A Memory in Three Acts The Ghosts of Colonialism

Colonial history – This screenshot detail from the film “A Memory in Three Acts” captures the abandoned remains of the interior space of Vila Algarve in Maputo, Mozambique.
Photo (detail): © Inadelso Cossa

In his documentary “Uma memória em três atos” (2018), filmmaker Inadelso Cossa sets out to trace the history of his country Mozambique. The powerful film draws on archival materials from the times of Portuguese colonial oppression and on the testimonies of Mozambicans who survived the struggle for liberation. Here, Cossa explains via five stills how his film engages with images and voices of past and present – treading on a path toward reconciliation.

By Inadelso Cossa


Colonial history – The image is a screenshot from the film “A Memory in Three Acts”. It shows a black child and a white child on a merry-go-round. Photo (detail): © Inadelso Cossa A false image of integration, stark evidence of a colonial perspective – I found this super 8 film material by a colonialist family in the Mozambican national archive, INAC (Instituto Nacional de Audiovisual e Cinema), in Maputo. The two children evoke a carefree colonial harmony far from Mozambican reality in the 1960s. By integrating this shot into the opening sequence of my film, I present the official picture only to unmask its claims. My film juxtaposes it with memories of Mozambicans who lived through my country’s colonial past. This approach lets me access and narrate the layers of a time that continues to shape the identities of Mozambicans up to this day. The ghosts of colonialism are still haunting us.

Colonial history – This screenshot from the film “A Memory in Three Acts” shows a magazine. Photo (detail): © Inadelso Cossa How can I tell you about Mozambique’s colonial history when there seem to be no satisfactory sources from which to draw? Where to find the past? In Mozambique, you search in vain for official archives recounting the history of political prisoners from the era of colonialism. If I wanted to make this film, I had to be both a director and an author. This thread is woven through the entire film – through each of its three acts. Flipping through the pages of a magazine from colonial times – the tactile labour of (re-)searching – introduces this thread right at the beginning. Rather than acting as a filmmaker who looks on from an analytical distance, I am a participant in the documentary – a member of an entire generation of Mozambicans who have so far not had access to the story that I am now telling. The low lighting attests to my experience: looking for the past was an intimate and lonely process.

Colonial history – This screenshot captures the abandoned remains of the interior space of Vila Algarve in Maputo, Mozambique. Photo (detail): © Inadelso Cossa Here. The Portuguese political police PIDE (Polícia Internacional e de Defesa do Estado) tortured in the 1960s countless political prisoners like the poet José Craveirinha, like the painter Malangatana Ngwenya. Here, in this building: Vila Algarve, a place of pain and resistance. In my film, this place is a character in its own right, an archive, a silent witness to voiceless political prisoners. You cannot talk about PIDE and political prisoners without mentioning Vila Algarve. Abandoned, in ruins, amid the wealthy area of Mozambique’s capital Maputo, the building nowadays also symbolizes the government’s approach to our historical memory.  

Colonial history – In this screenshot, Aurêlio Valente Langa is sitting in a dark room. His naked back is turned toward the camera. Photo (detail): © Inadelso Cossa The room was dark, at times permitting glimpses of PIDE agents’ faces. Political prisoner Aurêlio Valente Langa was naked – exposed to interrogation and torture. Embedded into the film’s second act, “Memories of Violence”, Langa re-enacts and narrates his experience at Vila Algarve. At the time, the police forcibly sought power over his answers. The film reverts this dynamic, letting him tell his own story freely.

Colonial history – This screenshot depicts Isabel Langa who is sitting in a darkened room and looking out the window. Photo (detail): © Inadelso Cossa Isabel Langa, daughter of former Mozambican PIDE agent “Chico Feio” saw her neighbours decapitate and kill her father in 1974, in the transitional period after FRELIMO (the Mozambique Liberation Front) had won the liberation war and before Mozambique gained independence. Isabel was 13 years old. She and her mother had to run and hide to save their own lives. Still today, Isabel has nightmares. Chico Feio had tortured numerous political prisoners, some of whom died as a consequence. According to his daughter who knew him as a caring father, his family had been unaware of his role as a PIDE agent. I decided to integrate her, her emotions and her trauma in the story of my film because she represents the need for a reconciliation with colonial history. Isabel, too, is a victim of colonial violence, and still lives with her memory of this past.

Watch the beginning of the film here:

Eine Erinnerung in drei Akten Die Geister des Kolonialismus

Kolonialgeschichte – Dieser Screenshotausschnitt aus dem Film „A Memory in Three Acts“ erfasst die verlassenen Überreste des Innenraums von Vila Algarve in Maputo, Mosambik.
Foto (Detail): © Inadelso Cossa

​Filmemacher Inadelso Cossa macht sich in seinem Dokumentarfilm „Uma memória em três atos“ (2018) auf die Suche nach der Geschichte seines Landes Mosambik. Der eindringliche Film greift auf Archivmaterialien aus den Zeiten der portugiesischen Kolonialherrschaft und auf Zeugnisse von Mosambikaner*innen zurück, die den Freiheitskampf überlebten. Hier erklärt Cossa anhand von fünf Bildern, wie sein Film sich mit Bildern und Stimmen der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart auseinandersetzt – und eröffnet dabei Wege der Versöhnung.

