Winners

Nearly sixty films of impressive quality were submitted and challenged the jury to only select the best film from each country.

The winners come from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam. Additionally a Jury Award was given to a film from Australia. The Goethe-Institut New Zealand has invited the winners to Wellington to collectively produce another short film about eco-tourism on smartphones.

On the 4th of November 2019 this was shown as a world premiere at the Embassy Theatre along with the exciting 3-5 minute smartphone films of the winners. In addition, experts from the fields of climate, tourism, culture and film will discussed challenges and opportunities in times of climate change and the role of culture in it.

Chains - Experimental Smartphone Film (Australia)

'Chains' compares and contrasts two worlds, the busyness of modern city life and the stillness of outer country nature. It explores the perceptions of each environment, and invites the audience to reflect on their own experience of such.

#Nucleus - Gewinner - Chains
Director: Michael Hollis is a film-maker who has previously worked on independent short films, sketches and student work. In 2018 he wrote and directed 'Baker’s Delight', co-wrote and directed a comedy-slasher called 'The Sound of Death'. He is constantly striving to produce more content and create as much as he can in between his larger projects.

Michael Hollis © Lewis Warner

​Bandung Park Hopping (Indonesia)

Indonesia, with a numbers of big cities, the country has actually made attempts on overcoming air pollution problems. Bandung, as one of the originators of a creative city, has a unique way of developing public space with a thematic park. Therefore, vegetation are planted to produce oxygen, cool down the temperature, and support the delivered theme in each park.

#Nucleus - Winner - Bandung Park Hopping
Credits: Fauzhyana Sharifa & Nabil Azizi – Director, Fauzhyana Sharifa & Nabil Azizi – Writer, Fauzhyana Sharifa & Nabil Azizi – Producer, Nabil Azizi – Key Cast, Tigapagi – Music 'The Way', Mamerico – Music 'Waltz For Hulot'

Directors: Nabil Azizi & Fauzhyana Sharifa
Nabil Azizi, born on 21 October 1998 in Jakarta, is an interior design student living in Bandung, Indonesia who enjoys exploring open spaces provided and generated by the government. Public facilities for him determines how a city is livable for human.

Fauzhyana Sharifa, born on 28 January 1999 in Jakarta, is a visual communication design student living in Bandung, Indonesia who speaks through photography and film. Her creations are mainly centered in exposing culture and people who hold stories to tell.
 
Fauzhyana Sharifa, Nabil Azizi © Nabil Azizi

Once upon a time (Malaysia)

The movie is about a lost love that a father tries to retrieve back through time. Related to that time are trees which reminds him of the time they spent together.

Video wird geladen
Credits: Wahh Afif – Director, Nik Dafli – Director, Amirul Firdaus – Writer, Amirul Firdaus – Producer, Nik Fadli – Key Cast

Producer: Amirul Firdaus, born on 23 January 1990 in Kuala Lumpur, is an architect and an engineer. He has a Chinese, Kadazan and Malay background. Amirul also works as a part-time photographer. He loves the visual, watching his surroundings that gives him inspiration. In his spare time, he likes to sketch, riding his bike and watching films. This short film is his first time filming.

Amirul Firdaus © Amirul Firdaus

​Mānuka (New Zealand)

The Mānuka is one of the most common native trees in Aotearoa, New Zealand. Valued for its many healing medicinal properties, as well as its regenerative nature, the Mānuka is an important ecological icon. This film is an exploration of the Mānuka plant and its relationship to various forms of ecological restoration endeavors.

#Nucleus - Manuka - New Zealand
Director: Sarah Davis (b.1997) is a multimedia artist and photographer who lives and works in Auckland, New Zealand. She is currently completing her final year of a Bachelor of Fine Arts with a major in Photography and Media Arts from 'Whitecliffe College of Arts and Design'. She is interested in utilizing photography and moving image to reveal the unseen and overlooked. Her current practice is an exploration of ideas surrounding ecology and New Zealand native plants, with an interest in restorative ecological efforts in the age of climate change and anthropogenic.
 
