Constructive dialogue on equal terms Who safeguards the intangible cultural heritage?

Gnaoua World Music Festival in Essaouira, Morocco, on June 13, 2014: Gnawa has been added to the UNESCO list of intangible heritage in 2019. It is a musical tradition of the Gnaoua Sufi Brotherhood from the times of the slave trade, composed of various secular-religious elements: musical events, performances, Sufi brotherhood practices and healing rituals.
Gnaoua World Music Festival in Essaouira, Morocco, on June 13, 2014: Gnawa has been added to the UNESCO list of intangible heritage in 2019. It is a musical tradition of the Gnaoua Sufi Brotherhood from the times of the slave trade, composed of various secular-religious elements: musical events, performances, Sufi brotherhood practices and healing rituals. | Photo (detail): Jalal Morchidi © picture alliance / Anadolu Agency

Professor Tiago de Oliveira Pinto, ethnomusicologist and director of the Department of Musicology Weimar-Jena, is one of the most renowned researchers in the field of transcultural musicology. In an interview with “Latitude”, he talks about the necessity of safeguarding intangible cultural heritage and the possibilities of preserving orally transmitted knowledge for larger populations in times of global human migration and extreme climatic upheaval.

Parallel to the current discourses on safeguarding intangible cultural heritage, traditional cultural expressions and practices ought to be kept alive with clear objectives, according to Pinto. They should not only be safeguarded and preserved, but also subjected to new interpretations in line with the dynamics of an increasingly globalized world. He asserts that intangible cultural heritage can only be sustainably safeguarded if it is actively practised, be it traditional music, dances or rituals. He believes that the main custodians of intangible cultural heritage are the people themselves - those who maintain and pass on the traditions. In this context, a constructive dialogue of equals between cultural heritage experts and the societies that practice the traditions is absolutely necessary.
  • Tapestries with crosses and the Armenian alphabet. The Armenian art of writing and its cultural expressions were inscribed on the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage in 2019. The Armenian art of writing is based on the Armenian alphabet, which was developed more than 1,600 years ago. Richly decorated letters can be found in elaborate scripts as well as on carpets, wooden sculptures and other handicraft products. The art of writing plays an important role in the preservation of the Armenian language and culture. Yvan Travert © picture alliance / akg-images
    Tapestries with crosses and the Armenian alphabet. The Armenian art of writing and its cultural expressions were inscribed on the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage in 2019. The Armenian art of writing is based on the Armenian alphabet, which was developed more than 1,600 years ago. Richly decorated letters can be found in elaborate scripts as well as on carpets, wooden sculptures and other handicraft products. The art of writing plays an important role in the preservation of the Armenian language and culture.
  • Silat, the traditional martial art from Malaysia, was added to the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage in 2019. Originally a pure art of self-defence, silat today also includes traditional clothing, musical instruments and customs and has developed into a performing art and sports movement practice. Luca Tettoni © picture alliance / robertharding
    Silat, the traditional martial art from Malaysia, was added to the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage in 2019. Originally a pure art of self-defence, silat today also includes traditional clothing, musical instruments and customs and has developed into a performing art and sports movement practice.
  • Musician on the island of Fogo, Cape Verde. Morna, the traditional music style of the Cape Verde Islands, was inscribed on the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage in 2019. The reason for this is that "the tradition includes music, singing, poetry and dance. The lyrics are about love, farewell and separation, but also about home and the ocean. Typical instruments for the musical style are guitar and violin." Matthias Graben © picture alliance / imageBROKER
    Musician on the island of Fogo, Cape Verde. Morna, the traditional music style of the Cape Verde Islands, was inscribed on the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage in 2019. The reason for this is that "the tradition includes music, singing, poetry and dance. The lyrics are about love, farewell and separation, but also about home and the ocean. Typical instruments for the musical style are guitar and violin."
  • The culture of the Bumba-meu-boi was inscribed on the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage in 2019. It is a ritualized practice from Brazil with music and dances, which is performed at popular festivals. BeJo Schmitz © picture alliance/chromorange
    The culture of the Bumba-meu-boi was inscribed on the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage in 2019. It is a ritualized practice from Brazil with music and dances, which is performed at popular festivals.
  • The ceramics craft in Puebla and Tlaxcala (Mexico) as well as in Talavera de la Reina and El Puente del Arzobispo (Spain) has been included in the intangible cultural heritage of UNESCO since 2019. The explanatory statement states: “The artisan production process of ceramic products in the four municipalities has remained largely unchanged since the 16th century. The knowledge and skills include the production of the clay and pottery, as well as decoration and other demanding finishing steps. Each workshop cultivates its own identity, which is expressed in details of the shapes, decorations, colours and glazes of the products. The production of ceramics is also a fundamental identity symbol in both countries.” Bildagentur-online/Mahaux-AGF © picture alliance
    The ceramics craft in Puebla and Tlaxcala (Mexico) as well as in Talavera de la Reina and El Puente del Arzobispo (Spain) has been included in the intangible cultural heritage of UNESCO since 2019. The explanatory statement states: “The artisan production process of ceramic products in the four municipalities has remained largely unchanged since the 16th century. The knowledge and skills include the production of the clay and pottery, as well as decoration and other demanding finishing steps. Each workshop cultivates its own identity, which is expressed in details of the shapes, decorations, colours and glazes of the products. The production of ceramics is also a fundamental identity symbol in both countries.”

