Call for action & reflection Decolonize film archives!

Kollaborativ entwickeltes Arbeitspapier
Kollaborativ entwickeltes Arbeitspapier | © Goethe-Institut Portugal

This Call for decolonising film archives is a work in progress and reflects ongoing discussions that converged in the context of a workshop convened by the Goethe-Institut Portugal at Culturgest in Lisbon between the 24th and 27th of September 2019. Despite the multiplicity of voices that characterised the workshop, many participants who contributed to this document felt a common urge to express a call for action & reflection for a decolonizing practice of archives holding film collections from colonial contexts. Thus, there is no single author of this document.

By Participants of the workshop “Everything passes, except the past” (Lisbon, 2019)

This document is a work in progress and reflects ongoing discussions that converged in the context of a workshop convened by the Goethe-Institut Portugal at Culturgest in Lisbon between the 24th and 27th of September 2019. The workshop was part of the project Everything passes, except the past that questions the way European countries deal with their colonial past and with the persistence of colonial power relations and its thriving algorithms. The Lisbon workshop brought together around twenty artists, filmmakers, scholars, archivists and representatives of institutions, from various backgrounds and different privileged contexts, to focus mainly on colonial archives. Despite the multiplicity of voices that characterised the workshop, many participants who contributed to this document felt a common urge to express a call for action & reflection for a decolonizing practice of archives holding film collections from colonial contexts. Thus, there is no single author of this document. We are also aware of sister manifestos and related initiatives that we either acknowledge or solidarise with: Manifesto to liberate the image, FIAF Declaration on Fair Use and Access, CCAAA policy statement: Sharing of heritage, ICA Principles of Access to Archives, UNESCO endorsed Universal Declaration on Archives, IASA Ethical Principles for Sound and Audiovisual Archives & more.
 

Call for action & reflection
on decolonising film archives

This call for action and reflection addresses all those engaged with running European institutions maintaining colonial film collections; archivists, directors, technicians, scholars, curators and political figures.
 
Today, the material documenting images, sounds, text, dance, gestures and life of colonised subjects and territories is primarily held in European archives, with little or no public catalogs. These archival materials are also evidence of the imbalanced power relations generated and perpetuated by colonialism. Continuing these troubling relations, access to these archives is rigidly controlled, limited or costly. This renders them inaccessible to people struggling to reclaim their countries' narratives and restore the collective memories erased or destroyed by centuries of colonial propaganda.

The word archive is deeply rooted in its Greek etymology as it derives from archon—leader, ruler, governor. The archive fuses the material and the architecture that safeguards it, to affirm and maintain power. The power of the archive is precisely that of disallowing people access to their own data. Therefore colonial archives continue to constitute colonialism and remain one of its onto-epistemological objects. Archival documents are instituted to legitimate and legalise expropriation, occupation, slavery and extractivism.
Just as colonialism capitalised on lives, territories and resources, colonial film archives continue to generate audiovisual wealth from the imagery produced from that violence. Postcolony is used here to refer to territories, countries and communities once subjugated by European colonial rule and the ongoing structural fragilities inherent to their postcolonial condition.

Film, along with other lens based technologies, was further developed to serve state surveillance and warfare. It performed a seemingly enlightened protheses of a God-eye, manifesting the omnipresence and omniscience of the Western colonial project, ignorant of its blind spots. Anti-colonial struggles of the 20th Century were aware of this structural power of media and the need to hijack lens technologies and redirect them into countering colonial imaginaries.

For the structural decolonisation of European film archives, the reproducibility of the physical matter of film and digitalization pose specific problems as well as possibilities different from those of restituting plundered artefacts to the postcolony. Instead of returning an “authentic”, “original” object to a dispossessed community or looted location, the reproducible plasticity of film makes it more urgent to open up a broader discussion about sharing and providing access. In the case of colonial film, restitution takes place with the allocation of resources to create an ecology of dialogue and sharing between European film archives, independent initiatives and state institutions of the postcolony.
This call for action and reflection on decolonising archives proposes the following acts to those engaged with institutions holding colonial collections and invites them to reflect on their archival systems and practices:
 
