studies“ wird ein nur lose definiertes interdisziplinäres Feld von Perspektiven, Theorien und Methoden bezeichnet, das sich mit der Analyse der nicht-materiellen Dimensionen kolonialer Herrschaft befasst. Demnach erschöpft sich post-kolonial nicht in einem zeitlichen „danach“ und beschreibt nicht einfach die Situation nach dem formalen Ende kolonialer Herrschaft. Postkoloniale Kritik zielt auch auf die Dekonstruktion und Überwindung von Denkmustern und zentralen Annahmen des kolonialen Diskurses.