Authorised Heritage Discourse Interrogating the German colonial narrative in Namibia

The memory and heritage landscape in Namibia today visibly recalls the German colonial era, with many of its prominent monuments and buildings safeguarded by National Monument status.

By Gina Paula Figueira

The legacies of colonialism are still strongly felt across the globe today. Postcolonial societies continue to grapple with unequal distributions of wealth and land resulting from many years of systemic oppression of indigenous communities. Arguably, oftentimes along with these legacies comes what heritage studies scholar Laurajane Smith calls an inherited ‘authorised heritage discourse’ (AHD) about the history of colonialism, particularly in postcolonial societies.

Selective memory

The memory and heritage landscape in Namibia today visibly recalls the German colonial era, with many of its prominent monuments and buildings safeguarded by National Monument status designated to them under apartheid South African mandated administration after Germany’s colonies were removed from its empire in 1919 (George Steinmetz: “Harrowed Landscapes: White Ruingazers in Namibia and Detroit and the Cultivation of Memory”, in Visual Studies 23/3, 2008).


These monuments form tangible pillars of an AHD that privileges an idea of German colonial history as a positive influence on the former colony. Smith describes AHD as ‘a hegemonic discourse about heritage, which acts to constitute the way we think, talk and write about heritage’. This discourse centres around monumentality and so-called ‘experts’ who form gatekeepers and narrators of what constitutes valuable and worthy heritage. In the case of German colonialism in Namibia, the persistent AHD around this era and its relics focuses on the achievements of German colonial soldiers or Schutztruppe as well as pioneering colonial settlers.

The Woermann Haus: historic German colonial building in Swakopmund, Namibia The Woermann Haus: historic German colonial building in Swakopmund, Namibia | Photo: Egmont Strigl © picture alliance/imageBROKER

By highlighting the purported positives gained from German colonialism, such as the often noted German colonial infrastructure, descendants of colonial soldiers and settlers in contemporary Namibia ‘justify their deeds and … blot out any remembrance of their crimes’, writes Reinhardt Kössler (“Namibia and Germany: Negotiating the Past” in: Windhoek: University of Namibia Press, 2015).

Whose history?

Between 1904 and 1908 a genocide was committed against the Herero and Nama people of Namibia by German colonial forces under the orders of General Lothar von Trotha. This resulted in the decimation of approximately half of the Nama population and over two thirds of the Herero population. Near the site of the first concentration camp in Windhoek, a monument was installed in honour of the German colonial soldiers who died during this time.
 
The monument “Reiterdenkmal“ in Windhoek, Namibia, photograph taken in 2008 The monument “Reiterdenkmal“ in Windhoek, Namibia, photograph taken in 2008 | Photo (detail): © Leo Koolhoven
The Reiterdenkmal stood for over a century, a symbol of German colonial domination and heritage at the expense of thousands of indigenous Namibian lives. Just how intrinsic this monument was to the AHD of German colonialism in Namibia became apparent by public outcry when in 2009, it was moved for the first time to make way for a new Independence Memorial Museum. A few years later in 2013 it was moved again, this time inside the courtyard of the nearby Alte Feste, former headquarters of the Schutztruppe.


Many Namibians, particularly German-speaking Namibians, argued that the statue should not be moved at all due to its cultural and historical significance. German-Namibian historian Andreas Vogt maintained that ‘Namibian-born German-language speakers’ are entitled to ‘demand the preservation of their cultural heritage in the context of their constitutionally enshrined cultural and minority rights’ (“To Move or Not to Move: On the Relocation of the Equestrian Monument in Windhoek”, in The Namibian Newspaper, 2008).

De-proclaiming the Reiterdenkmal as a national monument in 2013 allowed for the Namibian government to remove it from its prominent hilltop position, starting a state-sanctioned challenge to this status quo.


