Frühe Förderung Foto: © colourbox.de

Young children up to the age of 3

Are you and your partner working and have a small child (a few months old up to the age of 3 years)? Then you could put your child in a crèche. There are not many places in crèches. Because of this you should register your child as early as possible. From the age of 3 children can go to kindergarten. They can play, sing, paint and do craft activities here. In many kindergartens the carers take the children outdoors in the summer. Kindergartens frequently offer language support. For instance they play language games with the children and read them stories.

Kindergartens and children’s daycare centres

Kindergarten prepares children for school. Every child aged 3+ is entitled to a kindergarten place. There are kindergartens even in smaller communities. But register your child with the kindergarten in plenty of time. There are not that many places here either. Your child is also exposed to contact with the culture through the kindergarten, and will be able to get to know the new country quickly.

Some kindergartens are only open until lunchtime (from 7am to 12 or 1pm). Other kindergartens are open all day (from 7am to 4 or 5pm). These kindergartens are also called Kita (Kindertagestätte; children’s daycare centres). Your child is given lunch here. You normally have to pay for a place in a crèche or kindergarten/children’s daycare centre.

The costs vary from one federal state to another. And not everyone has to pay the same amount. It depends on various things: how much do you earn? How old is your child? And how many hours does the child spend in kindergarten? There are state-run and private crèches or kindergartens. Private crèches/kindergartens are more expensive. Some private kindergartens are binational. They speak 2 languages there, for instance Spanish and German.

In many kindergartens/children’s daycare centres there is a language test for all children before they start school. Sometimes German is difficult even for German children. Children who do not pass the test can spend another year at kindergarten or they can receive language support.

Frequently asked questions

When do I have to put my child’s name down for a place in kindergarten/Kita (children’s daycare centre)?

How can I secure a kindergarten place for my child?

My child is only 2. Can he/she go to kindergarten?

My child does not speak German. Can I send him/her to kindergarten?

Can my child do sports at kindergarten?

How many carers are there?

Will my child be given anything to eat?

More questions? Contact the advisors at the Youth Migration Services.

Leben in Deutschland und Europa

Bank account and finances

Schule, Ausbildung und Studium

Studying and vocational training

Frühe Förderung Foto: © colourbox.de

 

Audio wird geladen


Kleinkinder bis 3 Jahre


Sie und Ihr Partner/Ihre Partnerin arbeiten und Sie haben ein kleines Kind (ein paar Monate alt bis 3 Jahre)? Dann können Sie Ihr Kind in eine Kinderkrippe geben. Es gibt wenig Plätze in Kinderkrippen. Deshalb meldet man sein Kind schon sehr früh an. Ab 3 Jahren können die Kinder in den Kindergarten gehen. Dort können sie spielen, singen, malen und basteln. In vielen Kindergärten gehen die Erzieherinnen/Erzieher im Sommer mit den Kindern in die Natur. Oft gibt es auch eine Sprachförderung im Kindergarten. Man macht zum Beispiel Sprachspiele mit den Kindern und erzählt ihnen Geschichten. 

Kindergärten und Kindertagesstätten

Der Kindergarten ist für Kinder eine Vorbereitung auf die Schule. Jedes Kind ab 3 Jahren kann einen Kindergartenplatz bekommen. Kindergärten gibt es auch in kleineren Orten. Melden Sie Ihr Kind aber rechtzeitig im Kindergarten an. Es gibt auch hier nicht so viele Plätze. Durch den Kindergarten hat Ihr Kind auch Kontakt zur Kultur und kann das neue Land schnell kennenlernen.
 
Einige Kindergärten sind nur bis Mittag geöffnet (von 7 Uhr bis 12 oder 13 Uhr). (7-12 oder 13 Uhr) Andere Kindergärten haben den ganzen Tag offen (von 7 Uhr bis 16 oder 17 Uhr). (7-16 oder 17 Uhr) Diese Kindergärten heißen auch Kita (Kindertagesstätte). Hier bekommt Ihr Kind ein Mittagessen.
 
Für einen Platz in einer Kinderkrippe oder im Kindergarten/in einer Kita muss man normalerweise etwas bezahlen. Die Kosten sind in den Bundesländern unterschiedlich. Und nicht jeder muss gleich viel zahlen. Das hängt von verschiedenen Dingen ab: Wie viel verdienen Sie? Wie alt ist Ihr Kind? Und wie viele Stunden ist das Kind im Kindergarten? Es gibt staatliche und private Kinderkrippen oder Kindergärten. Private Kinderkrippen/Kindergärten sind teurer. Manche privaten Kindergärten sind binational. Man spricht dort 2 Sprachen, zum Beispiel Spanisch und Deutsch.

In vielen Kindergärten/Kitas gibt es vor dem Schulanfang einen Sprachtest für alle Kinder. Manchmal ist Deutsch auch für deutsche Kinder schwierig. Kinder, die den Test nicht bestehen, können noch ein Jahr in den Kindergarten gehen oder eine Sprachförderung bekommen.

Häufige Fragen

Wann muss ich mein Kind im Kindergarten/in der Kita anmelden?

Wie kann ich einen Kindergartenplatz für mein Kind bekommen?

Mein Kind ist erst 2 Jahre alt. Kann es in den Kindergarten gehen?

Mein Kind kann kein Deutsch sprechen. Kann es in den Kindergarten gehen?

Kann mein Kind im Kindergarten Sport machen?

Wie viele Erzieher gibt es?

Bekommt mein Kind etwas zu essen?

Haben Sie weitere Fragen? Dann kontaktieren Sie die Beraterinnen und Berater der Jugendmigrationsdienste.

Online-Beratung