Art project Echoes of the South Atlantic

Art project: Rethinking the aesthetics of the colony
Art project: Rethinking the aesthetics of the colony | Photo: Hirosuke Kitamura © Studio Musa M. Mattiuzzi
  • 23. April 2018 — 31. December 2021

  • Postcolonial world order, Culture of memory, Postcolonial art production, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Berlin (Germany); Dakar (Senegal); Salvador (Brazil)

What cultural interrelations exist today between Africa and South America, after centuries of European hegemony and colonisation? What might the cultural future of the South Atlantic look like? More than twenty artists and intellectuals from Africa, South America and Europe jointly developed projects in the fields of performance, film, music and visual arts fathoming the potentials of South-South relations.
 

The artistic explorations highlight aspects of cultural connections between Africa, South America and Europe. As a content bracket, a conference was planned on each of the three continents: A conference with the Federal University UFBA in Salvador de Bahia was held in April 2018 and one with the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (House of World Cultures) in Berlin in July 2019. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the digital exhibition Carnival in the Making will conclude the three-year project from 24 April 2021 onwards, replacing the planned third conference in Dakar as part of the Dak'Art 2020 Biennial.

The title Carnival in the Making underlines the processual and fragmentary nature of the works presented, which taken together reveal a lively, multi-layered, carnivalesque cultural scene. Many projects were interrupted by the pandemic and set out on new, improvised paths during the course of the project. The resulting multimedia exhibition includes film contributions, essays, photographs and performances by more than twenty artists and intellectuals from all three continents, among them Musa Mattiuzzi, Gabi Ngcobo and António Ole.

Until the 15th century, the Atlantic was a perceptible border between Africa and Europe on one side and America on the other. The overcoming of this border was followed by the well-known history of “discovery”, colonisation, enslavement, exploitation, migration and wealth in Europe. The exchange between the three continents thus became more dynamic and resulted in a cultural linkage that changed the three continents fundamentally. Meanwhile, the political, cultural and economic constellations have changed and Europe is losing its relative importance. At the same time, the mutual interest and exchange between Africa and South America is increasing.

What about the Atlantic Triangle in the 21st century, asked the conference Echos des Südatlantiks – Über die Zukunft süd-transatlantischer Beziehungen (Echoes of the South Atlantic - 2019 in Berlin. The kick-off conference in Salvador da Bahia (Brazil) in 2018 focused primarily on new historiographies, migration and expulsion, and the civil societies of the future.

Video: The keynote “A Rise in Humanity” by Felwine Sarr 2019 at the conference in Berlin:



Responsible at the Goethe-Institut:
Julian Fuchs and Anja Riedeberger – Project Coordinators in the Goethe-Institut São Paulo (Brazil)

Similar projects

Kunstprojekt Echos des Südatlantiks

Kunstprojekt: Rethinking the aesthetics of the colony
Kunstprojekt: Rethinking the aesthetics of the colony | Foto: Hirosuke Kitamura © Studio Musa M. Mattiuzzi
  • 23. April 2018 — 31. Dezember 2021

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Kultur der Erinnerung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Berlin (Deutschland); Dakar (Senegal); Salvador (Brasilien)

Welche kulturellen Wechselbeziehungen bestehen heute zwischen Afrika und Südamerika, nach Jahrhunderten der europäischen Hegemonie und Kolonialisierung? Wie könnte die kulturelle Zukunft des Südatlantiks aussehen? Mehr als zwanzig Künstler*innen und Intellektuelle aus Afrika, Südamerika und Europa entwickelten unter dem Titel „Echos des Südatlantiks“ gemeinsam Projekte in den Bereichen Performance, Film, Musik und bildende Kunst und loten darin die Potenziale der Süd‑Süd‑Beziehungen aus. 

Die künstlerischen Erkundungen nehmen Aspekte kultureller Verbindungslinien zwischen Afrika, Südamerika und Europa in den Blick. Als inhaltliche Klammer war auf jedem der drei Kontinente eine Konferenz geplant: Im April 2018 fand eine Konferenz mit der Universität UFBA in Salvador de Bahia und im Juli 2019 eine mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin statt. Anstatt einer angedachten dritten Konferenz in Dakar im Rahmen der Biennale Dak’Art 2020 bildet aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie ab 24. April 2021 die digitale Ausstellung Carnival in the Making den Abschluss des dreijährigen Projekts.
 
Der Titel, zu Deutsch „Karneval im Entstehen“, unterstreicht dabei das Prozess- und Fragmenthafte der präsentierten Werke, die gemeinsam ein vielschichtiges, karnevaleskes Kulturtreiben ankündigen. Viele Projekte wurden durch die Pandemie unterbrochen und haben im Projektverlauf neue, improvisierte Wege eingeschlagen. Die entstandene multimediale Ausstellung umfasst filmische Beiträge, Essays, Fotografien und Performances von mehr als zwanzig Künstler*innen und Intellektuellen von allen drei Kontinenten, darunter Musa Mattiuzzi, Gabi Ngcobo und António Ole.

Bis ins 15. Jahrhundert war der Atlantik eine wahrnehmbare Grenze zwischen Afrika und Europa einerseits und Amerika auf der anderen Seite. Der Überwindung dieser Grenze folgte die wohlbekannte Geschichte der „Entdeckungen“: Kolonisierung, Versklavung, Ausbeutung, Migration und Wohlstand in Europa. Die sich durch den Austausch zwischen den drei Kontinenten entwickelnde Dynamik mündete in einer kulturellen Verbindung, die alle drei Kontinente fundamental veränderte. Inzwischen haben sich politische, kulturelle und ökonomische Konstellationen verändert, und Europa verliert seine relative Bedeutung. Zugleich nehmen das gegenseitige Interesse und der Austausch zwischen Afrika und Südamerika zu.

Wie steht es um das Atlantische Dreieck im 21. Jahrhundert, fragte im Rahmen des Projekts die Tagung Echos des Südatlantiks – Über die Zukunft süd-transatlantischer Beziehungen 2019 in Berlin. Bei der Auftaktkonferenz 2018 in Salvador da Bahia (Brasilien) ging es vor allem um neue Historiografien, um Migration und Vertreibung sowie um die Zivilgesellschaften der Zukunft. 

Video: Keynote „A Rise in Humanity“ von Felwine Sarr 2019 auf der Konferenz in Berlin: 



Verantwortlich im Goethe-Institut: 
Julian Fuchs und Anja Riedeberger – Projektkoordinator*innen im Goethe-Institut São Paulo (Brasilien) 

Ähnliche Projekte