Sarah Davis © Fiona Davis

​Alocasia (Phillipines)

In the short film, 'Alocasia', a young woman by the name of Alocasia, also a local plant of the region, describes how her neighborhood has been tarnished by the effects of man. It describes a turning point in her life, where she decides to incite change, in hopes that one day the effects can be reversed and humanity and nature can indeed coexist.

#Nucleus - Gewinner - Alocasia
Credits: Loyd Doron – Director, Carson McGill – Writer, Loyd Doron – Producer, Leiam Mae Fernando – Key Cast 'Alocasia', Loyd Doron – Editor

Director: Loyd Doron, born on 2nd April 2000, is an aspiring videographer/filmmaker based in Southern Leyte, Philippines. He often creates inspiring content for the internet in hopes to spark a spirit of unity and seeking discomfort among a community of people. He hopes that one day, his passion for making films and inspiring others with his unique storytelling ability will lead him to the big screen, where he will be able to share this passion with others across the whole globe.
 
Loyd Doron © Loyd Doron

​Gaia (Singapore)

The film follows a team of researchers for a sinister corporation, as they look for solutions to an unnamed crisis facing humanity. Believing they have found a sanctuary for human survival, in a remote location off the coast of Singapore, they are beset by psychological turmoil caused by plants that defend themselves against the corporation’s goal to exploit every natural resource for human benefit. If Gaia was real, would she want humans as part of her system?

#Nucleus - Gaia - Singapore
Credits: Tejas Ewing – Director, Tejas Ewing – Writer, Jeremy Ward – Key Cast, Akhil Atluri – Key Cast, Aryan Sarswat – Key Cast, Sujay Bangale – Key Cast, Deepesh Vasudev – Key Cast, Deepesh Vasudev – Editor, Richard Cooper – Music, Deepesh Vasudev – Producer

Director: Tejas Ewing is a filmmaker, journalist, author and CEO of Ewing Communications. Tejas specializes in creating innovative learning programs for NGOs, academic and government institutions. As a filmmaker, Tejas studied at 'Prague Film School', and has worked on over 15 short films, including both award-winning and award-nominated films, in Singapore, Canada and United Kingdom. He has deep passion for telling compelling stories that encourage audiences to think about social and environmental issues.
 
Tejas Ewing © Tejas Ewing

​Not just a tree (Vietnam)

The short film is based on the idea that people in big cities do not care about the plants, the trees. Therefore, not so many people realize how few plants are left in a crowded city. Instead of getting to know more the trees around them, people tend to cut down many trees to save space for something else.

#Nucleus - Not just a tree
Director: Huy Tam Dang is passionate about recording and making films. As time went by, he has sharpened his skills in the field of photography and cinematography. In order to upgrade his skills, he is learning from online resources such as YouTube, Coursera or Udemy, but he is also participating in classes, workshops and seminars.
 
Huy Tam Dang © Thai Cam Han

Dog Fruit (Australia) - Jury Award

Stepping into a very sticky situation, eco-warrior 'Mrs Ticklebottom' faces her toughest challenge yet, dealing with dog poo on the streets. Dog poo on the streets is bad for our waterways, our oceans and our shoes. We wanted to tell our story without dialogue, using the strong visual image of a jar of dog poo as our starting point.

#Nucleus - Gewinner - Dog Fruit
Credits: Andrew Robb – Director, Jessica Gerger – Director, Jessica Gerger and Andrew Robb – Writer, Andrew Robb Films – Producer, Jessica Gerger – Key Cast 'Mrs Ticklebottom', Andrew Robb – Key Cast 'Man'

Directors: Andrew Robb & Jessica Gerger have been making short films for the past fifteen years. Originally from Canberra, Andrew worked for several years as an actor in the UK, playing challenging roles such as 'Mr. Bruce the Aussie Tourist' on 'The Basil Brush Show'. He also produced the cult hit Australian comedy 'The Vegemite Tales' in London's West End before moving back to settle in Melbourne's Sunshine.
Jessica trained as an actor at the 'Drama Centre London' before a successful television and stage career. Jessica comes from a long line of performers and directors in her family and she has combined her passion for the environment and performance through her children's book and theatre character 'Mrs Ticklebottom'.
 
