Repatriation debate The restitution of colonial artefacts is going slowly

Namibian national hero Hendrik Witbooi probably never dreamed that his whip and bible would one day be the stuff of international controversy.
Fact finding or selective amnesia? | Photo (detail): akg-images © picture alliance

Where do they belong? Ownership claims to cultural assets from the colonial period are often controversial and negotiating possible restitution is frequently a fraught and drawn-out process. Germany is taking some initial steps towards a resolution.

By Wolfgang Mulke

Used by Portuguese colonial rulers to proclaim their ownership of Cape Cross in southern Africa, the column is 3.50 metres high, at least 530 years old, and crowned by a limestone cross. According to the Portuguese coat of arms, it was first erected in 1485 and remained in Africa until 1893, when German colonists who had taken over the territory brought the historical cultural object to Berlin. Now its return journey is just around the corner: Germany has agreed to return the Stone Cross of Cape Cross to Namibia. Federal Government Commissioner for Culture of the Media Monika Grütter called the decision “progressive and meaningful”. 
 
So far though, restitution is more the exception than the rule in Germany. The state of Baden-Württemberg’s decision to return Namibian national hero Hendrik Witbooi’s bible and whip to the Namibian government at the beginning of 2019 is another shining example. Otherwise, restitution has been limited to human remains, such as the skulls of Australian natives, and grave goods from African countries. The ruling coalition of social democrats and conservatives has made a commitment to come to terms with its colonial past, indicating in its government programme that exploring the crimes committed during this period must become part of the national culture of remembrance.
Namibian national hero Hendrik Witbooi probably never dreamed that his whip and bible would one day be the stuff of international controversy. Namibian national hero Hendrik Witbooi probably never dreamed that his whip and bible would one day be the stuff of international controversy. | Photo (detail): © picture-alliance/dpa

Limited debate around the colonial past

So far, Germany has failed to take an in-depth look at the German Empire at the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th century. Awareness of the crimes committed during this period has only recently entered the public consciousness, in part due to the debate about the mass murder of the Nama and Herero tribes by German colonial troops in Namibia. The Federal Government is seeking reconciliation with the former colony, including the restitution of stolen cultural assets. 
 
German museums hold thousands of artefacts from all over the world. The exact number is unknown, as is whether they were acquired legally. These include spectacular pieces like the bust of Egyptian pharaoh Nefertiti. Egypt’s demands to have it returned have fallen on deaf ears so far. Then there is the 13-metre long skeleton of a dinosaur in the Berlin Museum of Natural History German scientists discovered and removed from Tanzania.

Provenance research as a starting point

Ongoing restitution battle: who is the true owner of the bust of Nefertiti? Ongoing restitution battle: who is the true owner of the bust of Nefertiti? | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Eventpress Herrmann Obviously the guardians of these treasures are not particularly inclined to give up such significant finds. In 2019, however, the federal and state governments agreed on some key points for dealing with these treasures. Their statement reads:”We want to create the conditions for the repatriation of human remains and of cultural goods from colonial contexts whose appropriation is no longer legally or ethically justifiable today.” In practice, Grütters began by supporting more provenance research, that is establishing the origin and circumstances of the acquisition of cultural assets.
 
This decision has been met with fierce criticism. Hamburg historian Jürgen Zimmerer sees the focus on provenance research as a strategy to postpone the necessary political resolutions. He fears this could promote “colonial amnesia” rather than drive the public discourse needed. “Dealing with Europe’s colonial heritage is one of the great, if not the greatest, identity debates of our time,” Zimmerer writes. Instead of research into the origins of an object, he calls for reversing the burden of proof, suggesting colonial collections should have to prove the items in their possession were acquired legally. If not, the items in question should automatically be seen as looted artefacts. 

France might be leading the way

The German government is also under pressure from French President Emmanuel Macron, who is eager to reach an agreement with African states on the return of colonial goods housed in France. The president was inspired in part by the work of French art historian Bénédicte Savoy, who teaches at the Technical University of Berlin, and economist Felwine Sarr. In a commission report, they encouraged Macron pursue the permanent restitution of stolen art.
 
