Mehrsprachigkeit Foto: © colourbox.de

Every year, many people from other countries come to live in Germany. More than 20 per cent of people living in Germany come from another culture. Many are multilingual: they speak not only their language of origin but one or more others as well. Many people who come to live in Germany learn German as a foreign or second language. Speaking the language of the country or region where they live (this is known as the local language) makes it easier to communicate with local people and gain an understanding of their way of life.  

Benefits of multilingualism

The ability to speak several languages is an important skill in today’s world. Borders between countries are more open than before, and more and more people are migrating to other countries. Someone who speaks another language as well as their language of origin has many opportunities. At work and in the private sphere, they can mediate between people from different cultures. Multilingual people have intercultural skills, so they can look at other people’s way of life from different perspectives. Most children from immigrant families who are growing up in Germany naturally learn to speak their parents’ language (language of origin) from birth. Along with the language, they also learn a lot about the culture and traditions of their parents’ home country. They often learn German through play and through their contact with other children and adults, e.g. at nursery and school. These children grow up multilingual (bilingual). 

The importance of the German language

For adults living in Germany, it is important to learn German so that they can speak to the people around them. Speaking the local language is also very helpful for integration. For children, good German language skills are essential when they go to a German school.

Input and output

When learning a language, input and output are very important. “Input” means the language that someone hears and reads. People need regular contact with the language, ideally in real-life situations. The input should also be of high quality; in other words, it should come from a fluent mother-tongue speaker. Reading carefully selected books aloud to children is a very good form of input for them.

Output is also very important. “Output” means the language that a person produces, i.e. speaks or writes. It is essential for people to be able to use the language. To speak a language well, plenty of opportunities to practise in real-life situations are needed. Speaking and writing are important and effective ways of practising the language.

If you speak your language of origin, rather than German, with your child or children at home, there are plenty of things you can do to build their language skills.

The family language is important

In many families, the mother and father speak the same language. In most immigrant families, this is not German. So that the children learn the family language, it is good to speak it at home. In this way, the children establish a close emotional connection with the language and culture of origin.

The language of origin (first language or family language) spoken by the children and adults always conveys cultural information, traditions and values as well. Families should not give up their language of origin; on the contrary, they should continue to speak it at home with their children and family. It is especially important for children to speak their first language well. Good skills in the first language are the best starting point for achieving a high level of proficiency in other languages. In big cities, there are many bilingual (= two languages) and even trilingual (= three languages) nurseries for pre-school children.

One person – one language

In some families, the mother and father don’t speak the same language. Many parents then employ the “one person – one language” approach. This means that each parent speaks their own language with the child. The family language – in other words, the language that the two parents and the child speak when they are together – is sometimes one of the two parents’ languages (the father’s or the mother’s). But sometimes, it is a third language that both parents speak fluently. 

Bringing up children to be multilingual: what’s important?

When bringing up a child to be multilingual, it is important for parents to have an emotional bond with their language. The best option, of course, is for the mother or father to speak to the child in their mother tongue (first language). If there is a family language, this should always be spoken at home. If the child doesn’t want to speak a particular language, they should not be forced to do so. Often, this is just a phase that will pass. Parents should be careful not to mix up the languages too much when they are speaking. Seeing that their mother and father have a positive attitude towards their own language encourages the children to learn their parents’ language(s) too.

Developing children’s skills in their first language(s) is extremely important – but so is developing their knowledge of the local language.

Many advice centres offer help and support on matters relating to multilingual education. Many cities and municipalities have an office or department responsible for intercultural affairs, whose staff are well-informed about the language and cultural programmes that are available and provide useful advice. Private organisations also run advice services. There are also many agencies working in the field of multilingualism and cultural diversity. An Internet search using the terms “intercultural advice centre” or “multilingual advice centre” provides many useful links and information. 

Developing children’s German language skills

Every German state has its own policies, programmes and strategies to develop pre-school and primary school children’s German language skills. Children lacking adequate German language skills can get help from language development programmes, such as preparatory courses and support classes in German. There are also many advice centres offering support and information if children need even more help learning German.

Developing the language of origin

Children’s skills in their first language can be developed at home as well as in an educational setting. In order to enhance the children’s proficiency in the family language, parents should read to their children regularly, and sing songs and play games with them. Children can also telephone or skype with other members of the family. If they know other families with the same language and cultural background, the children can play together and speak their language of origin.

Many consulates and associations offer development programmes in family languages for school-age children. At these classes, children practise reading and writing in their first language and learn about the way of life and traditions of their country of origin. In some German states, development programmes in the languages of origin are also available in mainstream schools. This is known as supplementary mother-tongue instruction.