Tiago de Oliveira Pinto is convinced that globalization does not pose a threat, but rather offers many opportunities for the various actors to achieve synergies that are essential for the safeguarding of intangible cultural heritage. After all, cultural practices, activities and indigenous knowledge have always existed in constant interaction with the environment: “Traditions are alive and dynamic - they respond to their environment and adapt to the changes therein”.
 
For more about the safeguarding of intangible cultural heritage, you can watch the full interview with Tiago de Oliveira Pinto:
 

The interview was conducted by Eliphas Nyamogo, online editorial consultant at the Goethe-Institut Munich.

Konstruktiver Dialog auf Augenhöhe Wer bewahrt das immaterielle Kulturerbe?

Gnawa-Weltmusikfestival in Essaouira, Marokko, am 13. Juni 2014: Gnawa wurde 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Erbes aufgenommen. Es handelt sich um eine Musiktradition der Gnawa-Sufibruderschaft aus Zeiten des Sklavenhandels, die sich aus verschiedenen sekulär-religiösen Elementen zusammensetzt: Musikveranstaltungen, Performances, Praktiken der Sufi-Bruderschaft und Heilungsrituale.
Gnawa-Weltmusikfestival in Essaouira, Marokko, am 13. Juni 2014: Gnawa wurde 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Erbes aufgenommen. Es handelt sich um eine Musiktradition der Gnawa-Sufibruderschaft aus Zeiten des Sklavenhandels, die sich aus verschiedenen sekulär-religiösen Elementen zusammensetzt: Musikveranstaltungen, Performances, Praktiken der Sufi-Bruderschaft und Heilungsrituale. | Foto (Detail): Jalal Morchidi © picture alliance / Anadolu Agency

Der Musikethnologe und Direktor des Instituts für Musikwissenschaft Weimar-Jena, Professor Tiago de Oliveira Pinto, ist einer der bekanntesten Forscher im Bereich der transkulturellen Musikwissenschaft. In einem Interview mit „Latitude“ spricht er über die Notwendigkeit der Bewahrung des immateriellen Kulturerbes und die Möglichkeiten, mündlich überliefertes Wissen in Zeiten globaler Migrationsströme und klimatischer Umwälzungen für größere Kreise zu sichern.