 
ACT 1

CALL FOR DIALOGUE AS DECOLONIZING PROCESS

The decolonisation of colonial film archives requires specific processes that can only be initiated in dialogue with those representing archive holding institutions and those subjected to the objectification of colonial violence.
This dialogue should take place between independent actors and representatives of institutions, civil society and cultural policy and address the access, usage, redistribution, restitution, reproduction, digitalisation, dissemination and shared heritage of archived colonial film material.
Learning from subjective agencies and recognising that colonial relations are places of intergenerational trauma can be important facets to inform these processes. The differing institutional models and contexts require equally different tasks for decolonisation.
 
ACT 2

CALL FOR ALLOCATION OF RESOURCES AND ACCESS

To enable the above mentioned dialogue, European archives should provide permanent resources to finance and organise the sharing of their collections with artists, activists, filmmakers, researchers and other interested parties, particularly those from former colonised countries.

Resources for access and research should be part of a structural change towards decolonisation. Ideally, this would include research grants for projects that work with the archives and also contribute to structural changes.

European archives should invest in liberating their collections from copyright restrictions and create comprehensive catalogue listings and make these easily accessible.
 
ACT 3

CALL FOR SUPPORT OF ARCHIVE PRACTICES AND STRUCTURES IN THE POSTCOLONY

European archive institutions should embrace transnational responsibility and work to rectify the imbalanced power relations with archive structures and archival initiatives in the postcolony. The structures and bureaucracy of the Colonial era impeded the establishment and maintenance of functional archives, with ongoing impacts.

Often, the most critical and relevant archival practices are initiatives of individuals, independent actors and civil society working to recuperate, maintain and activate instabile or fragile materials.

European archive institutions should support infrastructure to, independently establish archive facilities for the preservation, digitisation and dissemination of colonial or anti-colonial film material in the postcolony.
 
ACT 4

CALL FOR CODES OF CONDUCT

As a result of above mentioned actions, codes of conduct should be put into place for the handling and usage of the material to prevent the reproduction and reification of colonial, racist or gender violence.

These codes of conduct should focus on a practice of decolonizing access, search criteria, captions, synopsis and tagging of archive material, without erasing the former models that reflect the cultural codes informing the construction of coloniality.

Each archive structure should develop a specific code of conduct that is kept open for permanent revision and renegotiation by those working in the archive as an ethical form of mutual collaboration.

CONCLUSION

The decolonisation of film archives can never be initiated without including the subject once rendered an object of cinematographic extraction in its process. Simultaneously, processes of decolonisation are never to be accomplished tasks but conditions to be inhabited. To return the subject back to the archive also means to embrace other forms of cognition and knowledge production such as vivid subjectivity, emotion and affect. Rather than remaining a site of power, a decolonized archive chooses to be a place for empowerment.

First signatories (names in alphabetic order)

Antje Van Wichelen
Catarina Simão
Corinna Lawrenz
Daniel Blaufuks
Diana McCarty
Didi Cheeka
Filipa César
Fradique
Ganza Buroko
Inadelso Cossa
Inês Beleza Barreiros
Inês Ponte
Julia Klein
Maria do Carmo Piçarra
Raquel Schefer
Sana na N‘Hada
Stefanie Schulte Strathaus
Susanne Sporrer
Tamer El Said
Teresa Althen
Tom Rice
Wolfgang Fuhrmann
Yaa Addae Nantwi

Aufruf zum Handeln und zur Reflexion Dekolonisiert die Filmarchive!

Collaborative developed document
Collaborative developed document | © Goethe-Institut Portugal

Der Aufruf zur Dekolonisierung von Filmarchiven ist ein kollaborativ entwickeltes Arbeitspapier, das aus einem Workshop heraus entstand, den das Goethe-Institut Portugal vom 24. bis zum 27. September 2019 in der Culturgest in Lissabon organisiert hatte. Obgleich viele Fragen kontrovers diskutiert wurden, entstand der gemeinsame Wunsch, eines überfälligen Aufrufs zur Dekolonisierung von Archiven, die Filmsammlungen aus kolonialen Kontexten verwahren. Das Dokument wurde von mehreren Verfasser*innen erarbeitet. 

