Reclaiming the history and memory of the country Counter-archives in the struggle against forgetting

Colonial history: Didi Cheeka in the interview
Didi Cheeka in the interview | © Goethe-Institut

Didi Cheeka has rescued the previously abandoned Nigerian national film archives and developed them into a sort of “counter-archives”. We talked to him about how to handle colonial films and the search for a nation’s forgotten history.

By Teresa Althen

Didi Cheeka is a Nigerian director and film critic as well as an, as he puts it, “accidental archivist”. When he found remnants of the national and colonial film archives in Lagos, he launched a project entitled “Reclaiming History, Unveiling Memory” with the object of preserving, digitizing and curating rediscovered Nigerian films. He also founded the Lagos Film Society and the first Berlin and Lagos Archival Film Festival.

Cheeka stresses how important it is for Nigeria to reclaim these archives and, in so doing, the history and memory of his country. He demands the restitution of the photographs and films shot during the colonial era in Nigeria without the subjects’ consent so that Nigerian society can discuss the country’s history on the basis of this material: “We want an archive that is no longer considered some dusty place in which only old bearded white men work.”

Cheeka objects to the very notion of “post-colonialism”. As he sees it, colonialism is not a historical category: on the contrary, colonial structures have never ceased to exist. The terms post-, de- and anti-colonialism tend to reduce African and other formerly colonized countries to colonialism. He calls for more open-ended discussions, including discussions about archival categorization, which are essential to changing the prevailing power structures. The colonial reference in and of itself is a form of colonial imposition. Cheeka is convinced that this can be done differently and he has made it his mission to bring about change.
  
(DE)COLONIAL FILM ARCHIVES

Most of the documentary films made in colonial contexts are now kept in European archives. And only a fraction of that footage was shot from the perspective of the colonized themselves. So to whom does this material really belong? To whom should it be accessible – and how? Why are some of these archives left to gather dust and what can be done about that? Archivists and filmmakers who work with archival footage address these questions in the following interviews.

Geschichte und Gedächtnis des Landes zurückgewinnen Gegenarchive im Kampf gegen das Vergessen

Kolonialgeschichte: Didi Cheeka im Interview
Didi Cheeka im Interview | © Goethe-Institut

Didi Cheeka hat das ehemals verlassene nationale Filmarchiv Nigerias gerettet und daraus eine Art Gegenarchiv entwickelt. Ein Gespräch über den Umgang mit kolonialem Filmmaterial und die Suche nach der vergessenen Geschichte eines Landes.

Von Teresa Althen

Didi Cheeka ist Filmemacher und Filmkritiker aus Nigeria und selbsternannter accidental archivist. Als er in Lagos Überreste des nationalen und kolonialen Filmarchives fand, initiierte er das Projekt „Reclaiming History, Unveiling Memory“, das es sich zum Ziel setzt, wiederentdeckte nigerianische Filme zu bewahren, zu digitalisieren und zu kuratieren. Er gründete außerdem die Lagos Film Society und das erste Berlin-Lagos Archive Film Festival.

Der Filmemacher betont, wie wichtig es für Nigeria sei, dieses Archiv und mit ihm Geschichte und Gedächtnis seines Landes zurückzugewinnen. Er fordert die Rückgabe der Bilder und Filme, die in der Kolonialzeit in Nigeria ohne Einverständnis der Gefilmten aufgenommen wurden, um auf dieser Grundlage eine gesellschaftliche Diskussion über die Geschichte des Landes zu führen: „Wir möchten ein Archiv, das nicht mehr als etwas gilt, das staubig ist und in dem nur alte weiße Männer mit Bärten arbeiten.”

Cheeka wendet sich gegen den Begriff des Postkolonialismus. Für ihn ist Kolonialismus keine historische Kategorie, vielmehr hätten die kolonialen Strukturen nie aufgehört zu existieren. Die Bezeichnungen Post-, De- und Anti-Kolonialismus reduzierten afrikanische und andere ehemals kolonisierte Länder auf den Kolonialismus. Er appelliert für offenere Diskussionen, auch im Hinblick auf die Kategorisierungen in den Archiven, denn diese seien grundlegend für eine Veränderung gegenwärtiger Machtstrukturen. Die koloniale Referenz an sich sei bereits ein kolonialer Übergriff. Er ist davon überzeugt, dass es anders gehen kann, und hat sich dies zur Hauptaufgabe gemacht.
 
(DE-)KOLONIALE FILMARCHIVE

Filmmaterial, das in kolonialen Kontexten entstanden ist, wird größtenteils in europäischen Archiven verwahrt. Nur ein Bruchteil dieses Materials entstand aus der Perspektive der Kolonisierten selbst. Wem gehört dieses Material? Wie und wem sollte es zugänglich gemacht werden? Warum werden einige dieser Archive dem Verfall überlassen und was kann man dagegen tun? Erfahrungsberichte und Visionen von Expert*innen.