Theater performances Fear & Fever

Scene from the performance "Fear & Fever"
Scene from the performance "Fear & Fever" | Photo (detail): Lea Dietrich © Fear & Fever
  • 26. September 2019 — 19. June 2020

  • Postcolonial world order, Postcolonial development cooperation, Postcolonial art production

  • Dar es Salaam (Tanzania); Bagamoyo (Tanzania); Arusha (Tanzania); Berlin (Germany); Hamburg (Germany); Kassel (Germany); Aarau (Switzerland)

The project "Fear & Fever" is a form of postcolonial development cooperation in malaria research. It is an international and interdisciplinary co-production of Tanzania, Germany and Switzerland. The stage performance focuses on the inequality still evident in research and treatment of malaria in Africa and Europe and will be shown at eight theatres in the participating countries until 2020.

Under the working title Malaria 'Heal the World', a "theatre science laboratory" was created, which will result in numerous performances in 2019 and 2020. The main partners in the project are ASEDEVA (Arts for Social and Economic Development in Africa) from Dar es Salaam and Flinn Works from Berlin. Since 2009 the German company has been working on current topics of the globalized world with postcolonial and feminist questions. Just like all of the company's plays, Fear & Fever is based on intensive research and uses the political and aesthetic attitudes of international performers for a multi-perspective dramaturgy. The production develops its form as a consequence of the content and the specific talents of the team: at the interface between ethnology, music and documentary theatre.


Inspired by debates on diseases, medicine and belief systems, Flinn Works (Berlin) and Asedeva (Dar es Salaam) explore the unequal world of malaria in this theatre science laboratory. Clinical studies are combined with historical reviews, choreographies and TED conversations.

The audience is confronted with the contradictory politics of malaria research and treatment. Based on individual experiences and research, the performance becomes the guiding principle of a journey through decades and continents, creating an atmosphere that changes "between high-tech laboratory, village square and fever dream".

 
Performance venues

Germany

26th (premiere) to 29th September 2019 Berlin: Sophiensäle; 8th and 9th October 2019 Hamburg: Museum am Rothenbaum (in cooperation with the Lichthoftheater); 11th and 12th October 2019 Kassel: Staatstheater

Tansania
23rd October to 5th November 2019: traveling theather:

Dar es Salaam: Little Theatre and Nafasi Arts Space, Bagamoyo: Bagamoyo Festival, Arusha: Ibuka Dance Foundation Arusha

Switzerland
17th to 19th June 2020 Aarau: Theatre Tuchlaube


Contact person at the Goethe-Institut: Frank Werner, Director, Goethe-Institut Tanzania

Theateraufführungen Fear & Fever

Szene aus der Performance „Fear & Fever“
Szene aus der Performance „Fear & Fever“ | Foto (Detail): Lea Dietrich © Fear & Fever
  • 26. September 2019 — 19. Juni 2020

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Postkoloniale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion

  • Dar es Salaam (Tansania); Bagamoyo (Tansania); Arusha (Tansania); Berlin (Deutschland); Hamburg (Deutschland); Kassel (Deutschland); Aarau (Schweiz)

Als postkoloniale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in der Malariaforschung versteht sich das Projekt „Fear & Fever“. Es handelt sich um eine internationale und interdisziplinäre Koproduktion von Tansania, Deutschland und der Schweiz. Die Bühnenperformance thematisiert die noch immer ungleiche Malariaforschung und ‑behandlung in Afrika und Europa und wird bis 2020 an acht Theatern in den beteiligten Ländern gezeigt.

Unter dem Arbeitstitel Malaria ‚Heal the World‘ entstand ein „Theater-Science-Labor“, das 2019 und 2020 zahlreiche Aufführungen erlebt. Hauptakteure des Projekts sind ASEDEVA (Arts for Social and Economic Development in Africa) aus Dar es Salaam und Flinn Works aus Berlin. Die deutsche Kompanie arbeitet seit 2009 an aktuellen Themen der globalisierten Welt mit postkolonialen und feministischen Fragestellungen. Wie alle Stücke der Kompanie basiert auch Fear & Fever auf intensiver Recherche und nutzt die politischen und ästhetischen Haltungen der internationalen Performer*innen für eine multiperspektivische Dramaturgie. Die Produktion entwickelt ihre Form als Konsequenz aus dem Inhalt und den spezifischen Talenten des Teams: an der Schnittstelle zwischen Ethnologie, Musik- und Dokumentartheater.


Inspiriert von Debatten über Krankheiten, Medizin und Glaubenssysteme erforschen Flinn Works (Berlin) und Asedeva (Dar es Salaam) in diesem theaterwissenschaftlichen Labor die ungleiche Welt der Malaria. Klinische Studien werden kombiniert mit historischen Rückblicken, Choreografien und TED-Gesprächen.

Das Publikum sieht sich mit der widersprüchlichen Politik der Malariaforschung und -behandlung konfrontiert. Ausgehend von individuellen Erfahrungen und Forschungen wird die Performance zum Leitgedanken einer Reise durch Jahrzehnte und Kontinente und schafft eine Atmosphäre, die „zwischen Hightech-Labor, Dorfplatz und Fiebertraum“ wechselt.

Stationen

Deutschland
26. September 2019 (Premiere) bis 29. September 2019 Berlin: Sophiensäle; 8. und 9. Oktober 2019 Hamburg: Museum am Rothenbaum (in Kooperation mit dem Lichthoftheater); 11. und 12. Oktober 2019 Kassel: Staatstheater (tif)

Tansania
23. Oktober bis 5. November 2019 Theatertournee
Dar es Salaam: Little Theatre und Nafasi Arts Space, Bagamoyo: Bagamoyo Festival, Arusha: Ibuka Dance Foundation Arusha

Schweiz
17. bis 19. Juni 2020 Aarau: Theater Tuchlaube

Verantwortlich im Goethe-Institut: Frank Werner, Institutsleiter Goethe-Institut Tansania