Von Teilnehmer*innen des Workshops „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“ (Lissabon, 2019)

Das vorliegende Dokument ist ein kollaborativ entwickeltes Arbeitspapier, das aus einem Workshop heraus entstand, den das Goethe-Institut Portugal vom 24. bis zum 27. September 2019 in der Culturgest in Lissabon organisiert hatte. Dieser Workshop war Teil des Projekts Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit, das den Umgang europäischer Länder mit ihrer kolonialen Vergangenheit sowie den Fortbestand kolonialer Machtverhältnisse thematisiert. Der Workshop in Lissabon brachte etwa zwanzig Künstler*innen, Filmemacher*innen, Forscher*innen, Archivar*innen und Vertreter*innen von Institutionen aus verschiedenen Bereichen und unterschiedlich privilegierten Kontexten zusammen, um sich mit kolonialem Archivmaterial zu beschäftigen. Obgleich viele Fragen kontrovers diskutiert wurden, entstand daraus der gemeinsame Wunsch nach einem überfälligen Aufruf zur Dekolonisierung von Archiven, die Filmsammlungen aus kolonialen Kontexten verwahren. Das Dokument wurde von mehreren Verfasser*innen erarbeitet. Es wurde in Kenntnis und Anerkennung ähnlicher Manifeste und Initiativen zu diesem Thema entwickelt: Manifesto to liberate the image, FIAF Declaration on Fair Use and Access, CCAAA policy statement: Sharing of heritage, ICA Principles of Access to Archives, UNESCO endorsed Universal Declaration on Archives, IASA Ethical Principles for Sound and Audiovisual Archives und viele mehr.

Aufruf zum Handeln und zur Reflexion
für die Dekolonisierung von Filmarchiven

Dieser Aufruf zur Handlung und Reflexion richtet sich an all diejenigen, die in europäischen Einrichtungen arbeiten, in denen koloniale Filmsammlungen verwahrt werden, oder die sich mit diesem Material beschäftigen: Archivar*innen, Direktor*innen, Techniker*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Kurator*innen und Politiker*innen.
 
Heute lagert Dokumentationsmaterial mit Bild-, Ton- und Textaufnahmen sowie Aufnahmen von Tanz, Gesten und Szenen aus dem Leben kolonisierter Subjekte und Territorien hauptsächlich in europäischen Archiven, und es gibt nur wenige oder keine Kataloge, die öffentlich zugänglich sind. Diese Archivmaterialien zeugen auch von den ungleichen Machtverhältnissen, die sich im Zuge des Kolonialismus herausgebildet und verfestigt haben. Diese problematischen Verhältnisse dauern noch immer an und führen dazu, dass der Zugang zu Archiven streng kontrolliert, eingeschränkt oder kostspielig ist. Sie sind somit nicht zugänglich für Menschen, die darum kämpfen, die Narrative ihrer Länder zurückzuerobern und die in Jahrhunderten der kolonialen Propaganda ausgelöschte oder zerstörte kollektive Erinnerung wiederzubeleben.

Der Begriff Archiv hat seinen Ursprung in der griechischen Etymologie, denn er geht auf Archon – den Führenden, den Herrschenden, den hohen Beamten – zurück. Im Archiv führt man das Material und das Gebäude, in dem es verwahrt wird, zusammen, um Macht zu sichern und zu erhalten. Die Macht des Archivs besteht darin, Menschen den Zugang zu ihren eigenen Daten zu verwehren. Koloniale Archive tragen auf diese Weise zum Fortbestand des Kolonialismus bei und dauern als eines seiner onto-epistemologischen Objekte fort. Archivdokumente werden eingesetzt, um Enteignung, Besatzung, Sklaverei und Extraktivismus zu legitimieren und zu legalisieren. So wie der Kolonialismus Kapital aus Menschenleben, Territorien und Ressourcen geschlagen hat, so erzeugen koloniale Filmarchive weiterhin audiovisuelles Vermögen über die Vorstellungswelten, die diese Gewalt hervorbrachte. Postkolonie wird in diesem Zusammenhang als Bezeichnung für Gebiete, Länder und Gemeinschaften verwendet, die einstmals unter europäischer Kolonialherrschaft standen und einer dauerhaften strukturellen Fragilität unterworfen waren, die ihren postkolonialen Zustand prägte.
 
