Decolonising Research and Knowledge Production New Ethics for Museums

Restitution – An exhibition room of the permanent exhibition “Where is Africa” in the Linden-Museum. At a press conference in February 2020 the Linden-Museum Stuttgart presented perspectives and ideas for an ethnological museum of the future.
An exhibition room of the permanent exhibition “Where is Africa” in the Linden-Museum. At a press conference in February 2020 the Linden-Museum Stuttgart presented perspectives and ideas for an ethnological museum of the future. | Photo (detail): Tom Weller © picture alliance/dpa

The return of both human remains and cultural objects held in Western museums back to the communities of origin must be on the same agenda, says history professor Ciraj Rassool. He spoke to “Latitude” on new ethics for museums.

By Ciraj Rassool

How would you assess the ongoing discussions between museums in the global North and those in the former colonies regarding restitution and provenance research on cultural objects and human remains?
 
Let me start by saying that restitution of human remains has come into focus from the perspective that it is not possible to return the human remains on their own. In the case of Germany, one of the major sticking points in the negotiations is the fact that German museums fall into different categories and the collections were segregated into different museums, even in cases where the human remains and cultural artefacts had been collected together. The museums with collections of human remains are willing and ready to return those remains. The ethnographic museums, on the other hand, are pursuing a different approach. They want to begin with joint provenance research and are more inclined to the principle of loaning as opposed to restitution. In my view, this approach is not helpful. In the short term, we can work within this framework because provenance research gives the communities of origin access to the collections and the inventories. In the end, the idea of sharing has to give way to restitution. The restitution of human remains, cultural artefacts and cultural documentation – sound recordings, films and photographs – must be on the agenda collectively.
 
How important is collaborative research in resolving unanswered questions about returning human remains and cultural artefacts back to the communities of origin?
 
Collaborative research should be geared towards restitution and not merely improving the quality of collections management or seeking authentication. The objective should be the creation of a new ethics of historical relatedness around the collections and their history. It should be about returning the collections, be it to museums in the former colonies or to the communities of origin. We must also be cognizant of the fact that communities are not without history. You cannot expect the communities today to be exactly the same as those of the past. In fact, the term “source community” is not an ethnic term. We must appreciate the dynamic nature of communities.
 
How can joint research projects and cooperation between museums in the global South and those in the global North be conducted on an equal footing?
 
I think European museums need to be open to various forms of collaboration in order to implement restitution satisfactorily. They should collaborate with communities in open-ended ways that do not reinforce or reproduce the ethnic and tribal constructions into which those artefacts were placed.
 
How can local communities be more actively involved, both in matters related to provenance research and restitution as well as in knowledge production and safeguarding of cultural heritage?
 
Long before there was a new definition of museums, when ICOM (International Council of Museums) was still opposing new museology, new approaches to museum practice were emerging in South Africa, Kenya, Brazil and other parts of Latin America. The new approaches focused on the gathering of people to contribute to the work of commemoration, to enhance the work of memory without necessarily dealing with collections. The focus was on social museology. Consequently, we now live in an era where the museum is the exchange of knowledge between people – it is not the building or the collections but the greatest enabler of participation. Real social empowerment comes when the authority of knowledge production is removed from the academic spaces and placed in the museum itself.

You can watch the whole interview by the Goethe-Institut with Ciraj Rassool at the conference “Beyond Collecting: New Ethics for Museums in Transition” in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, March 2020 here.

Play the Interview as audio:
Audio wird geladen

Dekolonisierung von Forschung und Wissensproduktion Neue Ethik für Museen

Restitution – Ein Ausstellungsraum der Dauerausstellung „Wo ist Afrika“ im Linden-Museum Stuttgart. Bei einer Pressekonferenz im Februar 2020 stellte das Linden-Museum Perspektiven und Ideen für ein ethnologisches Museum der Zukunft vor.
Ein Ausstellungsraum der Dauerausstellung „Wo ist Afrika“ im Linden-Museum Stuttgart. Bei einer Pressekonferenz im Februar 2020 stellte das Linden-Museum Perspektiven und Ideen für ein ethnologisches Museum der Zukunft vor. | Foto (Detail): Tom Weller © picture alliance/dpa

Die Rückgabe von menschlichen Überresten und Kulturgütern aus westlichen Museen an die Herkunftsgemeinschaften kann nicht getrennt behandelt werden, sagt Geschichtsprofessor Ciraj Rassool. Mit „Latitude“ sprach er über eine neue Ethik für Museen.
 

Von Ciraj Rassool

Wie bewerten Sie die andauernden Diskussionen zwischen Museen im globalen Norden und in den ehemaligen Kolonien über Restitution und Provenienzforschung von Kulturgütern und menschlichen Überresten?
 
