Provenance Research International Inventories Programme

Dennis Opudo, Head of the Anthropological Department of the Nairobi National Museum, in the Museum's Ethnographic Collection
Dennis Opudo, Head of the Anthropological Department of the Nairobi National Museum, in the Museum's Ethnographic Collection | Photo (detail): Gioia Forster © picture alliance
  • 01. January 2019 — 31. December 2021

  • Restitution, Provenance research, The role of museums, Postcolonial art production, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Nairobi (Kenya); Cologne (Germany); Frankfurt am Main (Germany)

The international research, database and exhibition project “International Inventories Programme” (IIP) focuses on Kenyan artefacts that have been held in museums and collections outside the country since colonial times. More than 32,500 objects have so far been identified. In addition to building a database of these objects, researching the history of their acquisition, artistic debates and exhibitions are scheduled to take place in Kenya and Germany.

How can Kenyan cultural assets that are in the possession of cultural institutions - for instance in Europe and the USA - also be made accessible in Kenya? This question is the focus of the International Inventories Programme (IIP). The main objective of the global inventory is to explore and make transparent the extent and acquisition history of Kenyan (objects) currently held in museums outside the country. As of 24th February 2021 it had been established that at least 32,501 Kenyan artefacts are currently not in their country of origin, but in Germany, Great Britain, Sweden, Belgium, USA, Italy and France.

In addition to the scientific recording of the artefacts, the history of their reception abroad, the role that the objects play there and the stories they tell will also be examined. Artists, museum professionals and researchers from the participating countries will jointly examine the “translocation” of objects from Kenya to Europe. What memories have these objects or their absence left behind? How were knowledge production and transfer influenced or transformed? 

The results of this process will be presented in the exhibition series Invisible Inventories, which will open at the Nairobi National Museum on 17 March 2021 – in the absence of the historical Kenyan objects. The Kenya collections will be visualised subsequently in the exhibitions of the Rautenstrauch-Joest Museum in Cologne from 27 May 2021 and the Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt am Main from 5 October 2021. The connecting element of the exhibitions is the joint research work of the past two years and current positions by the artist collectives The Nest and SHIFT.

The exhibition project Invisible Inventories is funded by the German General Cultural Foundation.

Project participants

The National Museums of Kenya
Juma Ondeng’(Research Scientist)
Lydia Nafula (Research Scientist)
Njeri Gachihi (Research Scientist)
Philemon Nyamanga (Research Scientist)
 
Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum, Köln
Dr. Clara Himmelheber (Head of the African Collections)

Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt
Leonie Neumann (Assistant Head of the Africa Collection)
Frauke Gathof(Research Assistant of the Africa Collection)
Julia Friedel (Head of the Africa Collection)

SHIFT Collective
Sam Hopkins (Artist)
Dr. Marian Nur Goni (Research Scientist)
Simon Rittmeier (Artist)
 
The Nest Collective
Jim Chuchu (Director)
Dr. Njoki Ngumi (Head of Learning and Development)
 
 
External experts
Kiprop Lagat
George Gachara
George Abungu
Nanette Snoep
Freda Nkirote M’mbogori
Bénédicte Savoy

Provenienzforschung International Inventories Programme

Dennis Opudo, der Leiter der Anthropologischen Abteilung des Nairobi Nationalen Museums, in der ethnografischen Sammlung des Museums
Dennis Opudo, der Leiter der Anthropologischen Abteilung des Nairobi Nationalen Museums, in der ethnografischen Sammlung des Museums | Foto (Detail): Gioia Forster © picture alliance
  • 01. Januar 2019 — 31. Dezember 2021

  • Restitution, Provenienzforschung, Rolle der Museen, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Nairobi (Kenia); Köln (Deutschland); Frankfurt am Main (Deutschland)

Das internationale Forschungs-, Datenbank- und Ausstellungsprojekt  „International Inventories Programme“ (IIP) erfasst kenianische Kunstwerke, die sich seit der Kolonialzeit in Museen und Sammlungen außerhalb Kenias befinden. Bisher sind bereits mehr als 32.500 Objekte bekannt. Neben dem Aufbau einer Datenbank dieser Artefakte und der Erforschung der Erwerbsgeschichte finden künstlerische Auseinandersetzungen sowie Ausstellungen in Kenia und Deutschland statt.

Wie können kenianische Kulturgüter, die sich im Besitz von Kulturinstitutionen –  etwa in Europa und den USA – befinden, auch in Kenia zugänglich gemacht werden? Diese Frage beschäftigt das International Inventories Programme (IIP). Den Umfang und die Erwerbsgeschichte kenianischer Objekte in Museen und Sammlungen außerhalb Kenias zu erforschen und transparent zu machen, ist das Hauptanliegen der globalen Inventur. Mindestens 32.501 kenianische Objekte befinden sich gegenwärtig (Stand der Datenbank am 24. Februar 2021) nicht mehr in ihrem Ursprungsland, sondern in Deutschland, Großbritannien, Schweden, Belgien, USA, Italien und Frankreich.

Neben der wissenschaftlichen Erfassung der Kunstwerke geht es auch um die Rezeptionsgeschichte im Ausland, welche Rolle die Objekte dort spielen und welche Geschichten sie erzählen. Kunstschaffende, Museumsfachleute und Forscher*innen aus den beteiligten Ländern untersuchen gemeinsam die „Translokation“ bedeutender Objekte von Kenia nach Europa. Welche Erinnerungen haben diese Objekte beziehungsweise deren Lücken zurückgelassen? Wie wurden Wissensproduktion und -vermittlung dadurch beeinflusst oder transformiert? 

Die Ergebnisse dieses Prozesses werden in der Ausstellungsserie Invisible Inventories präsentiert, die am 17. März 2021 im Nationalmuseum Nairobi eröffnet – in Abwesenheit der historischen kenianischen Objekte. Anschließend werden in den Ausstellungen des Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museums in Köln ab 27. Mai 2021 und des Weltkulturen Museum in Frankfurt am Main ab 5. Oktober 2021 die Kenia-Sammlungen sichtbar gemacht, die zu großen Teilen erstmals öffentlich zu sehen sind. Verbindendes Element der Ausstellungen sind die gemeinsame Forschungsarbeit der vergangenen zwei Jahre und aktuelle Positionen der Künstler*innenkollektive The Nest und SHIFT. 

Das Ausstellungsprojekt Invisible Inventories wird gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Projektbeteiligte

The National Museums of Kenya
Juma Ondeng’(wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter)
Lydia Nafula (wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin)
Njeri Gachihi (wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin)
Philemon Nyamanga (wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter)
 
Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum, Köln
Dr. Clara Himmelheber (Leiterin der Afrikanischen Sammlungen)

Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt
Leonie Neumann (stellvertretende Leiterin der Afrika-Abteilung)
Frauke Gathof(wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Afrika-Abteilung)
Julia Friedel (Leiterin der Afrika-Abteilung)

SHIFT
Sam Hopkins (Künstler)
Dr. Marian Nur Goni (Wissenschaftlerin)
Simon Rittmeier (Künstler)
 
The Nest
Jim Chuchu (Direktor)
Dr. Njoki Ngumi(Leiter der Abteilung Lernen und Entwicklung)
 
externe Expert*innen
Kiprop Lagat
George Gachara
George Abungu
Nanette Snoep
Freda Nkirote M’mbogori
Bénédicte Savoy