Decolonising Knowledge Production Decolonise the Internet

Decolonise the Internet Banner
Lungi Molefe © Goethe-Institut
  • 01. January 2020 — 31. December 2021

  • Postcolonial world order, Postcolonial development cooperation, Decolonisation

  • Capetown (South Africa); Accra (Ghana); Lagos (Nigeria); Windhoek (Namibia); Kigali (Rwanda); Addis Abeba (Ethiopia); Dakar (Senegal); Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire); Yaoundé (Cameroon); Nairobi (Kenya)

The project addresses issues relating to artificial intelligence, machine learning, the impacts of algorithms and the question of whether, to what extent and how the internet must and can be decolonised.
 
About 75 percent of the online community lives in the Global South, but only 20 percent of active online knowledge is created there. Due to relevance criteria and citation rules as well as the dominance of white male authors from the “Western” world, it can be difficult for African knowledge to find its way into Wikipedia, especially if the articles are written in one of the colonial languages.
 
The project Decolonise the Internet supports the creation of articles in African languages and translations to upgrade the integration of knowledge about the African continent into Wikipedia and the internet. It aims to heighten awareness of the extent to which algorithms and artificial intelligence normalise racism and what can be done about it. In addition, it aims in particular to invite and train female authors to work on Wikipedia, and to write as many articles as possible about African heroines and female role models.
 
A further project goal is to use WikiData and WikiCommons for oral quotations. In many African countries, information, myths, stories and traditional knowledge are passed on orally - a world of unwritten knowledge that follows its own rules and has its own art forms.
 
In the follow-up to work on decolonisation at the 2018 Wikimania conference in Cape Town and in close cooperation with Wikipedia groups in various countries in sub-Saharan Africa, the Goethe-Institut, in partnership with a variety of associations and institutions, is now seeking a discourse on how algorithms influence our view of the world and how civil rights can be defended in digital space. These topics will be addressed in a range of innovative formats such as barcamps, unconferences, editathons, edit jams, editing and translation competitions, hackathons, discussion events and artistic interventions.

Similar projects

Dekolonisierung der Wissensproduktion Wessen Wissen: Dekolonisierung im Internet

Decolonise the Internet Logo
Lungi Molefe © Goethe-Institut
  • 01. Januar 2020 — 31. Dezember 2021

  • Postkoloniale Weltordnung, Postkoloniale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Dekolonisierung

  • Kapstadt (Südafrika); Accra (Ghana); Lagos (Nigeria); Windhoek (Namibia); Kigali (Ruanda); Addis Abeba (Äthiopien); Dakar (Senegal); Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire); Jaunde (Kamerun); Nairobi (Kenia)

Das Projekt befasst sich mit Fragen der künstlichen Intelligenz, des maschinellen Lernens, der Auswirkungen von Algorithmen und der Frage, ob, in welchem Umfang und wie das Internet entkolonialisiert werden muss und kann.
 
Rund 75 Prozent der Online-Community leben im globalen Süden, aber nur 20 Prozent des aktiven Online-Wissens wird im globalen Süden erstellt. Aufgrund von Relevanzkriterien und Zitierregeln sowie der Dominanz weißer männlicher Autoren aus der „westlichen“ Welt kann es für afrikanisches Wissen schwierig sein, den Weg in Wikipedia zu finden, insbesondere wenn die Artikel in einer der Kolonialsprachen verfasst sind.
 
Das Projekt Wessen Wissen: Dekolonisierung im Internet setzt sich dafür ein, Artikel in afrikanischen Sprachen zu erstellen und Übersetzungen anzufertigen, damit Wissen über den afrikanischen Kontinent besser in Wikipedia und das Internet gelangen kann. Es will dafür sensibilisieren, inwieweit Algorithmen und künstliche Intelligenz Rassismen normalisieren und was dagegen unternommen werden kann. Zudem sollen insbesondere Autorinnen für die Arbeit an Wikipedia gewonnen und ausgebildet werden, die möglichst viele Artikel über afrikanische Heldinnen und weibliche Vorbilder schreiben.
 
Ein weiteres Projektziel besteht darin, WikiData und WikiCommons für mündliche Zitate zu verwenden. In vielen afrikanischen Ländern werden Informationen, Mythen, Geschichten und traditionelles Wissen mündlich weitergegeben – eine Welt des nicht geschriebenen Wissens, die ihren eigenen Regeln folgt und ihre eigenen Kunstformen kennt.
 
Nach Arbeiten zum Thema Entkolonialisierung bei der Wikimania-Konferenz 2018 in Kapstadt und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Wikipedia-Gruppen in verschiedenen Ländern Subsahara-Afrikas sucht das Goethe-Institut in Partnerschaft mit verschiedenen Verbänden und Institutionen den Diskurs, wie Algorithmen unsere Sicht auf die Welt beeinflussen und wie Bürgerrechte im digitalen Raum verteidigt werden können. Diese Fragen werden in verschiedenen und innovativen Formaten wie Barcamps / Unkonferenzen, Editathons, Edit Jams, Editing- und Übersetzungswettbewerben, Hackathons, Diskussionsveranstaltungen und künstlerischen Interventionen behandelt.

Ähnliche Projekte