There is plenty of information on the Internet about the many associations and organisations that represent specific language and cultural communities and run playgroups, sports clubs and social events, for example. They give parents and children the opportunity to use the family language or language of origin regularly in real-life situations.

Mehrsprachigkeit Foto: © colourbox.de
Audio wird geladen

Jedes Jahr ziehen viele Menschen aus anderen Ländern nach Deutschland. Mehr als 20% der Bevölkerung in Deutschland haben einen anderen kulturellen Hintergrund. Viele dieser Menschen sind mehrsprachig, sie sprechen nicht nur ihre Herkunftssprache, sondern auch eine oder mehrere Fremdsprachen. Viele Menschen, die nach Deutschland ziehen, lernen Deutsch als Fremd- oder Zweitsprache. Wenn man die Sprache des Landes oder der Region, in der man lebt, spricht (Umgebungssprache), kann man mit den Menschen dort besser kommunizieren und auch ihr Handeln besser verstehen. 

Vorteile von Mehrsprachigkeit

Audio wird geladen

Mehrere Sprachen sprechen zu können ist in unserer Welt heute eine wichtige Kompetenz. Die Grenzen zwischen den Ländern sind offener als früher und immer mehr Menschen ziehen in fremde Länder. Wer außer seiner Herkunftssprache noch eine andere Sprache spricht, hat viele Chancen. Sowohl im Privatleben als auch im Beruf, können Personen, die mehrere Sprachen sprechen, zwischen Menschen aus unterschiedlichen Kulturen vermitteln. Mehrsprachige Menschen haben interkulturelle Kompetenzen, das heißt sie können die Verhaltensformen anderer Menschen aus verschiedenen Perspektiven betrachten. Kinder von Zuwanderern, die in Deutschland aufwachsen, lernen die Sprache ihrer Eltern (Herkunftssprache) meist natürlich von Geburt an. Mit der Sprache lernen sie auch viel über die Kultur und die Traditionen der Heimat ihrer Eltern. Deutsch lernen sie häufig im Kontakt und im Spiel mit anderen Kindern und Erwachsenen, zum Beispiel in der Kita oder in der Schule. Diese Kinder wachsen mehrsprachig (bilingual) auf. 

Die Bedeutung der deutschen Sprache

Audio wird geladen

Für Erwachsene ist es wichtig, Deutsch zu lernen, weil sie so mit den Mitmenschen in Deutschland sprechen können. Auch für die Integration ist es eine große Hilfe, die Sprache der Umgebung sprechen zu können. Für Kinder sind gute Deutschkenntnisse vor allem notwendig, wenn sie eine deutsche Schule besuchen. 

Input und Output

Audio wird geladen

Beim Lernen einer Sprache sind der Input und der Output sehr wichtig. Der Input ist die Sprache, die man hört und liest. Menschen brauchen regelmäßigen Kontakt mit der Sprache, am besten in realen Situationen. Der Input sollte zudem eine hohe Qualität haben, also von einer guten und muttersprachlichen Person stammen. Bei Kindern ist vor allem das Vorlesen ausgewählter Bücher eine sehr gute Form des Inputs.

Neben dem Input ist auch der Output sehr wichtig. Der Output ist die Sprache, die man produziert, also spricht oder schreibt. Es ist notwendig, dass Menschen die Sprache benutzen können. Um eine Sprache gut sprechen zu können, braucht man viele Möglichkeiten, sie in realen Situationen zu verwenden. Sprechen und Schreiben sind sehr gute und wichtige Übungsmöglichkeiten.

Wenn Sie mit Ihrem Kind oder Ihren Kindern zu Hause nicht Deutsch, sondern Ihre Herkunftssprache sprechen, gibt es dafür unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten. 

Die Bedeutung der Familiensprache

Audio wird geladen

In vielen Familien sprechen Mutter und Vater die gleiche Sprache. Diese Sprache ist bei Zuwanderern fast nie Deutsch. Damit ein Kind die Familiensprache lernen kann, ist es gut, zu Hause die Sprache der Familie zu sprechen. So kann das Kind auch eine enge emotionale Verbindung zur Herkunftssprache und Herkunftskultur entwickeln.

Die Herkunftssprache (Erstsprache oder Familiensprache) der Kinder und Erwachsenen vermittelt auch immer kulturelle Informationen, Traditionen und Werte. Familien sollen nicht aufhören, ihre Herkunftssprache zu sprechen, sondern sie zu Hause mit den Kindern und in der Familie anwenden. Für Kinder ist es ganz besonders wichtig, ihre Erstsprache gut zu sprechen. Eine gute sprachliche Basis in der Erstsprache ist die beste Voraussetzung, ein gutes Sprachniveau in anderen Sprachen zu erreichen. In großen Städten gibt es oft bilinguale (zweisprachige) oder sogar trilinguale (dreisprachige) Kitas. 