While it is true that German-Namibians are a minority in terms of numbers, their cultural rights have arguably been protected by an AHD that serves to centre and validate their heritage and history. The Historical Monuments Commission for South West Africa was formed in 1948 and the majority of its members were German colonial settlers. As a result, between 1950 and 1990, 77 of the 117 sites declared national monuments were German structures predating 1918, which, according to Steinmetz, showing the importance placed on preserving relics from this colonial era. This is just one example of how systemic and long-standing the preservation of German colonial heritage has been.
 
De-proclaiming the Reiterdenkmal as a national monument in 2013 allowed for the Namibian government to remove it from its prominent hilltop position, starting a state-sanctioned challenge to this status quo. Despite this assertive move, or perhaps in response to it, in February 2019 a private restaurant owner in the coastal town of Swakopmund, also known as ‘Little Germany’ due to its visceral German colonial heritage, installed a replica of the Reiterdenkmal in his restaurant’s courtyard.
Copy of the equestrian monument in the restaurant "Die Altstadt", Swakopmund, Namibia, shot from 2019 Copy of the equestrian monument in the restaurant "Die Altstadt", Swakopmund, Namibia, shot from 2019 | Photo (detail): © Helen Harris
When questioned about this, the owner stated that he is ‘planning to display all Namibian history, starting from the old South West Africa as a means of preservation and to educate those coming to his restaurant’ (Eveline de Klerk: „Swakopmund Restaurateur Stirs up Emotions with Reiterdenkmal Replica“ in New Era, 2019). At the time of visiting the restaurant, it appeared that no other relics from any other part of ‘Namibian history’ were on display. The covert meaning in his sentiment then, is that German history is Namibian history. All other histories, or indeed versions of history, are not only overlooked but consciously neglected.
 

Despite challenges to this AHD of German colonialism, as Smith elaborates, ‘[AHD] validates a set of practices and performances… and undermines alternative and subaltern ideas about “heritage,”’ as Smith explains. In this way, AHD is so easily replicated and perpetuated as it is hegemonic in its nature. In order to start to interrogate postcolonial power relations in contemporary Namibian society, the narratives that highlight the accomplishments of German colonialism, while simultaneously omitting the brutality and violence on which it was built, need to be understood for the ways in which they form part of this AHD. 
 
This article is based on research undertaken in 2019 during the author’s MA studies at University of Leeds, made possible through the Chevening Award.

Autorisierter Kulturerbe-Diskurs Deutsche Kolonialgeschichte in Namibia hinterfragen

Die heutige Erinnerungs- und Kulturerbe-Landschaft in Namibia erinnert sichtbar an die deutsche Kolonialzeit, da viele prominente Monumente und Gebäude nach wie vor als Nationaldenkmal geschützt sind.

Von Gina Paula Figueira

Die Vermächtnisse des Kolonialismus sind überall auf der Welt auch heute noch stark spürbar. Postkoloniale Gesellschaften ringen nach wie vor mit der ungleichen Verteilung von Reichtum und Land, die aus langen Jahren der systematischen Unterdrückung indigener Gemeinschaften resultiert. Mit diesen Vermächtnissen dürfte insbesondere in postkolonialen Gesellschaften häufig einhergehen, was Kulturerbe-Expertin Laurajane Smith einen ererbten „autorisierten Kulturerbe-Diskurs“ (Authorised Heritage Discourse, AHD) über die Geschichte des Kolonialismus nennt.

Selektives Gedächtnis

Die heutige Erinnerungs- und Kulturerbe-Landschaft in Namibia erinnert sichtbar an die deutsche Kolonialzeit: Viele prominente Monumente und Gebäude sind durch ihren Status als Nationaldenkmal geschützt, der ihnen während der Mandatsverwaltung durch das Südafrika der Apartheid-Ära verliehen wurde, nachdem das deutsche Kaiserreich 1919 seine Kolonien verloren hatte (George Steinmetz: „Harrowed Landscapes: White Ruingazers in Namibia and Detroit and the Cultivation of Memory“, in Visual Studies 23/3, 2008).