Zunächst einmal möchte ich sagen, dass die Rückgabe menschlicher Überreste aus der Perspektive ins Blickfeld gerückt ist, dass es nicht möglich ist, sie gesondert zurückzugeben. Was Deutschland betrifft, ist eine der größten Streitfragen in den Verhandlungen die Tatsache, dass deutsche Museen in verschiedene Kategorien fallen und die Sammlungen auf unterschiedliche Museen aufgeteilt wurden, selbst in Fällen, in denen menschliche Überreste und kulturelle Artefakte gemeinsam zusammengetragen worden waren. Die Museen mit Sammlungen menschlicher Überreste sind bereit und willens, diese Überreste zurückzugeben. Die ethnografischen Museen hingegen verfolgen einen anderen Ansatz. Sie wollen zuerst mit einer gemeinsamen Provenienzforschung beginnen und tendieren eher zum Prinzip der Leihgabe als zu Rückgaben. Meiner Ansicht nach ist dieser Ansatz nicht zielführend. Auf kurze Sicht können wir innerhalb dieses Rahmens arbeiten, denn die Provenienzforschung gewährt den Herkunftsgemeinschaften Zugang zu den Sammlungen und ihren Beständen. Letztlich muss man sich aber vom Leihprinzip zugunsten der Restitution verabschieden. Die Rückgabe menschlicher Überreste, kultureller Artefakte und kultureller Dokumentationen – Tonaufnahmen, Filme und Fotografien – kann nur gemeinsam betrachtet werden.
 
Was kann die gemeinschaftliche Forschung bei der Beantwortung ungeklärter Fragen über die Rückgabe menschlicher Überreste und kultureller Artefakte an die Herkunftsgemeinschaften leisten?
 
Die gemeinschaftliche Forschung sollte auf Restitution ausgerichtet sein und nicht nur einer besseren Sammlungsverwaltung oder der Bestätigung der Herkunft dienen. Ziel sollte es sein, eine neue Ethik der historischen Beziehung im Kontext der Sammlungen und ihrer Geschichte zu schaffen. Es sollte um die Rückgabe der Sammlungen gehen, sei es an Museen in den ehemaligen Kolonien oder an die Herkunftsgemeinschaften. Wir müssen uns auch der Tatsache bewusst sein, dass Gemeinschaften nicht ohne Vergangenheit sind. Wir können nicht erwarten, dass die Gemeinschaften heute genauso wie die in der Vergangenheit sind. Eigentlich ist der Begriff „Herkunftsgemeinschaft“ kein ethnischer Begriff. Wir müssen die dynamische Natur von Gemeinschaften akzeptieren.
 
Wie lassen sich gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte und Kooperationen zwischen Museen im globalen Süden und im globalen Norden auf Augenhöhe realisieren?
 
Ich glaube, die europäischen Museen müssen offen für verschiedene Formen der Zusammenarbeit sein, damit die Restitution zufriedenstellend verlaufen kann. Sie sollten mit den Gemeinschaften auf eine ergebnisoffene Weise zusammenarbeiten, die die ethnischen und stammesgeschichtlichen Konstrukte, in denen diese Artefakte verortet wurden, nicht verstärken oder reproduzieren.
 
Wie können lokale Gemeinschaften aktiver involviert werden, sowohl in Fragen der Provenienzforschung und Restitution als auch der Wissensproduktion und dem Erhalt des kulturellen Erbes?
 
Lange, bevor es eine neue Museumsdefinition gab, als sich der Internationale Museumsrat ICOM noch gegen eine neue Museologie stellte, bildeten sich neue Ansätze in der musealen Praxis in Südafrika, Kenia, Brasilien und anderen Teilen Lateinamerikas heraus. Diese neuen Ansätze konzentrierten sich darauf, Menschen zusammenzubringen, um zur Erinnerungsarbeit beizutragen, um Erinnerungsarbeit voranzubringen, ohne zwingend eine Sammlung einzubeziehen. Der Fokus lag auf sozialer Museologie. Folglich leben wir nun in einer Ära, in der das Museum ein Wissensaustausch zwischen Menschen ist – es geht nicht um Gebäude oder Sammlungen, sondern um größtmögliche Teilhabe. Wahre soziale Befähigung entsteht, wenn die Autorität der Wissensproduktion der akademischen Sphäre entzogen und direkt ins Museum verlagert wird.
 
Das gesamte Interview des Goethe-Instituts mit Ciraj Rassool im Rahmen der Konferenz „Beyond Collecting: New Ethics for Museums in Transition“ (Neue Konzepte für Museen im globalen Süden) in Daressalam, Tansania, März 2020 können Sie hier sehen

Das Interview als Audio abspielen:
Audio wird geladen