Arbeitssuche Foto: © colourbox.de
For migrants with a visa

Work permit

Are you from outside the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area? Then you need a work permit in Germany. Nationals of the EU countries Romania and Bulgaria need a work permit until the end of 2013, but not after that. Whether you are allowed to work in Germany, and for how long, is shown in your residence permit. 

Certificates and recognition

Have you achieved a vocational qualification, university degree or school-leaving certificate in your home country? You will have to have these certificates/documents translated and authenticated. Authentication means that an official body checks that your documents are genuine. The best place to have this done is an authority in your own country. Sometimes your qualification may not be valid in Germany. You can check this while you are still in your home country (Recognition of foreign qualifications). You can find more information on the “Recognition in Germany” website.

Recognition in Germany

Job vacancies

Have you got a work permit? Then you can look for a job. There are plenty of possibilities: you can find jobs advertised on the internet, in the newspaper or through the employment agency/job centre. You usually only find local jobs in the newspaper. But the adverts are up-to-date. There are many jobs advertised on the internet, but they are not always up-to-date. The job centre will advise you and find suitable jobs for you. But you can also approach companies directly. Sometimes they have jobs available, but they aren’t on the internet or in the paper. You sometimes find situations vacant on a company’s website too. 

There is also the BIZ (careers advice centre) at the employment agency: you will find job advertisements there, and plenty of information about the subject of careers and work. You can post your profile on the internet there, as well as at the job centre. The BIZ centre also offers a careers advice service if you don’t know what you could do or want to do. 

A work placement in a company can also be useful: you get to know the work and you make contacts.

Application

Your application is the first step into the employment market. The application documents are very important. You need a covering letter (a letter to the company), a good application photo, a CV and your certificates (in German). The BIZ centre offers workshops on “Applying for jobs in Germany”. You learn what a job application looks like and how to prepare yourself for the job interview. 

Many towns have an advice service for migrants. Here they will also help you to find work and write the application (see Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge). Special advice is available for young people under the age of 27 from the youth migration services.

For asylum seekers

Working

During their initial three months in Germany, refugees are not allowed to work. This period starts with the date of registration at the initial reception centre. Only after three months are you allowed to apply for a job. However, not every refugee who has claimed asylum is allowed to work. Refugees from so-called safe countries of origin are not permitted to work until their asylum application has been decided.

Would you like to work in Germany after these initial three months? In this case, you will need to obtain a permit from the Foreigners Registration Office. In the beginning, you won’t have as many options when it comes to job selection. However, this is going to change the longer you have been in Germany.

Once you have officially been granted refugee status in Germany, you are allowed to work without any restrictions. Are you a tolerated asylum seeker with a temporary stay of deportation? Then it will be at the authority’s discretion whether or not you are allowed to work.

Finding employment

Are you looking for a job? Then you can turn to the Job Centre. The Job Centre assists people in their job search and can help you. 

Arbeitsagentur: Jobbörse

But there are also other initiatives that assist refugees in their job search. You can find various job exchange sites on the Internet where you can register your details. 

workeer.de: Jobbörse für Flüchtlinge

jobbörse.de: Jobbörse für Flüchtlinge

Have you found a job? In this case, the Foreigners Registration Office will first check that no other EU citizen is available to fill this position. This is called priority review. If no other EU citizen is available for the specific job, you will be granted a work permit. The job centre still has to provide their consent.

Do you hold a vocational qualification or a graduate degree? In this case, your documents will first need to be reviewed to be recognised. If your documents are recognised in Germany, it will be easier to obtain a work permit as no priority review will be carried out. For more information on recognised qualifications, see the article on University Degrees and Vocational Training.

Germany currently has a high demand for skilled craftsmen or trained professionals such as nurses. Are you qualified in any of these professions? In this case, you can work without the need for a priority review.

Frequently asked questions

Do I have to translate certificates?

Who is allowed to translate my certificates?

Can I write my application in English?

I haven’t received a response to my application. What do I do?

Do I need authenticated copies for an application?

As an asylum seeker, why can I not start working immediately?

More questions? Contact the advisors at the Youth Migration Services.

Arbeitssuche Foto: © colourbox.de
Für Zuwandernde mit Visum

Arbeitserlaubnis

Audio wird geladen

Sie kommen nicht aus der Europäischen Union (EU) oder dem Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum? Dann brauchen Sie in Deutschland eine Arbeitserlaubnis / Arbeitsgenehmigung. Ob und wie viel Sie in Deutschland arbeiten dürfen, steht in Ihrem Aufenthaltstitel. 

Zeugnisse und Anerkennung

Audio wird geladen

In Ihrem Heimatland haben Sie eine Berufsausbildung mit Abschluss, einen Hochschulabschluss oder Schulabschluss gemacht? Sie müssen diese Zeugnisse/Dokumente übersetzen und beglaubigen lassen. Beglaubigen heißt, eine offizielle Instanz prüft, ob Ihre Dokumente echt sind. Das macht am besten eine Behörde in Ihrem Heimatland. Manchmal ist Ihr Abschluss in Deutschland nicht gültig. Das können Sie schon in Ihrem Heimatland prüfen (Anerkennung ausländischer Abschlüsse). Auf der Internetseite „Anerkennung in Deutschland“ bekommen Sie mehr Informationen. Sehen Sie sich hierzu auch unsere Infografiken an.