Andrew Robb & Jessica Gerger © Andrew Robb

Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner

Nahezu sechzig Filme von beeindruckender Qualität wurden eingereicht und stellten die Jury vor die Herausforderung, nur den jeweils besten Film aus jedem Land auszuwählen.

Die Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner kommen aus Australien, Indonesien, Malaysia, Neuseeland, den Philippinen, Singapur und Vietnam. Zudem ging ein zusätzlicher Jurypreis an einen australischen Film.

Das Goethe-Institut Neuseeland hat die prämierten Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher nach Wellington eingeladen, um einen gemeinsamen Smartphone-Kurzfilm zum Thema Öko-Tourismus zu produzieren.

Dieser wurde am 4. November 2019 als Weltpremiere im Embassy Theatre gezeigt. Auch präsentierten wir an diesem Abend die spannenden 3-5 Minuten langen Smartphone-Filme der Gewinnerinnen und Gewinner im Kinoformat. Darüber hinaus haben Expertinnen und Experten aus den Bereichen Klima, Tourismus, Kultur und Film über Herausforderungen und Chancen in Zeiten des Klimawandels und die Rolle der Kultur diskutiert.

Chains - Experimental Smartphone Film (Australien)

„Chains“ vergleicht und kontrastiert zwei Welten: Das stressige Leben in einer modernen Großstadt und die Ruhe der Natur auf dem Land. Der Film erkundet die einzelnen Umgebungen und lädt das Publikum zur Reflexion der eigenen Wahrnehmungen ein.

#Nucleus - Gewinner - Chains
Regisseur: Michael Hollis ist ein Filmemacher, der vorher an Independent Kurzfilmen, Sketches und Studierendenprojekten gearbeitet hat. Im Jahr 2018 hat er „Baker’s Delight“ geschrieben und Regie geführt, bei dem Comedy-Slasher „The Sound of Death“ hat er im Team mitgearbeitet. Er bemüht sich, ständig Inhalte zu produzieren und Neues zwischen seinen größeren Projekten zu schaffen.

Michael Hollis © Lewis Warner

​Bandung Park Hopping (Indonesien)

Indonesien, mit einer hohen Anzahl großer Städte, hat schon viele Bemühungen unternommen, das Problem der Luftverschmutzung anzugehen. Bandung, als eine der kreativen Städte, hat dabei einen einzigartigen Ansatz entwickelt, öffentliche Plätze zu Erlebnisparks umzugestalten. So wurde Vegetation gepflanzt um Sauerstoff zu produzieren, die Temperatur zu kühlen und um die jeweiligen Thematiken des Parks zu unterstützen.

#Nucleus - Gewinner - Bandung Park Hopping
Credits: Fauzhyana Sharifa & Nabil Azizi – Regie, Fauzhyana Sharifa & Nabil Azizi – Drehbuch, Fauzhyana Sharifa & Nabil Azizi – Produzent, Nabil Azizi – Cast, Tigapagi – Musik “The Way”, Mamerico – Musik “Waltz For Hulot”

Regisseur*in: Nabil Azizi & Fauzhyana Sharifa
Nabil Azizi, geboren am 21. Oktober 1998 in Jakarta, studiert Innenarchitektur und lebt in Bandung, Indonesien. Er entdeckt gerne Orte, die von der Regierung gestaltet und zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Öffentliche Einrichtungen bestimmen für ihn, wie lebenswert eine Stadt für den Menschen ist.

Fauzhyana Sharifa wurde am 28. Januar 1999 in Jakarta geboren. Sie studiert Visuelle Kommunikation und lebt in Bandung, Indonesien. Sie kommuniziert durch Photographie und Film. Ihre Kreationen konzentrieren sich auf die Enthüllung von Kultur und auf die Menschen, die Geschichten zu erzählen haben.
 
Fauzhyana Sharifa, Nabil Azizi © Nabil Azizi

Once upon a time (Malaysia)

Der Film handelt von einer verlorenen Liebe, die ein Vater versucht, aus der Vergangenheit zurückzugewinnen. Diese Liebe verbindet er mit Bäumen, welche ihn an die Zeit erinnert, die die beiden zuletzt zusammen verbracht haben.

Video wird geladen
Credits: Wahh Afif – Regie, Nik Dafli – Regie, Amirul Firdaus – Drehbuch, Amirul Firdaus – Produzent, Nik Fadli – Cast

Produzent: Amirul Firdaus wurde am 23. Januar 1990 in Kuala Lumpur geboren. Er ist chinesischer, kadazanischer, und malaysischer Herkunft. Amirul Firdaus ist hauptberuflich Architekt und Ingenieur und arbeitet zudem nebenbei als Photograph. Er liebt das Visuelle und findet Inspiration in seiner Umgebung. Seine Freizeit gestaltet er mit Filme schauen, zeichnen und Fahrrad fahren. Sein Kurzfilm “Once upon a time” ist sein Filmdebut.

Amirul Firdaus © Amirul Firdaus

​Mānuka (Neuseeland)

Die Mānuka gehört zu Neuseelands häufigsten einheimischen Bäumen. Geschätzt für ihre vielen heilenden, medizinischen Eigenschaften, als auch ihrer natürlichen Regenerationsfähigkeit, ist die Mānuka ein wichtiges, ökologisches Gut. Dieser Film erforscht die Mānuka Pflanze und ihre Beziehung zu verschiedenen ökologischen Restaurierungsformen.

#Nucleus - Manuka - New Zealand
Regisseurin: Sarah Davis (1997) ist eine multi-mediale Künstlerin und Photographin, die in Auckland, Neuseeland, lebt und arbeitet. Derzeit absolviert sie ihren Bachelor am „Whitecliffe College of Arts and Design“ in der bildenden Kunst mit dem Hauptfach Photographie und Medienkunst. Sie interessiert sich für Photographie und Bewegtbilder, in der sie das Unsichtbare und Übersehende enthüllt. Ihre derzeitige Praxis ist die Erforschung von Ideen rund um die Ökologie sowie Neuseelands einheimische Pflanzen, mit dem Fokus auf restaurativen, ökologischen Bemühungen im Zeitalter des Klimawandels und der anthropogenen Entwicklung.
 
Sarah Davis © Fiona Davis

​Alocasia (Phillipinen)

In dem Kurzfilm „Alocasia“ erzählt die gleichnamige junge Frau, wie ihre Nachbarschaft durch den Einfluss des Menschen beeinträchtigt wird. Alocasia ist auch der Name einer einheimischen Pflanze. Der Film beschreibt einen Wendepunkt in ihrem Leben, an dem sie beschließt, sich zu verändern, in der Hoffnung, dass sich die Auswirkungen umdrehen, damit Mensch und Natur koexistieren können.

#Nucleus - Gewinner - Alocasia
Credits: Loyd Doron – Regie, Carson McGill – Drehbuch, Loyd Doron – Produzent, Leiam Mae Fernando – Cast “Alocasia”, Loyd Doron – Schnitt

Regisseur: Loyd Doron, geboren am 2. April 2000, ist ein aufstrebender Filmemacher aus Süd Leyte, den Philippinen. Er kreiert inspirierende Inhalte für das Internet und hofft ein Gemeinschaftsgefühl zu entwickeln, in dem sein Publikum zum Nachdenken angeregt wird. Loyd Doron hofft, dass er mit seiner Leidenschaft des Filmemachens und seiner einzigartigen Art des Geschichtenerzählens, eines Tages auf der großen Leinwand zu sehen sein wird, wo er seine Passion mit der ganzen Welt teilen kann.
 
Loyd Doron © Loyd Doron

​Gaia (Singapur)

Der Film folgt dem Forscherteam eines düsteren Unternehmens, welches nach einer Lösung für eine unbekannte Krise sucht, mit der die Menschheit konfrontiert ist. Das Forscherteam glaubt, ein Zufluchtsort für das menschliche Überleben gefunden zu haben in einer abgelegenen Gegend vor der Küste Singapurs. Dort werden sie von psychologischen Unruhen heimgesucht, die von Pflanzen verursacht werden, die sich gegen das Ziel des Unternehmens wehren, alle natürlichen Ressourcen für den menschlichen Nutzen zu nutzen. Wenn Gaia real wäre, würde sie dann Menschen als Teil ihres Systems wollen?

#Nucleus - Gaia - Singapore
Credits: Tejas Ewing – Regie, Tejas Ewing – Drehbuch, Jeremy Ward – Cast, Akhil Atluri – Cast, Aryan Sarswat – Cast, Sujay Bangale – Cast, Deepesh Vasudev – Cast, Deepesh Vasudev – Schnitt, Richard Cooper – Musik, Deepesh Vasudev – Produzent

Regisseur: Tejas Ewing ist ein Filmemacher, Journalist, Autor und CEO von Ewing Communications. Tejas spezialisiert sich auf innovative Lernprogramme für NGOs, akademische sowie staatliche Institutionen. Er studierte an der „Prague Film School“ und hat als Regisseur an mehr als 15 Kurzfilmen mitgewirkt. Darunter sind Filme, die in Singapur, Kanada und Großbritannien preisgekrönt oder nominiert wurden. Ewing hat eine große Leidenschaft für das Geschichtenerzählen, die sein Publikum zum Nachdenken von sozialen und ökologischen Themen anregen soll.
 
Tejas Ewing © Tejas Ewing

​Not just a tree (Vietnam)

Der Kurzfilm basiert auf die Idee, dass Menschen in Großstädten kein Interesse an Pflanzen und Bäumen in ihrer Umgebung haben. Viele dieser Menschen realisieren nicht, wie wenig Pflanzen in ihrer überfüllten Stadt übrig geblieben sind. Anstatt mehr über die Bäume um sie herum zu erfahren, neigen die Menschen dazu Bäume zu fällen, um Platz für etwas anderes zu schaffen.

#Nucleus - Not just a tree
Regisseur: Huy Tam Dang ist ein leidenschaftlicher Filmemacher: Er eignete sich über die Jahre Wissen in der Photographie und Kinematographie an. Um dieses Wissen zu verstärken und sich zu verbessern, nimmt er an Onlinekursen von Youtube, Coursera oder Udemy teil, aber auch an Workshops und Seminaren.
 
Huy Tam Dang © Thai Cam Han

Dog Fruit (Australien) - Jury Award

Die Ökokriegerin „Frau Ticklebottom“ gerät in eine sehr schwierige Situation und steht vor ihrer bislang größten Herausforderung: mit Hundekot auf der Straße umzugehen. Hundekot auf den Straßen ist schlecht für unsere Wasserstraßen, unsere Ozeane und unsere Schuhe. Die Geschichte wird ohne Dialog erzählt und fokussiert sich auf das starke visuelle Bild eines Glases mit Hundekot, welches den Ausgangspukt der Geschichte bildet.

#Nucleus - Gewinner - Dog Fruit
Credits: Andrew Robb – Regie, Jessica Gerger – Regie, Jessica Gerger and Andrew Robb – Drehbuch, Andrew Robb – Produzent, Jessica Gerger – Cast “Mrs Ticklebottom”, Andrew Robb – Cast “Man”

Regisseur*in: Andrew Robb & Jessica Gerger produzieren seit 15 Jahren Kurzfilme. Ursprünglich aus Canberra, arbeitete Andrew als Schauspieler in Großbritannien, darunter als „Mr. Bruce the Aussie Tourist“ in „The Basil Bush Show“. Er produzierte außerdem die australische Kult-Hit Komödie „The Vegemite Tales“ in Londons West End, bevor er zurück ins sonnige Melbourne zog.
Jessica, die als Schauspielerin an dem „Drama Centre London“ ausgebildet wurde, hatte eine erfolgreiche Fernseh- und Bühnenkarriere. Jessica kommt aus einer Familie bestehend aus Performance-Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sowie Regisseurinnen und Regisseuren und hat ihre Leidenschaft für die Umwelt und Performance mit ihrem Kinderbuch- und Theatercharakter „Mrs. Ticklebottom“ kombiniert.
 
Andrew Robb & Jessica Gerger © Andrew Robb