Diese Denkmäler sind greifbare Pfeiler eines AHD, der die Idee einer deutschen Kolonialgeschichte als positiven Einfluss auf die ehemalige Kolonie privilegiert. Smith beschreibt AHD als „einen hegemonialen Diskurs über das Kulturerbe, der die Art konstituiert, wie wir über Kulturerbe denken, sprechen und schreiben“. Im Mittelpunkt dieses Diskurses stehen die Monumentalität und die sogenannten „Experten“, die als Wächter und Erzähler dessen dienen, was als wertvolles und würdiges Kulturerbe gilt. Im Falle des deutschen Kolonialismus in Namibia konzentriert sich der anhaltende AHD zu dieser Ära und ihren Relikten auf die Errungenschaften der deutschen Kolonialsoldaten – der Schutztruppe – sowie der Pioniere und Siedler.

Woermann-Haus: historisches deutsches Kolonialgebäude in Swakopmund, Namibia Woermann-Haus: historisches deutsches Kolonialgebäude in Swakopmund, Namibia | Foto: Egmund Strigl © picture alliance/imageBROKER

Durch die Hervorhebung der angeblichen Vorteile, die durch den deutschen Kolonialismus gewonnen wurden, wie etwa die häufig angeführte koloniale Infrastruktur, „rechtfertigen [die Nachfahren der Kolonialsoldaten und Siedler im zeitgenössischen Namibia] deren Taten und … tilgen jede Erinnerung an ihre Verbrechen aus“, schreibt Reinhardt Kössler („Namibia and Germany: Negotiating the Pastin: Windhoek: University of Namibia Press, 2015).

Wessen Geschichte?

Zwischen 1904 und 1908 begingen die deutschen Kolonialtruppen unter Befehl von General Lothar von Trotha Völkermord an den namibischen Völkern der Herero und Nama, der die Auslöschung von etwa der Hälfte der Nama-Bevölkerung und zwei Dritteln der Herero-Bevölkerung zur Folge hatte. Nahe dem Standort des ersten Konzentrationslagers in Windhoek wurde zu Ehren der deutschen Kolonialsoldaten, die in dieser Zeit starben, ein Denkmal errichtet.
Das Reiterdenkmal in Windhoek, Namibia, Aufnahme von 2008 Das Reiterdenkmal in Windhoek, Namibia, Aufnahme von 2008 | Foto (Detail): © Leo Koolhoven

Das Reiterdenkmal stand mehr als ein Jahrhundert lang, ein Symbol der deutschen Kolonialherrschaft und des deutschen Kolonialerbes auf Kosten des Lebens Tausender indigener Namibier. Wie wesentlich dieses Denkmal für den AHD des deutschen Kolonialismus in Namibia tatsächlich war, wurde durch den öffentlichen Aufschrei offensichtlich, als es 2009 zum ersten Mal umgesiedelt wurde, um dem neuen Unabhängigkeitsmuseum Platz zu machen. Einige Jahre später, im Jahr 2013, wurde es erneut versetzt, diesmal in den Innenhof der nahegelegenen Alten Feste, dem ehemaligen Hauptquartier der Schutztruppe.


Viele Namibier, insbesondere deutschsprachige Namibier, argumentierten, dass die Statue aufgrund ihrer kulturellen und historischen Bedeutung überhaupt nicht umgesiedelt werden sollte. Der deutsch-namibische Historiker Andreas Vogt beharrte darauf, dass „in Namibia geborene Deutschsprecher“ ein Recht darauf hätten, „im Rahmen ihrer verfassungsrechtlich verankerten kulturellen und Minderheitenrechte die Bewahrung ihres kulturellen Erbes einzufordern“ („To Move or Not to Move: On the Relocation of the Equestrian Monument in Windhoek“, in The Namibian Newspaper, 2008).