Savoy’s demands also echo in the halls of Berlin. Here the controversy centres on the Humboldt Forum. The museum will unite the non-European and Asian collections of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation with tens of thousands of pieces of questionable origin and be displayed in the rebuilt imperial city palace. In 2017, Savoy quit the Forum Advisory Board in protest, partly because of a lack of transparency and neglected provenance research.

The Humboldt Forum plans to cooperate with the Goethe-Institut in the future. With its worldwide network of partners from culture and civil society, the Goethe-Institut can make an important contribution to the goals of the Humboldt Forum, said Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut, on the occasion of the joint celebration of Alexander von Humboldt's 250th birthday in Berlin. (editor's note)

Rückgabedebatte Die Restitution kolonialer Artefakte kommt nur langsam voran

Dass seine Peitsche und Bibel mal das Zeug zu internationalen Kontroversen haben werden, hätte sich der namibische Nationalheld Hendrik Witbooi wahrscheinlich auch nicht träumen lassen.
Faktenfindung oder selektive Amnesie? | Foto (Zuschnitt): akg-images © picture alliance

Wem gehört’s? Die Besitzansprüche an Kulturgütern aus der Kolonialzeit sind oft umstritten und Verhandlungen über eine mögliche Rückgabe gestalten sich nicht selten zäh und langwierig. Deutschland macht erste Schritte.

Von Wolfgang Mulke

Die Säule ist 3,50 Meter hoch und gut 530 Jahre alt, gekrönt wird sie durch ein Kreuz aus Kalkstein: Mit ihr stellten die portugiesischen Kolonialherren ihren Besitzanspruch am südafrikanischen Kreuzkap öffentlich dar. Das portugiesische Wappen weist auf den Zeitpunkt ihrer ersten Aufstellung im Jahr 1485 hin. Dort stand sie bis 1893, dann brachten die mittlerweile deutschen Kolonisten das historische Kulturgut nach Berlin. Nun steht die Rückreise vor der Tür: Deutschland gibt die Cape-Cross-Säule an Namibia zurück. „Das ist eine zukunftweisende und wichtige Entscheidung“, ließ sich Kulturstaatsministerin Monika Grütters vernehmen. 
 
Die Rückgabe von Kulturgütern ist in Deutschland bisher die Ausnahme. Spektakulär war vielleicht noch die Entscheidung Baden-Württembergs, die Bibel und Peitsche des namibischen Nationalhelden Hendrik Witbooi Anfang 2019 an die namibische Regierung zurückzugeben. Ansonsten beschränkt sich die Restitution vor allem auf menschliche Überreste, etwa die Schädel von australischen Ureinwohnern oder Grabbeilagen aus afrikanischen Ländern. Dabei hat die regierende Koalition aus Sozialdemokraten und Konservativen das Bekenntnis zu einer Aufarbeitung der Kolonialzeit in ihr Regierungsprogramm aufgenommen. Die Erinnerung an die Verbrechen in dieser Zeit solle Teil der nationalen Gedenkkultur werden, heißt es darin.

Dass seine Peitsche und Bibel mal das Zeug zu internationalen Kontroversen haben werden, hätte sich der namibische Nationalheld Hendrik Witbooi wahrscheinlich auch nicht träumen lassen. Dass seine Peitsche und Bibel mal das Zeug zu internationalen Kontroversen haben werden, hätte sich der namibische Nationalheld Hendrik Witbooi wahrscheinlich auch nicht träumen lassen. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © picture-alliance/dpa

Kaum Debatte für Kolonialvergangenheit

Eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der kaiserlichen Ära zum Ende des 19. und Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts hat in Deutschland bisher kaum stattgefunden. Erst in den vergangenen Jahren stieg das Bewusstsein für die Verbrechen in dieser Zeit an, auch durch die Debatte über den in Namibia von deutschen Kolonialtruppen verübten Massenmord an den Volksstämmen der Nama und Herero. Die Bundesregierung sucht eine Aussöhnung mit der einstigen Kolonie, dazu gehört auch die Restitution geraubter Kulturgüter. 
 