Eine-Person-eine-Sprache

Audio wird geladen

In einigen Familien sprechen Mutter und Vater nicht die gleiche Sprache. Viele Eltern gehen dann nach der Methode eine-Person-eine-Sprache vor. Dabei spricht jeder Elternteil seine eigene Herkunftssprache mit dem Kind. Die Familiensprache, also die Sprache die beide Eltern und das Kind miteinander sprechen, ist manchmal eine der beiden Elternsprachen (Vatersprache oder Muttersprache). Manchmal ist das aber auch eine dritte Sprache, die beide Eltern gut sprechen können.

Wichtige Aspekte bei der mehrsprachigen Erziehung

Audio wird geladen

Wichtig bei der mehrsprachigen Erziehung ist es, dass die Eltern eine emotionale Verbindung zu ihrer Sprache haben. Am besten ist es natürlich, wenn die Mutter oder der Vater in ihrer eigenen Muttersprache (Erstsprache) mit dem Kind sprechen. Wenn es eine Familiensprache gibt, sollte man diese auch immer zu Hause sprechen. Wenn das Kind keine Lust hat, eine Sprache zu sprechen, sollte man es nicht dazu zwingen. Häufig sind das Phasen, die wieder verschwinden. Eltern sollten auch darauf achten, die Sprachen in ihren eigenen Aussagen nicht zu sehr zu mischen. Eltern mit einer positiven Einstellung zur eigenen Sprache sind für die Kinder immer eine sehr gute Motivation, um die Sprache(n) der Eltern zu lernen.

Die Förderung der Erstsprache(n) der Kinder ist sehr wichtig. Die Förderung der Umgebungssprache ist aber genauso wichtig.

Audio wird geladen

Es gibt viele Beratungsstellen, die Hilfe und Unterstützung zum Thema mehrsprachige Erziehung anbieten. Viele Städte und Gemeinden haben ein Büro oder eine Stelle für interkulturelle Arbeit. Hier arbeiten Personen, die Informationen über Sprach- und Kulturprogramme und nützliche Tipps geben. Auch private Einrichtungen haben Beratungsstellen. Außerdem gibt es inzwischen auch viele Zentren, die sich mit dem Thema Mehrsprachigkeit und kulturelle Vielfalt beschäftigen. Wenn man im Internet nach „interkulturelle Beratungsstelle“ oder „mehrsprachige Beratungsstelle“ sucht, findet man viele Links und Hinweise. 

Förderung der deutschen Sprache bei Kindern

Audio wird geladen

Jedes Bundesland verfügt über eigene Programme, Methoden und Konzepte, um die Deutschkenntnisse der Kinder in den Kitas und den Grundschulen zu fördern. Wenn ein Kind noch nicht genug Deutsch spricht, bekommt es Hilfe durch Sprachförderprogramme, zum Beispiel durch den Vorkurs Deutsch oder in den Deutsch-Förderklassen. Wenn die Kinder aber mehr Hilfe beim Deutschlernen brauchen, gibt es viele Beratungsstellen, die Tipps und Informationen anbieten.

Förderung der Herkunftssprache

Audio wird geladen

Die Erstsprache der Kinder kann sowohl zu Hause als auch in Institutionen gefördert werden. Um die Familiensprache zu stärken, können Mütter und Väter ihren Kindern regelmäßig vorlesen, mit den Kindern Lieder singen und Spiele spielen. Sie können mit Familienmitgliedern telefonieren oder skypen. Wenn Sie Familien kennen, die aus dem gleichen Sprach- und Kulturkreis kommen, können die Kinder zusammen spielen und in ihrer Herkunftssprache sprechen.

Viele Konsulate und Vereine bieten für Schulkinder Sprachförderprogramme in der Familiensprache an. In diesem Unterricht lernen die Kinder das Lesen und Schreiben in ihrer Erstsprache. Sie bekommen Informationen über das Leben und die Traditionen in den Herkunftsländern. In manchen Bundesländern gibt es die Sprachförderung in den Herkunftssprachen auch an den Regelschulen. Dieser Unterricht heißt muttersprachlicher Ergänzungsunterricht (MUE).

Im Internet findet man zahlreiche Vereine und Organisationen bestimmter Sprach- oder Kulturgruppen, wie zum Beispiel Spielgruppen für Kinder, Sportvereine oder Stammtische. Sowohl die Kinder als auch die Eltern können so die Familien- oder Herkunftssprache regelmäßig und in realen Situationen sprechen.