Von Inadelso Cossa


Kolonialgeschichte – Das Bild ist ein Screenshot aus dem Film „Eine Erinnerung in drei Akten“. Es zeigt ein schwarzes und ein weißes Kind auf einem Karussell. Foto (Detail): © Inadelso Cossa Ein trügerisches Bild von Integration, nachdrückliches Zeugnis einer kolonialen Perspektive – auf dieses Super-8-Filmmaterial einer Kolonialist*innenfamilie stieß ich im mosambikanischen Nationalarchiv INAC (Instituto Nacional de Audiovisual e Cinema) in Maputo. Die beiden Kinder beschwören eine unbeschwerte koloniale Harmonie herauf, die weit von der mosambikanischen Realität der 1960er-Jahre entfernt war. Durch die Einbindung dieser Aufnahme in die Eröffnungssequenz meines Films präsentiere ich das offizielle Bild, nur um seine Behauptungen zu demaskieren. Mein Film stellt ihm die Erinnerungen von Mosambikaner*innen gegenüber, die die koloniale Vergangenheit meines Landes durchlebten. Dieser Ansatz erlaubt mir, die Ebenen einer Zeit zu fassen und erzählen, die die Identität der Mosambikaner*innen bis zum heutigen Tag prägt. Die Geister des Kolonialismus verfolgen uns noch immer.
Kolonialgeschichte – Dieser Screenshot aus dem Film „Eine Erinnerung in drei Akten“ zeigt eine Zeitschrift. Foto (Detail): © Inadelso Cossa Wie soll ich Ihnen etwas über die mosambikanische Kolonialgeschichte erzählen, wenn es keine zufriedenstellenden Quellen zu geben scheint, aus denen ich schöpfen kann? Wo findet man die Vergangenheit? In Mosambik sucht man vergeblich nach offiziellen Archiven, die die Geschichte der politischen Gefangenen der Kolonialzeit dokumentieren. Wenn ich diesen Film machen wollte, musste ich sowohl Regisseur als auch Autor sein. Dieser Faden zieht sich durch den gesamten Film – durch jeden seiner drei Akte. Das Durchblättern der Seiten einer Zeitschrift aus der Kolonialzeit – die haptische Arbeit des Suchens und Recherchierens – führt diesen Faden gleich zu Beginn ein. Statt als Filmemacher zu agieren, der aus analytischer Distanz beobachtet, bin ich Mitwirkender im Dokumentarfilm – ein Mitglied einer ganzen Generation von Mosambikaner*innen, die bisher noch keinen Zugang zu der Geschichte hatten, die ich jetzt erzähle. Die schwache Beleuchtung reflektiert meine eigene Erfahrung: die Suche nach der Vergangenheit war ein sehr persönlicher und einsamer Prozess.

Kolonialgeschichte – Dieser Screenshot erfasst die verlassenen Überreste des Innenraums von Vila Algarve in Maputo, Mosambik. Foto (Detail): © Inadelso Cossa Hier. Die portugiesische politische Polizei PIDE (Polícia Internacional e de Defesa do Estado) folterte in den 1960er-Jahren zahllose politische Gefangene wie den Dichter José Craveirinha, wie den Maler Malangatana Ngwenya. Hier, in diesem Gebäude: Vila Algarve, ein Ort der Qual und des Widerstands. In meinem Film ist der Ort eine eigenständige Figur, ein Archiv, ein stummer Zeuge für stimmlose politische Gefangene. Man kann nicht über die PIDE und politische Gefangene sprechen, ohne die Vila Algarve zu erwähnen. Leerstehend, in Trümmern, mitten im wohlhabenden Viertel der mosambikanischen Hauptstadt Maputo gelegen, symbolisiert das Gebäude heute auch die Herangehensweise der Regierung an unser historisches Gedächtnis.

Kolonialgeschichte – In diesem Screenshot sitzt Aurêlio Valente Langa in einem dunklen Raum. Sein nackter Rücken ist der Kamera zugewandt. Foto (Detail): © Inadelso Cossa Der Raum war dunkel, erlaubte gelegentlich flüchtige Blicke auf die Gesichter der PIDE-Agenten. Der politische Gefangene Aurêlio Valente Langa war nackt – dem Verhör und der Folter ausgesetzt. Eingebettet in den zweiten Akt des Films, Memories of Violence (Erinnerungen an Gewalt), erzählt Langa seine Erlebnisse in der Vila Algarve und stellt sie nach. Damals strebte die Polizei mithilfe von Gewalt nach Macht über seine Antworten. Der Film kehrt diese Dynamik um, indem er ihn seine Geschichte frei erzählen lässt.

Kolonialgeschichte – Dieser Screenshot zeigt Isabel Langa, die in einem abgedunkelten Raum sitzt und aus dem Fenster schaut. Foto (Detail): © Inadelso Cossa Isabel Langa, Tochter des ehemaligen mosambikanischen PIDE-Agenten „Chico Feio“, wurde Zeugin, wie ihre Nachbar*innen ihren Vater in der Übergangszeit – nach dem Sieg der Mosambikanischen Befreiungsfront FRELIMO im Befreiungskrieg, aber vor der Unabhängigkeit Mosambiks – 1974 enthaupteten. Isabel war 13 Jahre alt. Sie und ihre Mutter mussten fliehen und sich verstecken, um ihre Leben zu retten. Isabel leidet bis heute unter Alpträumen. Chico Feio hatte zahlreiche politische Gefangene gefoltert, von denen einige an den Folgen starben. Seiner Tochter zufolge, die ihn als liebevollen Vater kannte, wusste seine Familie nichts von seiner Rolle als PIDE-Agent. Ich entschied mich dafür, sie selbst sowie ihre Emotionen und ihr Trauma in die Geschichte meines Films einzubeziehen, weil sie die Notwendigkeit einer Aussöhnung mit der Kolonialgeschichte darlegt. Auch Isabel ist ein Opfer kolonialer Gewalt und lebt immer noch mit ihrer Erinnerung an diese Vergangenheit. 

Sehen Sie hier den Anfang des Films: