Short Film Competition for Smartphone Film

As a form of digital literacy, storytelling and smartphone films can promote positive change and draw attention to ecology and sustainability. Smartphone filmmaking in its third generation is not only changing the industry inside and outside of the cinema, but can also make a contribution to how we engage with the world.

As a digital form of narrative, smartphone films can help change the way we think and also draw attention to the subject of ecology and sustainability. At the moment, smartphone films are not just changing the film industry both on and off camera. They are also having an impact on the way in which we interact with our environment. 

In this era of “Fridays for Future” demonstrations with Greta Thunberg as a symbol of a generation demanding the debate about sustainability and ecology be taken seriously, we challenged filmmakers from Southeast Asia, Australia and New Zealand to send us their perspectives and contributions in the form of a 3-5 minute smartphone film.

Nearly 60 films were submitted and nine winners from Australia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore and Vietnam were invited to a workshop in Wellington, where they spent three days collaborating on a smartphone short film on ecotourism with music contributed by German musician Hanno Leichtmann.

The competition ended with a podium discussion and gala screening at the iconic Embassy Theatre, where “Lord of the Rings” had its world premiere. The evening was officially opened by the German ambassador, Stefan Krawielicki. As well as the winning films, the collaborative film on ecotourism was also presented. The event was accompanied by a podium discussion featuring experts on the subject Sarah Meade, Mark Williams, John Barrett, Ian Yeoman and Max Schleser and smartphone competition winners Tejas Ewing and Fauzhyana Sharifa.

To offset some of the carbon emissions of their air travel, we supported the nature conservation project “Ngā Uruora” on the Kapiti Coast. The filmmakers spent half a day creating a lizard habitat out of driftwood in a nature reserve there and a short film was produced to document the process.

Kurzfilmwettbewerb für Smartphone-Filme

Als digitale Erzählform können Smartphone-Filme somit einen Beitrag zum Umdenken leisten und Aufmerksamkeit auf die Themen Ökologie und Nachhaltigkeit lenken. Smartphone-Filme verändern momentan nicht nur die Branche vor und hinter den Kulissen, sondern haben auch Einfluss auf die Art und Weise, wie wir mit unserer Umwelt in Kontakt treten. 

In Zeiten von Fridays For Future Demonstrationen und einer Greta Thunberg als Symbol für eine Generation, die fordert, dass die Diskussion um Nachhaltigkeit und Ökologie endlich ernsthaft geführt wird, riefen wir Filmschaffenden aus Südostasien, Australien und Neuseeland auf, uns ihre Perspektiven und Beiträge in Form eines 3-5 Minuten langen Smartphone-Filmes zuzusenden.

Nahezu 60 Filme wurden eingereicht und neun Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner aus Australien, Indonesien, den Philippinen, Malaysia, Neuseeland, Singapur, Vietnam wurden nach Wellington zu einem Workshop eingeladen. Dort produzierten sie an drei Tagen einen gemeinsamen Film über Öko-Tourismus, für den der deutsche Musiker Hanno Leichtmann die Musik beisteuerte.

Mit einer Podiumsdiskussion und Filmvorführung endete der Wettbewerb im renommierten Embassy-Kino, in dem bereits „Herr der Ringe“ seine Weltpremiere feierte. Eröffnet wurde der Abend durch den deutschen Botschafter Stefan Krawielicki. Neben den Filmen der Gewinnerinnen und Gewinnern wurde der gemeinsam erstellte Film zum Thema Öko-Tourismus präsentiert. Flankiert wurde die Veranstaltung von einer Podiumsdiskussion mit den Expertinnen und Experten Sarah Meade, Mark Williams, John Barrett, Ian Yeoman, Max Schleser, sowie den Smartphone-Wettbewerb Gewinnenden Tejas Ewing und Fauzhyana Sharifa.

Um die durch die Flüge verursachten CO2-Emissionen zu mindern unterstützen wir das Umweltschutzprojekt „Ngā Uruora“ an der Kapiti Coast. Die Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher verbrachten einen halben Tag damit, Informationen über Öko-Tourismus zu erhalten und ein Eidechsenhabitat aus Treibholz zu errichten. Dabei entstand ein weiterer Kurzfilm.