Multimedia report African Ways

Mokodu Fall
Mokodu Fall | © Maik Reichert
  • 02. January 2019 — 31. December 2020

  • Colonial legacy, Postcolonial art production, Reappraisal of the colonial past

  • Rom (Italy)

Through multimedia reports, the project “African Ways” describes the development of people who live in Italy and have African ancestors. Using videos and photographs published on its website, the Goethe-Institut Italy highlights personal stories that paint a multicultural picture of Italian society. The aim is to improve the perception and appreciation of African influences in the country.

The jewellery shopAgadez Design near Rome, for example, has its very own African way. It works with the traditional forms of the Tuaregs, whose influence once extended as far as the Mediterranean, and has its designs produced in the few remaining, but globally highly regarded art forges in Niger.

Another report presents the story of Badara Seck, a singer and descendant of Senegalese griots, who have been using the power of music to heal and passing on stories since time immemorial. He is writing an opera about the dangerous crossing of the Mediterranean by refugees, which he wants to perform together with European and African musicians.

African Ways also dedicates a report to the painter and fashion designer Mokodu Fall. Originally from Senegal, he has lived in Italy for more than two decades and prints garments with his pictures. In the video, the artist explains that he uses red, the colour of blood, to represent mankind. Another report highlights the imminent reopening of the Colonial Museum in Italy, which has been closed for 40 years.

Multimedia-Reportage African Ways

Mokodu Fall
Mokodu Fall | © Maik Reichert
  • 02. Januar 2019 — 31. Dezember 2020

  • Koloniales Erbe, Postkoloniale Kunstproduktion, Aufarbeitung kolonialer Vergangenheit

  • Rom (Italien)

In Multimedia-Reportagen schildern die „African Ways“ (die afrikanischen Wege) den Werdegang von Menschen, die in Italien leben und afrikanische Vorfahren haben. Mit Videos und Fotos stellt das Goethe-Institut Italien auf seiner Internetseite persönliche Geschichten in den Mittelpunkt, die ein multikulturelles Bild der italienischen Gesellschaft zeichnen. Ziel ist es, die Wahrnehmung und Wertschätzung der afrikanischen Einflüsse im Land zu verbessern.


Seinen ganz eigenen African Way geht beispielsweise das Schmuckgeschäft Agadez Design in der Nähe von Rom. Es arbeitet mit den traditionellen Formen der Tuaregs, deren Einfluss einst bis ans Mittelmeer reichte, und lässt seine Entwürfe in den wenigen verbliebenen, aber weltweit hochgeschätzten Kunstschmieden im afrikanischen Niger herstellen.

Eine andere Reportage stellt Badara Seck vor, Sänger und Abkömmling von senegalesischen Griots, die seit alters her mit der Kraft der Musik heilen und Geschichten überliefern. Er schreibt eine Oper über die gefährliche Mittelmeer-Überfahrt von Flüchtlingen, die er gemeinsam mit europäischen und afrikanischen Musiker*innen aufführen will.


Auch dem Maler und Mode-Designer Mokodu Fall widmet African Ways eine Reportage. Er lebt seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten in Italien, stammt aus dem Senegal und bedruckt Kleidungsstücke mit seinen Bildern. Rot wie das Blut sei seine Farbe der Menschheit, erzählt der Künstler im Video. Eine weitere Reportage berichtet über die bevorstehende Wiedereröffnung des Kolonialmuseums in Italien, das seit 40 Jahren geschlossen ist.