Im Dienste der staatlichen Überwachung und Kriegsführung wurden Filmverfahren zusammen mit anderen Objektivtechnologien weiter ausgebaut. Film diente als vermeintlich „aufgeklärte Prothese eines Gottesauges“ und stand für die Allgegenwart und Allwissenheit des kolonialen Projekts der westlichen Welt, die seine blinden Flecken leugnete. Während der antikolonialen Kämpfe des 20. Jahrhunderts war man sich der strukturellen Macht der Medien und der Notwendigkeit bewusst, sich diese Objektivtechnologien anzueignen, um damit Gegenentwürfe zu kolonialen Vorstellungwelten zu schaffen.

Für die strukturelle Dekolonisierung europäischer Filmarchive zeigen sich spezifische Probleme im Zusammenhang mit der Reproduzierbarkeit des physischen Filmmaterials und der Digitalisierung. Gleichzeitig eröffnen sich aber auch grundlegend andere Möglichkeiten als bei der Restitution geraubter Artefakte an die Postkolonie. Es geht nicht darum, ein „authentisches“ „Original“-Objekt an eine enteignete Gemeinschaft oder an einen Ort der Plünderung zurückzugeben. Die Reproduzierbarkeit von Filmen macht es aber umso dringlicher, eine breitere Diskussion über eine gemeinsame Nutzung und gemeinsame Zugangsrechte zu führen. Im Falle von kolonialen Filmen geschieht Restitution in Form von Bereitstellung von Mitteln, mit deren Hilfe ein System des Dialogs und Austauschs zwischen europäischen Filmarchiven, unabhängigen Initiativen und staatlichen Einrichtungen der Postkolonie geschaffen werden kann.
Dieser Aufruf zur Dekolonisierung von Archiven schlägt Einrichtungen, die koloniale Sammlungen verwahren, folgende Maßnahmen vor und fordert die Verantwortlichen dazu auf, ihre Archivsysteme und -verfahren auf den Prüfstand zu stellen:
 
 
MAẞNAHME 1

AUFFORDERUNG ZUM DIALOG ALS DEKOLONISIERUNGSPROZESS

Die Dekolonisierung kolonialer Filmarchive erfordert spezifische Verfahren, die nur im Dialog zwischen den archivführenden Institutionen und den Subjekten, die zu Objekten kolonialer Gewalt wurden, eingeleitet werden können.
Ein solcher Dialog sollte zwischen unabhängigen Akteur*innen und Vertreter*innen der Institutionen, der Zivilgesellschaft und der Kulturpolitik stattfinden und sich mit Fragen des Zugangs, der Nutzung, Umverteilung, Restitution, Reproduktion, Digitalisierung, Verbreitung und des gemeinsamen Erbes des archivierten kolonialen Filmmaterials beschäftigen.
Das Lernen von subjektiven Handlungsmöglichkeiten und die Erkenntnis, dass koloniale Beziehungen Orte eines generationenübergreifenden Traumas sind, können diese Prozesse maßgeblich beeinflussen. Für die unterschiedlichen institutionellen Modelle und Zusammenhänge bedarf es ebenso unterschiedlicher Maßnahmen der Dekolonisierung.
 
MAẞNAHME 2

AUFRUF ZUR VERGABE VON MITTELN UND ZUGANGSRECHTEN

Zur Förderung des genannten Dialogs sollten europäische Archive dauerhaft Mittel für die Finanzierung und Organisation der gemeinsamen Nutzung ihrer Sammlungen mit Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Filmemacher*innen, Forscher*innen und anderen interessierten Personen, insbesondere aus ehemals kolonisierten Ländern, bereitstellen.

Mittel für den Zugang und für Recherchen sollten Teil eines Strukturwandels zur Dekolonisierung sein. Idealerweise wären damit auch Forschungszuschüsse für Projekte verbunden, die mit Archiven arbeiten und ebenfalls zu strukturellen Änderungen beitragen.

Europäische Archive mit kolonialem Filmmaterial sollten sich für eine Lockerung oder Aufhebung der Urheberrechtsbeschränkungen einsetzen und ausführliche Katalogeinträge erstellen, auf die leicht zugegriffen werden kann.
 
MAẞNAHME 3

AUFRUF ZUR UNTERSTÜTZUNG VON ARCHIVVERFAHREN UND -STRUKTUREN IN DER POSTKOLONIE

Europäische Archivinstitutionen sollten ihrer transnationalen Verantwortung gerecht werden und sich durch den Aufbau von Archivstrukturen und Archivdiensten in der Postkolonie um einen Abbau der ungleichen Machtverhältnisse bemühen. Die Strukturen und bürokratischen Hürden aus der Kolonialzeit haben die Einrichtung und Pflege funktionierender Archive bis in die heutige Zeit behindert. Die Auswirkungen bestehen bis heute.

Oft resultieren besonders kritische und maßgebende Archivpraktiken aus Initiativen von Einzelpersonen, unabhängigen Akteur*innen und aus Bemühungen der Zivilgesellschaft um die Wiederherstellung, Pflege und Aktivierung vergänglicher oder empfindlicher Materialien.

Europäische Archivinstitutionen sollten Infrastrukturen fördern, die einen Aufbau unabhängiger Archiveinrichtungen für die Konservierung, Digitalisierung und Verbreitung von kolonialem oder anti-kolonialem Filmmaterial in der Postkolonie ermöglichen.
 
MAẞNAHME 4

AUFRUF ZUR FESTLEGUNG VON VERHALTENSKODIZES

Als Ergebnis dieser Maßnahmen sollten Richtlinien für die Handhabung und Nutzung des Materials festgelegt werden, um eine Reproduktion und Verdinglichung kolonialer, rassistischer oder geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt zu verhindern.

Im Mittelpunkt dieser Richtlinien sollte ein Verfahren stehen, mit dem der Zugang, die Suchkriterien, Beschriftungen, Zusammenfassungen und die Indexierung des Archivmaterials dekolonisiert werden. Gleichzeitig sollten die bisherigen Modelle nicht gelöscht werden, da sich darin die kulturellen Codes widerspiegeln, die die Konstruktion des Kolonialen bestimmten.

Für jede Archivstruktur sollten spezifische Leitfäden entwickelt werden, die regelmäßig überarbeitet und in einer ethischen Form der beidseitigen Zusammenarbeit neu ausgehandelt werden.
 

SCHLUSSWORT

Die Dekolonisierung von Filmarchiven ist nicht möglich, ohne das einstmals zum Objekt gewordene Subjekt einer filmischen Ausbeutung in den Prozess einzubeziehen. Dekolonisierungsprozesse sind gleichermaßen eine nie abgeschlossene Aufgabe, sondern immer gelebte Voraussetzung. Die Rückkehr des Subjekts in das Archiv bedeutet auch, andere Formen der Wahrnehmung und der Wissenserzeugung, wie Subjektivität, Emotionen und Affekte zum Einsatz kommen zu lassen. Anstatt weiterhin ein Ort der Macht zu bleiben, ist ein dekolonisiertes Archiv ganz bewusst ein Ort der Ermächtigung.
 
 
Erstunterzeichner*innen (Namen in alphabetischer Reihenfolge):

Antje Van Wichelen
Catarina Simão
Corinna Lawrenz
Daniel Blaufuks
Diana McCarty
Didi Cheeka
Filipa César
Fradique
Ganza Buroko
Inadelso Cossa
Inês Beleza Barreiro
Inês Ponte
Julia Klein
Maria do Carmo Piçarra
Raquel Schefer
Sana na N‘Hada
Stefanie Schulte Strathaus
Susanne Sporrer
Tamer El Said
Teresa Althen
Tom Rice
Wolfgang Fuhrmann
Yaa Addae Nantwi