Parallel zu den aktuellen Diskursen zur Bewahrung des immateriellen Kulturerbes sollen traditionelle kulturelle Ausdrucksformen und Praktiken zielgerichtet am Leben erhalten werden, so Pinto. Sie sollen nicht nur erhalten und bewahrt werden, sondern auch neuen Interpretationen unterworfen werden, wie es in einer zunehmend globalisierten Welt zu erwarten ist. Er betont, dass immaterielles Kulturerbe nur dann nachhaltig erhalten werden könne, wenn es aktiv praktiziert werde, seien es musikalische Traditionen, Tänze oder Rituale. Er sieht die Hauptverantwortung für den Erhalt des immateriellen Kulturerbes bei den Menschen selbst, die die Traditionen pflegen und weitergeben. Dabei sei ein konstruktiver Dialog auf Augenhöhe vonnöten zwischen den Kulturerbe-Expert*innen und den Gesellschaften, die die Traditionen praktizieren.
  • Bildteppiche mit Kreuzen und dem armenischen Alphabet. Die armenische Schreibkunst und ihre kulturellen Ausdrucksformen wurden 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes aufgenommen. Die armenische Schreibkunst basiert auf dem armenischen Alphabet, das bereits vor mehr als 1.600 Jahren entwickelt wurde. Reich verzierte Buchstaben finden sich sowohl in aufwendigen Schriften wie auch auf Teppichen, Holzskulpturen und anderen kunsthandwerklichen Erzeugnissen. Die Schreibkunst spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Bewahrung der armenischen Sprache und Kultur. Yvan Travert © picture alliance / akg-images
    Bildteppiche mit Kreuzen und dem armenischen Alphabet. Die armenische Schreibkunst und ihre kulturellen Ausdrucksformen wurden 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes aufgenommen. Die armenische Schreibkunst basiert auf dem armenischen Alphabet, das bereits vor mehr als 1.600 Jahren entwickelt wurde. Reich verzierte Buchstaben finden sich sowohl in aufwendigen Schriften wie auch auf Teppichen, Holzskulpturen und anderen kunsthandwerklichen Erzeugnissen. Die Schreibkunst spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Bewahrung der armenischen Sprache und Kultur.
  • Silat, die traditionelle Kampfkunst aus Malaysia, wurde 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes aufgenommen. Ursprünglich eine reine Selbstverteidungskunst, umfasst Silat heute auch traditionelle Kleidung, Musikinstrumente und Bräuche und entwickelte sich zur darstellenden Kunst und sportlichen Bewegungspraxis. Luca Tettoni © picture alliance / robertharding
    Silat, die traditionelle Kampfkunst aus Malaysia, wurde 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes aufgenommen. Ursprünglich eine reine Selbstverteidungskunst, umfasst Silat heute auch traditionelle Kleidung, Musikinstrumente und Bräuche und entwickelte sich zur darstellenden Kunst und sportlichen Bewegungspraxis.
  • Musiker auf der Insel Fogo, Kap Verde. Morna, der traditionelle Musikstil auf den Kapverdischen Inseln, wurde 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes aufgenommen. Zur Begründung heißt es: „Die Tradition umfasst Musik, Gesang, Lyrik und Tanz. Die Texte handeln unter anderem von Liebe, Abschied und Trennung, aber auch von der Heimat und dem Ozean. Typische Instrumente für den Musikstil sind Gitarre und Geige.“ Matthias Graben © picture alliance / imageBROKER
    Musiker auf der Insel Fogo, Kap Verde. Morna, der traditionelle Musikstil auf den Kapverdischen Inseln, wurde 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes aufgenommen. Zur Begründung heißt es: „Die Tradition umfasst Musik, Gesang, Lyrik und Tanz. Die Texte handeln unter anderem von Liebe, Abschied und Trennung, aber auch von der Heimat und dem Ozean. Typische Instrumente für den Musikstil sind Gitarre und Geige.“
  • Die Kultur des Bumba-meu-boi wurde 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes aufgenommen. Es handelt sich um eine ritualisierte Praxis aus Brasilien mit Musik und Tänzen, die bei Volksfesten aufgeführt wird. BeJo Schmitz © picture alliance/chromorange
    Die Kultur des Bumba-meu-boi wurde 2019 in die UNESCO-Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes aufgenommen. Es handelt sich um eine ritualisierte Praxis aus Brasilien mit Musik und Tänzen, die bei Volksfesten aufgeführt wird.
  • Das Keramikhandwerk in Puebla und Tlaxcala (Mexiko) sowie in Talavera de la Reina und El Puente del Arzobispo (Spanien) gehört seit 2019 zum immateriellen Kulturerbe der UNESCO. In der Begründung heißt es: „Der handwerkliche Herstellungsprozess von Keramikwaren in den vier Gemeinden ist seit dem 16. Jahrhundert weitgehend unverändert. Zum Wissen und Können gehören die Herstellung des Tons und der Töpferwaren sowie die Dekoration und weitere anspruchsvolle Veredelungsschritte. Jede Werkstatt pflegt ihre eigene Identität, die sich in Details der Formen, Dekorationen, Farben und Glasuren der Produkte ausdrückt. Die Herstellung von Keramik ist zudem ein grundlegendes identitätsstiftendes Symbol in beiden Staaten.“ Bildagentur-online/Mahaux-AGF © picture alliance
    Das Keramikhandwerk in Puebla und Tlaxcala (Mexiko) sowie in Talavera de la Reina und El Puente del Arzobispo (Spanien) gehört seit 2019 zum immateriellen Kulturerbe der UNESCO. In der Begründung heißt es: „Der handwerkliche Herstellungsprozess von Keramikwaren in den vier Gemeinden ist seit dem 16. Jahrhundert weitgehend unverändert. Zum Wissen und Können gehören die Herstellung des Tons und der Töpferwaren sowie die Dekoration und weitere anspruchsvolle Veredelungsschritte. Jede Werkstatt pflegt ihre eigene Identität, die sich in Details der Formen, Dekorationen, Farben und Glasuren der Produkte ausdrückt. Die Herstellung von Keramik ist zudem ein grundlegendes identitätsstiftendes Symbol in beiden Staaten.“

Tiago de Oliveira Pinto ist davon überzeugt, dass die Globalisierung keine Gefahr darstellt, sondern den verschiedenen Akteur*innen viele Möglichkeiten bietet, Synergien zu erzielen, die für den Erhalt des immateriellen Kulturerbes unentbehrlich sind. Schließlich haben kulturelle Praktiken, Aktivitäten und indigenes Wissen immer im Austausch mit der Umwelt existiert: „Traditionen sind lebendig und dynamisch – sie gehen auf ihr Umfeld ein und reagieren auf Veränderungen der Umwelt.“
 
Mehr über den Erhalt des immateriellen Kulturerbes können Sie in diesem Interview mit Tiago de Oliveira Pinto erfahren:
 

Das Interview führte Eliphas Nyamogo, Online-Redakteur am Goethe-Institut in München.