Im Besitz deutscher Museen befinden sich Tausende Artefakte aus der ganzen Welt. Die genaue Zahl ist unbekannt, ebenso, ob sie auf legale Weise erworben wurden. Darunter sind so spektakuläre Stücke wie die Büste der ägyptischen Pharaonin Nofretete, deren Rückgabe Ägypten vergeblich forderte. Auch das 13 Meter lange Skelett eines Dinosauriers im Berliner Naturkundemuseum gehört dazu. In Tansania hatten deutsche Wissenschaftler die Knochen einst gefunden und mitgenommen. 

Erst einmal die Herkunft erforschen

Der restitutionelle Dauerbrenner: Wem gehört die Büste der Nofrete? Der restitutionelle Dauerbrenner: Wem gehört die Büste der Nofrete? | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance / Eventpress Herrmann Von derlei bedeutsamen Funden trennen sich die Hüter dieser Schätze naturgemäß nicht gerne. Bund und Länder haben sich jedoch 2019 zumindest auf Eckpunkte für den Umgang damit verständigt. „Wir wollen die Voraussetzungen für Rückführungen von menschlichen Überresten schaffen und für Rückführungen von Kulturgütern aus kolonialen Kontexten, deren Aneignung in rechtlich oder ethisch heute nicht mehr vertretbarer Weise erfolgte“, heißt es darin. In der Praxis hat Grütters zunächst einmal die Provenienzforschung verstärkt, also die Ermittlung der Herkunft und der Umstände des Erwerbs der Kulturgüter. 
 
Diese Entscheidung rief allerdings auch reichlich Kritik hervor. Der Hamburger Historiker Jürgen Zimmerer sieht in der Konzentration auf die Provenienzforschung eine Strategie, die notwendigen politischen Entscheidungen auf die lange Bank zu schieben. Dies befördere die „koloniale Amnesie“ eher, als dass es die notwendige Diskussion antreibe, befürchtet der Wissenschaftler. „Der Umgang mit dem kolonialen Erbe Europas ist eine der großen, wenn nicht die größte Identitätsdebatte unserer Zeit“, schreibt Zimmerer. Einen Gegenvorschlag zu Herkunftsforschung hat er parat: Die Beweislast müsse umgekehrt werden, koloniale Sammlungen also den rechtmäßigen Erwerb ihres Fundus belegen, sonst solle er als Raubgut gelten. 

Vorbild Frankreich?

Unter Druck steht die Bundesregierung auch durch den französischen Präsidenten Emmanuel Macron, der eine Regelung mit den afrikanischen Staaten zur Rückgabe der in Frankreich befindlichen Kolonialgüter treffen will. Angeregt dazu wurde der Präsident auch durch die Arbeit der an der Technischen Universität Berlin lehrenden französischen Kunsthistorikerin Bénédicte Savoy und des Ökonomen Felwine Sarr. Sie empfahlen Macron in einem Auftragsbericht die dauerhafte Restitution der Raubkunst.
 
Auch in Berlin hallen die Forderungen Savoys nach. Im Zentrum der Kritik steht hier insbesondere das Humboldt Forum. Das Museum wird die außereuropäischen und asiatischen Sammlungen der Stiftung preußischer Kulturbesitz mit zehntausenden Stücken fragwürdigen Ursprungs vereinen und Quartier im wieder aufgebauten kaiserlichen Stadtschloss nehmen. Savoy hatte den Beirat des Forums 2017 aus Protest unter anderem wegen mangelnder Transparenz und vernachlässigter Provenienzforschung verlassen. 

Das Humboldt Forum plant zukünftig eine Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut. Mit seinem weltweiten Netzwerk an Partnern aus Kultur und Zivilgesellschaft könne das Goethe-Institut einen wichtigen Beitrag zu den Zielen des Humboldt Forums leisten, so Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, anlässlich der gemeinsamen Feier zum 250. Geburtstag von Alexander von Humboldt in Berlin. (Anm. d. Red.)