Museum cooperation Ethnological Museums Luanda – Berlin

Experts from Angola and Germany discuss the significance of one of the best-known works of African art from the Angolan collection at the Bode Museum in Berlin in 2018: the iconic sculpture of the cultural hero Chibinda Ilunga, founder of the Lunda Kingdom and an important symbol of identity for the Angolan ethnic community of Chokwe. The exhibition "Unvergleichlich: Kunst aus Afrika im Bode-Museum" (Incomparable: Art from Africa in the Bode-Museum) will run until further notice in the Bode-Museum and is part of the transformation process "On the way to the Humboldt Forum".
Experts from Angola and Germany discuss the significance of one of the best-known works of African art from the Angolan collection at the Bode Museum in Berlin in 2018: the iconic sculpture of the cultural hero Chibinda Ilunga, founder of the Lunda Kingdom and an important symbol of identity for the Angolan ethnic community of Chokwe. The exhibition "Unvergleichlich: Kunst aus Afrika im Bode-Museum" (Incomparable: Art from Africa in the Bode-Museum) will run until further notice in the Bode-Museum and is part of the transformation process "On the way to the Humboldt Forum". | Photo (detail): © Goethe-Institut Angola
  • 01. January 2019 — 31. December 2021

  • The role of museums, Colonial legacy, Postcolonial development cooperation

  • Luanda (Angola); Berlin (Germany)

The Ethnological Museum of Berlin houses one of the world's most important and oldest collections of Angolan art. It is closely linked to the collection of the Museu Nacional de Antropologia in Luanda. In 2018, the two museums started a cooperation together with the Goethe-Institut.


The aim of the "Partnership Ethnological Museums Luanda - Berlin" is to establish a cooperation between the two museums, the Museu Nacional de Antropologia (Luanda), the Ethnological Museum of Berlin and the Goethe-Institut, in order to explore the collections of both museums, to interrogate their history as well as to activate the collections for the present with mutual references and jointly developed contents.

What makes this cooperation so special is the fact that it was conceived and planned from the outset together with all the partners involved, and the objectives are clearly defined. During a workshop organized by the Goethe-Institut in Berlin in November 2018 and to which all the partners were invited, the Angolan participants got to look at the Berlin collection, informed themselves about its history, visited the depot and the restoration workshops of the Ethnological Museum as well as various museums in Berlin and finally worked out an action plan for the next three years together.


The fields of work were defined as research into the history of the collections in Luanda and Berlin, restoration, management and infrastructure, cultural mediation and training. This includes the translation of important historical ethnographic documents into Portuguese. Together with members of the societies of origin of the objects, artists from Angola and Germany will also develop a project on the history of the collections and their objects. An extension of the cooperation beyond the year 2021 is planned.

Experts involved:

Dr. Ziva Domingos
Álvaro Jorge
Dr. Beatrix Heintze
PD Dr. Paola Ivanov

Responsible at the Goethe-Institut:

Gabriele Stiller-Kern, Director of the Goethe-Institut Luanda

Museumskooperation Partnerschaft „Ethnologische Museen Luanda – Berlin“

Fachleute aus Angola und Deutschland diskutieren 2018 im Berliner Bode-Museum die Bedeutung eines der bekanntesten Werke afrikanischer Kunst aus der angolanischen Sammlung: die ikonische Skulptur des Kulturhelden Chibinda Ilunga, Begründer des Lunda Königreichs und eine wichtige Identifikationsfigur der angolanischen Ethnie der Chokwe. Die Ausstellung „Unvergleichlich: Kunst aus Afrika im Bode-Museum” läuft bis auf Weiteres im Bode-Museum und ist Teil des Transformationsprozesses „Auf dem Weg zum Humboldt Forum“.
Fachleute aus Angola und Deutschland diskutieren 2018 im Berliner Bode-Museum die Bedeutung eines der bekanntesten Werke afrikanischer Kunst aus der angolanischen Sammlung: die ikonische Skulptur des Kulturhelden Chibinda Ilunga, Begründer des Lunda Königreichs und eine wichtige Identifikationsfigur der angolanischen Ethnie der Chokwe. Die Ausstellung „Unvergleichlich: Kunst aus Afrika im Bode-Museum” läuft bis auf Weiteres im Bode-Museum und ist Teil des Transformationsprozesses „Auf dem Weg zum Humboldt Forum“. | Foto (Detail): © Goethe-Institut Angola
  • 01. Januar 2019 — 31. Dezember 2021

  • Rolle der Museen, Koloniales Erbe, Postkoloniale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit

  • Luanda (Angola); Berlin (Deutschland)

Im Ethnologischen Museum Berlin befindet sich eine der weltweit bedeutendsten und ältesten Sammlungen angolanischer Kunst. Sie ist eng mit der Sammlung des Museu Nacional de Antropologia in Luanda verbunden. 2018 starteten die beiden Museen gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut eine Kooperation.


Ziel der „Partnerschaft Ethnologische Museen Luanda – Berlin“, einer Kooperation zwischen dem Goethe-Institut Angola, dem Museu Nacional de Antropologia (Luanda) und dem Ethnologischen Museum Berlin, ist die Erforschung der Sammlungen beider Museen, die Befragung ihrer Geschichte sowie deren Aktivierung für die Gegenwart mit wechselseitigen Bezügen und gemeinsam erarbeiteten Inhalten.

Das Besondere der Zusammenarbeit ist, dass sie von Beginn an gemeinsam mit allen beteiligten Partnern konzipiert und geplant wurde und sehr konkret angelegt ist. Während eines Workshops, zu dem das Goethe-Institut im November 2018 nach Berlin eingeladen hatte, lernten die angolanischen Kolleg*innen die Berliner Sammlung kennen, informierten sich über deren Geschichte, besuchten das Depot und die Restaurierungswerkstätten des Ethnologischen Museums sowie diverse Berliner Museen und erarbeiteten schließlich gemeinsam einen Aktionsplan für die kommenden drei Jahre.


Als Arbeitsfelder wurden die Forschung zur Geschichte der Sammlungen in Luanda und Berlin, Restaurierung, Management und Infrastruktur, kulturelle Vermittlung und Ausbildung festgelegt. Dazu gehört konkret die Übersetzung wichtiger historischer, ethnografischer Dokumente ins Portugiesische. Gemeinsam mit Angehörigen aus den Herkunftsgesellschaften der Objekte sollen außerdem Kunstschaffende aus Angola und Deutschland ein Projekt zur Geschichte der Sammlungen und ihrer Objekte entwickeln. Eine Verlängerung der Kooperation über das Jahr 2021 hinaus ist vorgesehen.

Beteiligte Expert*innen:

Dr. Ziva Domingos
Álvaro Jorge
Dr. Beatrix Heintze
PD Dr. Paola Ivanov

Verantwortlich im Goethe-Institut:

Gabriele Stiller-Kern, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Luanda