Den Status des Reiterdenkmals als Nationaldenkmal 2013 aufzuheben, erlaubte der namibischen Regierung, es von seiner prominenten Position auf einer Anhöhe zu entfernen und so eine staatlich sanktionierte Anfechtung dieses Status Quo in Gang zu setzen.


Während richtig ist, dass Deutsch-Namibier*innen zahlenmäßig eine Minderheit darstellen, dürften ihre kulturellen Rechte von einem AHD geschützt worden sein, der dazu dient, ihr Erbe und ihre Geschichte in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen und zu validieren. Die Historische Denkmalskommission für Südwestafrika wurde 1948 gegründet, die Mehrheit ihrer Mitglieder waren deutsche Siedler. Als Folge waren 77 der 117 Stätten, die zwischen 1950 und 1990 zu Nationaldenkmälern erklärt wurden, deutsche Strukturen aus der Zeit vor 1918, was Steinmetz zufolge aufzeigt, welche Bedeutung der Bewahrung von Relikten aus der Kolonialzeit zugewiesen wurde Dies ist nur ein Beispiel dafür, wie systematisch und tief verwurzelt die Bewahrung des deutschen Kolonialerbes war und ist.
 
Den Status des Reiterdenkmals als Nationaldenkmal 2013 aufzuheben, erlaubte der namibischen Regierung, es von seiner prominenten Position auf einer Anhöhe zu entfernen und so eine staatlich sanktionierte Anfechtung dieses Status Quo in Gang zu setzen. Trotz dieses selbstbewussten Schritts, oder vielleicht als Reaktion darauf, stellte ein privater Restaurantbesitzer in der Küstenstadt Swakopmund, die aufgrund ihres alteingesessenen deutschen Kolonialerbes auch als ‚Kleindeutschland‘ bekannt ist, im Februar 2019 im Innenhof seines Restaurants eine Kopie des Reiterdenkmals auf.
Kopie des Reiterdenkmals im Restaurant „Die Altstadt“, Swakopmund, Namibia, Aufnahme von 2019 Kopie des Reiterdenkmals im Restaurant „Die Altstadt“, Swakopmund, Namibia, Aufnahme von 2019 | Foto (Detail): © Helen Harris
Auf Nachfrage erklärte der Besitzer, er habe vor, „zum Zweck der Bewahrung und zur Bildung der Restaurantbesucher die gesamte namibische Geschichte zur Schau zu stellen, beginnend mit dem alten Südwestafrika“ (Eveline de Klerk: „Swakopmund Restaurateur Stirs up Emotions with Reiterdenkmal Replica“ in New Era, 2019). Zum Zeitpunkt eines Besuchs im Restaurant schienen aber keinerlei sonstige Relikte aus irgendeinem anderen Teil der ‚namibischen Geschichte‘ ausgestellt zu sein. Die verborgene Bedeutung seiner Aussage ist demnach, dass die deutsche Geschichte die namibische Geschichte ist. Jede andere Geschichte oder auch nur Versionen der Geschichte werden nicht nur außer Acht gelassen, sondern bewusst vernachlässigt. 


Trotz der Infragestellung dieses AHD des deutschen Kolonialismus „validiert [der AHD] ein Set von Praktiken und Performances … und unterminiert alternative und subalterne Vorstellungen von ‚Kulturerbe‘“, wie Smith erläutert. So wird der AHD ebenso mühelos wiederholt und fortgeschrieben, wie er im Kern hegemonial ist. Um damit zu beginnen, die postkolonialen Machtverhältnisse in der zeitgenössischen namibischen Gesellschaft zu hinterfragen, müssen wir verstehen, auf welche Arten Darstellungen, die die Errungenschaften des deutschen Kolonialismus hervorheben und gleichzeitig die Brutalität und Gewalt aussparen, auf der er aufbaute, Teil dieses AHD sind.

Dieser Artikel basiert auf Recherchen, die die Autorin im Jahr 2019 innerhalb ihres Masterstudiums an der University of Leeds unternahm, das durch den Chevening Award ermöglicht wurde.