Anerkennung in Deutschland

Freie Stellen

Audio wird geladen

Sie haben eine Arbeitserlaubnis? Dann können Sie eine Stelle suchen. Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten: Man kann im Internet, in der Zeitung oder über die Arbeitsagentur/das Job-Center Stellenanzeigen finden. In der Zeitung finden Sie meistens nur Stellen aus der Region. Die Anzeigen sind aber aktuell. Im Internet sind sehr viele Stellenanzeigen, aber sie sind nicht immer aktuell. Das Job-Center berät Sie und sucht passende Stellen für Sie. Sie können aber auch direkt bei einer Firma fragen. Manchmal sind dort Stellen frei, sie sind aber nicht im Internet oder in der Zeitung. Auch auf der Internetseite einer Firma findet man manchmal freie Stellen. 

Es gibt auch noch das BIZ (Berufsinformationszentrum) der Arbeitsagentur: Dort finden Sie Stellenanzeigen und viele Informationen zum Thema Beruf und Arbeit. Sie können dort und beim Job-Center Ihr Profil ins Internet stellen. Das BIZ bietet auch eine Berufsberatung an, wenn Sie nicht wissen, was Sie machen können oder wollen. 
Auch ein Praktikum in einer Firma kann nützlich sein: Sie lernen die Arbeit kennen und bekommen Kontakte.

Bewerbung

Audio wird geladen

Die Bewerbung ist der erste Schritt in den Arbeitsmarkt. Sehr wichtig sind die Bewerbungsunterlagen. Sie brauchen ein Anschreiben (einen Brief an die Firma), ein gutes Bewerbungsfoto, einen Lebenslauf und Ihre Zeugnisse (auf Deutsch). Das BIZ bietet Workshops an zu: „Bewerbung in Deutschland“. Man lernt, wie eine Bewerbung aussieht und wie man sich auf das Vorstellungsgespräch vorbereitet. 

Es gibt in vielen Städten eine Beratung für Migranten. Hier hilft man Ihnen auch bei der Arbeitssuche und der Bewerbung (siehe Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge). Für junge Menschen bis 27 Jahre gibt es bei den Jugendmigrationsdiensten eine spezielle Beratung.

Für Asylsuchende

Arbeiten

In den ersten drei Monaten in Deutschland gilt für Flüchtlinge ein Arbeitsverbot. Die Frist richtet sich nach dem Datum der Registrierung in der Erstaufnahmeeinrichtung. Erst nach drei Monaten kann man sich für eine Arbeitsstelle bewerben. Aber nicht alle Flüchtlinge, die einen Asylantrag gestellt haben, dürfen arbeiten. Flüchtlinge aus sogenannten sicheren Herkunftsländern dürfen bis zum Ende des Asylverfahrensnicht arbeiten.

Sie wollen nach diesen drei Monaten in Deutschland arbeiten? Dann müssen Sie sich zuerst eine Erlaubnis von der Ausländerbehörde holen. Am Anfang haben Sie nicht so viele Möglichkeiten bei der Jobauswahl. Das ändert sich aber, je länger Sie in Deutschland sind.

Wenn Sie als Flüchtling offiziell in Deutschland anerkannt sind, dürfen Sie arbeiten. Es gibt keine Einschränkungen mehr. Sie sind als Flüchtling offiziell geduldet? In diesem Fall liegt es im Ermessen der Behörde, ob man arbeiten darf.

Arbeit finden

Sie wollen eine Arbeit finden? Dann können Sie zur Arbeitsagentur gehen. Die Arbeitsagentur vermittelt Arbeitsplätze. Dort bekommen Sie Hilfe.

Arbeitsagentur: Jobbörse

Es gibt aber auch andere Initiativen für Flüchtlinge, die bei der Vermittlung von Arbeitsplätzen helfen. Im Internet gibt es verschiedene Jobbörsen. Dort können Sie sich registrieren.

workeer.de: Jobbörse für Flüchtlinge
jobbörse.de: Jobbörse für Flüchtlinge

Sie haben eine Stelle gefunden? Dann prüft die Ausländerbehörde zuerst, ob kein anderer EU-Bürger für die Stelle geeignet ist. Das nennt man Vorrangprüfung. Wenn es keinen anderen EU-Bürger für die Stelle gibt, bekommen Sie die Arbeitserlaubnis. Die Arbeitsagentur muss dann noch zustimmen.

Sie haben eine abgeschlossene Berufsausbildung oder ein abgeschlossenes Studium? Dann müssen Ihre Dokumente zur Anerkennung geprüft werden. Werden Ihre Dokumente in Deutschland anerkannt, erhalten Sie einfacher eine Arbeitserlaubnis. Dann wird keine Vorrangprüfung durchgeführt. Für mehr Informationen zur Anerkennung, lesen Sie den Text zu Studium und Berufsausbildung. 

In Deutschland sucht man im Moment viele Arbeitskräfte im Handwerk oder in einigen Fachberufen wie zum Beispiel Krankenpfleger. Sie sind qualifiziert für diese Berufe? Dann wird keine Vorrangprüfung durchgeführt.

Häufige Fragen

Muss ich Zeugnisse übersetzen?

Wer darf meine Zeugnisse übersetzen?

Kann ich meine Bewerbung auf Englisch schreiben?

Ich bekomme keine Antwort auf meine Bewerbung. Was mache ich?

Brauche ich beglaubigte Kopien für eine Bewerbung?

Warum darf ich als Asylsuchender nicht sofort arbeiten?

Haben Sie weitere Fragen? Dann kontaktieren Sie die Beraterinnen und Berater der Jugendmigrationsdienste.

Online-Beratung

Weitere Themen