Theater performances The River in the Belly

Theatre production "River in the belly" in Kinshasa
Theatre production "River in the belly" in Kinshasa | Photo (video still): © Mdumisi Nxele
  • 01. March 2019 — 06. July 2019

  • Postcolonial world order, Postcolonial art production, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Kinshasa (Republik Kongo); Graz (Austria); Mannheim (Germany); Vienna (Austria)

In the play Fluss im Bauch (River in the belly), the powerful Congo River serves as a metaphor for the post-colonial Congolese attitude to life. The river was the transport route for the exploitation of the country and now symbolizes life and identity, but also renewed threats from poverty, corruption and crime.

The play Fluss im Bauch (River in the belly) is based on the text of the same name by Fiston Mwanza Mujila, to which the Congolese writer has added a few new passages for the stage production. Mwanza Mujila writes about contemporary life in the Congo and the current problems of the people who live on the shores of the Congo River.

The German-Austrian-Congolese cooperation deconstructs the European view of the colonial period in the Congo. The river is no longer portrayed as a backdrop or as the "Other", which is covered with racist stereotypes: as darkness, the black, the dark, the wild, the untamed, the unknown, the threatening, the non-penetrating - a place where nature is thousands of years old, but man without history. The postcolonial gaze enables more fluid forms of encounter, a flow into one another, the disposal or at least liquefaction of the dictum of the "Other".

The play was developed during a 7-week rehearsal phase in Spring 2019 followed by a premiere in Kinshasa. In June and July 2019 performances took place at the Schauspielhaus Vienna, in Graz and at the Nationaltheater Mannheim.
 
Participants:
Goethe-Institut Kinshasa (Congo), Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Congo), German-Austrian-Congolese cooperation: director (Austria), choreography (Congo), drama (Germany/Austria/Congo), dance (Congo), music (Congo), dramaturgy (Germany) and set (Austria)

Team
Author: Fiston Mwanza Mujila
Director: Carina Riedl
Dramaturgy: Kerstin Grübmeyer
Production Management: Stephan Werner
Choreography: Dorine Mokha
Music: Huguette Tolinga Lola
Video: Nelson Makengo
Costume, stage: Otto Krause
Performance: Dada Kahindo; Nicolas van Diepen; Magdalena Chowaniec
Production: Astrid Matron, Goethe-Institut Kinshasa

Theateraufführungen Fluss im Bauch

Theaterproduktion „Fluss im Bauch“ in Kinshasa
Theaterproduktion „Fluss im Bauch“ in Kinshasa | Foto (Videostandbild): © Mdumisi Nxele
  • 01. März 2019 — 06. Juli 2019

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Kinshasa (Demokratische Republik Kongo); Graz (Österreich); Mannheim (Deutschland); Wien (Österreich)

Der mächtige Kongo dient im Theaterstück „Fluss im Bauch“ als Metapher für das postkoloniale kongolesische Lebensgefühl. Der Strom war der Transportweg zur Ausbeutung des Landes und symbolisiert inzwischen Leben und Identität, aber auch erneute Bedrohungen durch Armut, Korruption und Kriminalität.
 

Das Theaterstück Fluss im Bauch basiert auf dem gleichnamigen Text von Fiston Mwanza Mujila, den der kongolesische Autor für die Inszenierung noch um einige neue Passagen ergänzt hat. Mwanza Mujila schreibt darin über das heutige Leben am Kongo und die gegenwärtigen Probleme der Menschen, die an seinen Ufern leben.

Die deutsch-österreichisch-kongolesische Kooperation dekonstruiert die europäische Sichtweise auf die Kolonialzeit im Kongo. Der Fluss wird nicht mehr als Kulisse oder das mit rassistischen Stereotypen belegte „Andere“ dargestellt: als die Finsternis, das Schwarze, das Dunkel, das Wilde, Ungezähmte, das Unbekannte, Bedrohliche, Nicht-Zu-Durchdringende – ein Ort, an dem die Natur jahrtausendealt ist, der Mensch jedoch ohne Geschichte. Der postkoloniale Blick ermöglicht fluidere Formen des Aufeinandertreffens, ein Ineinanderfließen, das Entsorgen oder zumindest Verflüssigen des Diktums des „Anderen“.

Während einer 7-wöchigen Probenphase mit anschließender Premiere wurde das Stück im Frühjahr 2019 in Kinshasa erarbeitet. Im Juni und Juli 2019 fanden Aufführungen am Schauspielhaus Wien, in Graz und am Nationaltheater Mannheim statt.

Beteiligte: Goethe-Institut Kinshasa (Kongo), Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Kongo), deutsch-österreichisch-kongolesische Kooperation: Regie (Österreich), Choreographie (Kongo), Schauspiel (Deutschland/Österreich/Kongo), Tanz (Kongo), Musik (Kongo), Dramaturgie (Deutschland) und Ausstattung (Österreich)

Team
Autor: Fiston Mwanza Mujila
Regie: Carina Riedl
Dramaturgie: Kerstin Grübmeyer
Produktionsleitung: Stephan Werner
Choreografie: Dorine Mokha
Musik: Huguette Tolinga Lola
Video: Nelson Makengo
Kostüm, Bühne: Otto Krause
Performance: Dada Kahindo; Nicolas van Diepen; Magdalena Chowaniec
Produktion: Astrid Matron, Goethe-Institut Kinshasa