Exhibition series Izwe: Plant Praxis

Detail of Isabel Katjavivi's Installation “Unearthing”
Detail of Isabel Katjavivi's Installation “Unearthing” | Photo (detail): Masimba Sasa
  • 28. March 2019 — 29. February 2020

  • Postcolonial world order, Postcolonial art production

  • Windhoek (Namibia); Johannesburg (South Africa)

MADEYOULOOK – a Johannesburg based interdisciplinary artist collaborative between Nare Mokgotho and Molemo Moiloa – brings into conversation, artists whose work explores the manifold psycho-social elements of land politics in the form of an exhibition series “Izwe: Plant Praxis“.

The first exhibition “Territorios”, explored questions of rural and urban territory for land workers and for artists in Johannesburg, Bogota, Mexico City, Bamako, Douala and Bishkek. The sociability of decolonial relationships to plant life and land, and potential learnings from the global south for South Africa’s land debates, is considered.

The second installation “Unearthing” featured the work of Isabel Tueumuna Katjavivi, who explores soil as an entity that retains memory and stands witness, in remembrance to those killed in the OvaHerero and Nama Genocides in Namibia during the colonial period. Katjavivi considers the contemporary resonances of dispossession and trauma in today’s Namibia.

The third show “Trees, Vines, Palms and Other Architectural Monuments” is by Paulo Tavares (Brazil) who conducted research to map sites of Xavante villages to provide evidence of their existence prior to dispossession. Trees that grew out of the former villages provide botanic formations as archaeological sites that start to probe relations between natural and cultural landscapes and systems of knowledge.

The final exhibition is of Sangwoodgoon's Farmers Almanac and other projects. Sangwoodgoon are an artist/farmers collective in Hong Kong that challenge the neo-liberalisation of all forms of Hong Kong life and claim space for food production and sociality the emerges through the land.
 
Video zur Ausstellung „Territorios“
© Mdumisi Nxele

Ausstellungsreihe Izwe: Plant Praxis

Detail aus Isabel Katjavivis Installation „Unearthing“
Detail aus Isabel Katjavivis Installation „Unearthing“ | Foto (Detail): Masimba Sasa
  • 28. März 2019 — 29. Februar 2020

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion

  • Windhoek (Namibia); Johannesburg (Südafrika)

MADEYOULOOK – eine interdisziplinäre Künstler*innenkooperation zwischen Nare Mokgotho und Molemo Moiloa in Johannesburg – bringt Künstler ins Gespräch, deren Arbeit die vielfältigen psychosozialen Elemente der Bodenpolitik in Form einer Ausstellungsreihe izwe: plant praxis untersucht.

Die erste Ausstellung „Territorios“ beschäftigte sich mit Fragen des ländlichen und städtischen Territoriums für Landarbeiter*innen und Künstler*innen in Johannesburg, Bogota, Mexico-Stadt, Bamako, Douala und Bischkek. Die Sozialisierbarkeit dekolonialer Beziehungen zu Pflanzen und Land sowie mögliche Erkenntnisse aus dem globalen Süden für die Landdebatten Südafrikas wurden berücksichtigt.

Die zweite Installation „Unearthing“ zeigte die Arbeit von Isabel Tueumuna Katjavivi, die den Boden als eine Einheit erkundet, die Erinnerung bewahrt und Zeugnis ablegt, in Erinnerung an die Opfer der Völkermorde unter den Herero und Nama in Namibia während der Kolonialzeit. Katjavivi betrachtet die zeitgenössischen Resonanzen von Enteignung und Trauma im heutigen Namibia.

Die dritte Ausstellung „Bäume, Reben, Palmen und andere architektonische Denkmäler“ stammt von Paulo Tavares (Brasilien), der die Standorte der Xavante-Dörfer untersucht hat, um ihre Existenz vor der Enteignung nachzuweisen. Bäume, die aus den ehemaligen Dörfern entstanden sind, bieten botanische Formationen als archäologische Stätten, die beginnen, die Beziehungen zwischen Natur- und Kulturlandschaften und Wissenssystemen zu untersuchen.

Die letzte Ausstellung zeigt Sangwoodgoons Farmers Almanac und andere Projekte. Sangwoodgoon ist ein Künstlerkollektiv in Hongkong, das die Neoliberalisierung aller Formen des Lebens in Hongkong herausfordert und Raum für Nahrungsmittelproduktion und Sozialität beansprucht, die durch das Land entstehen.
 
Video zur Ausstellung „Territorios“
© Mdumisi Nxele