Creative Discourse Museum Nullius

Latitude –Museum Nullius, a performance by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lustgarten, Berlin, August 2019
Museum Nullius, a performance by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lustgarten, Berlin, August 2019 | © Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez. Image: Nicolás Gombinsky
  • 01. August 2019 — 31. December 2024

  • Restitution, Provenance research, Decolonisation

  • Lima (Peru); Berlin (Germany)

The project is part of the experimental research project DecolonizeM21, which is dedicated to the contents and contextualisation of the exhibition module 21 at the Humboldt Forum in Berlin, which features archaeological objects from contemporary Peru. The “Museum Nullius” (empty museum) is a symbolic return of 56,199 objects to Peru from the ethnographic collection of the Berlin Humboldt Forum.

The DecolonizeM21 (“Intervention M 21: Am Humboldtstrom – Sammeln im 19. Jahrhundert” /“The Humboldt Current - Collections in the 19th Century") working group consists of nine predominantly Latin American artists. The experimental research project is a co-operation between the National Museums in Berlin - Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation and the Institute for Art in Context at the Berlin University of the Arts, which is funded by the German Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

The Museum Nullius sub-project began with a performance in the Humboldt Forum's Lustgarten, in which copies of the objects belonging to Peru were cut out of the collection's photo archive over a two-week period. Based on the audience's feedback on this performance, artist Natalia Rodriguez Ramirez from Bogotá, who is currently completing her master's degree at the Berlin University of the Arts in the Institute for Art in Context, wished to learn about public opinion in Berlin regarding restitution of the cultural heritage of countries with a colonial past. The fundamental question was: should they stay or be sent back?

In a second step, online surveys were conducted in Peru as an alternative to the originally planned workshops that could not be held due to the Covid-19 pandemic. These inquired about Peruvians' positions on the objects in Berlin, their current cultural value and the need for re-socialisation in the event of their return. The surveys gathered the views of more than 60 people in the form of texts and voice notes that touched on topics such as education, conservation and tradition.

In collaboration with the Vichama Theatre in Villa el Salvador and with the support of the Goethe Institut Lima, a photo intervention in public space was created, revealing Peruvians' opinions and cultural connections with their cultural heritage and on the possible return of the objects to Peru.

Based on this metaphor of return, in which the art of America, Asia, Oceania and Africa goes back to its places of origin, the museum becomes an empty museum, a Museum Nullius. The documentation of the project and the results of the interventions will be presented in the form of a video in Module 21 of the Humboldt Forum.
  • Latitude – Museum Nullius, a performance by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lustgarten, Berlin, August 2019 © Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez. Image: Nicolás Gombinsky
    Museum Nullius, a performance by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lustgarten, Berlin, August 2019
  • Latitude –Museum Nullius, a performance by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lustgarten, Berlin, August 2019 © Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez. Image: Nicolás Gombinsky
    Museum Nullius, a performance by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lustgarten, Berlin, August 2019
  • Latitude – Still from the video “Museum Nullius”, 2019/2020, by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez © Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez
    Still from the video “Museum Nullius”, 2019/2020, by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez
  • Latitude – “Museum Nullius”, a videoinstallation by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, 2019-2020, installationview © Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez
    “Museum Nullius”, a videoinstallation by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, 2019-2020, installationview
  • Latitude – “Museum Nullius”, poster intervention in public space by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lima, 2020, street view © Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez. Image: Andrés García González
    “Museum Nullius”, poster intervention in public space by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lima, 2020, street view
  • Latitude – “Museum Nullius”, poster intervention in public space by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lima, 2020, street view © Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez. Image: Andrés García González
    “Museum Nullius”, poster intervention in public space by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lima, 2020, street view
  • Latitude – “Museum Nullius”, poster intervention in public space by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lima, 2020, street view © Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez. Image: Andrés García González
    “Museum Nullius”, poster intervention in public space by Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lima, 2020, street view

Similar projects

Künstlerischer Diskurs Museum Nullius

Latitude –Museum Nullius, eine Performance von Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lustgarten, Berlin, August 2019
Museum Nullius, eine Performance von Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez, Lustgarten, Berlin, August 2019 | © Natalia Rodríguez Ramírez. Foto: Nicolás Gombinsky
  • 01. August 2019 — 31. Dezember 2024

  • Restitution, Provenienzforschung, Dekolonisierung

  • Lima (Peru); Berlin (Deutschland)

Das Projekt ist Teil des experimentellen Studienprojekts DecolonizeM21, das sich den Inhalten und der Kontextualisierung des Ausstellungsmoduls 21 im Berliner Humboldt Forum widmet, welches archäologische Gegenstände aus dem heutigen Peru zeigt. Es handelt sich beim „Museum Nullius“ (leeres Museum) um eine symbolische Rückgabe von 56.199 Objekten aus der ethnografischen Sammlung des Berliner Humboldt Forums an Peru.

Die Arbeitsgruppe von DecolonizeM21 („Intervention M 21: Am Humboldtstrom – Sammeln im 19. Jahrhundert“) besteht aus neun vorwiegend lateinamerikanischen Künstler*innen. Das experimentelle Studienprojekt ist eine Kooperation der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin – Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz und des Instituts für Kunst im Kontext der Universität der Künste Berlin, welches durch den Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien gefördert wird.

Das Teilprojekt Museum Nullius begann mit einer Performance im Lustgarten des Humboldt Forums, in welcher Kopien der zu Peru gehörenden Gegenstände zwei Wochen lang aus dem Fotoarchiv der Sammlung ausgeschnitten wurden. Aus den Reaktionen des Publikums auf diese Performance wollte die Künstlerin Natalia Rodriguez Ramirez aus Bogotá, die derzeit ihr Masterstudium an der Universität der Künste Berlin im Institut für Kunst im Kontext absolviert, die öffentliche Meinung in Berlin über die Rückgabe des kulturellen Erbes von Ländern mit kolonialer Vergangenheit erfahren. Die Hauptfrage war: Sollten sie bleiben oder zurückgeschickt werden?

In einem zweiten Schritt wurden in Peru Online-Umfragen durchgeführt, als Alternative zu den ursprünglich geplanten Workshops, die aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie nicht durchgeführt werden konnten. Dabei wurde die Position der Peruaner*innen zu den in Berlin befindlichen Stücken, ihren gegenwärtigen kulturellen Wert und die Notwendigkeit einer Resozialisierung im Falle ihrer Rückgabe erfragt. Bei den Umfragen wurden die Meinungen von mehr als 60 Personen in Form von Texten und Sprachnotizen gesammelt, die Themen wie Bildung, Naturschutz und Tradition berührten.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Theater Vichama in Villa el Salvador und mit Unterstützung des Goethe‑Instituts Lima entstand eine Fotointervention im öffentlichen Raum, die die Meinung und kulturelle Verbundenheit der Peruaner*innen mit ihrem kulturellen Erbe und über die mögliche Rückgabe der Stücke an Peru offenbart.

Nach dieser Metapher der Rückgabe, in welcher die Kunst Amerikas, Asiens, Ozeaniens und Afrikas an ihre Ursprungsorte zurückkehrt, wird das Museum zu einem leeren Museum, zu einem Museum Nullius. Die Dokumentation des Projekts sowie die Ergebnisse der Interventionen werden in Form eines Videos im Modul 21 des Humboldt Forums präsentiert.

Proyectos similares