Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Philippines
Caliph8

Caliph8
© Caliph8

Manila-born Caliph8 aka Arvin Nogueras is a sound and visual artist that explores the implication of merging, summing, and hybridization to create a new artistic syntax. In his compositions, he deploys sheets of polyrhythmic beats, one-note samples, and deconstructed cut & paste sound sequences. His arsenal of methods also includes sample-based and granular synthesis, as well as free-form improvisation in which he combines sound manipulation techniques and samples with prepared gear or objects.
 
Nogueras has been continuously active within Manila’s visual and sound art scenes since the late 90s. His artistic collaborators include: Keiji Haino, dj sniff, Yuen Chee Wai, Sin:Ned, Otomo Yoshihide, Nonplus, Roger Lopez, Seido, Teichmann Brothers, and Malek Lopez among others.
 
Recent projects include a composition and sound performance with Jang Young-Gyu, Raed Yassin, Asa Chang, and Artyom Kim called “Vanishing Voices” at the ACC Museum in South Korea (2015) and participation in the 2017 Asian Music Network festival. During José Maceda’s centenary celebration and exhibition at the Cultural Centre of the Philippines in Manila this past year, Nogueras was tasked by the University of the Philippines Ethnomusicology Department to interpret "Accordion&Mandolin", a piece for 19 instruments that Maceda wrote shortly before his death, but never premiered.

Nogueras has released on labels such as Dub Temple Records (Brisbane), SVBKVLT (Shanghai), and O-Rich (Tokyo). His latest release, Vertical Stack, came out on cassette for Manila-based label NINE IRON in 2017.
 

Top

Caliph8 © Caliph8
Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

Caliph8 | Philippinen

Der aus Manila stammende Caliph8 alias Arvin Nogueras ist ein Klang- und Bildkünstler, der die Auswirkungen von Verschmelzung, Summierung und Hybridisierung erforscht, um eine neue künstlerische Syntax zu schaffen. In seinen Kompositionen setzt er polyrhythmische Beats, One-Note-Samples und dekonstruierte Cut & Paste-Soundsequenzen ein. Sein Methodenarsenal umfasst auch Sample-basierte und granulare Synthesen sowie Freiform-Improvisationen, in denen er Klangmanipulationstechniken und Samples mit eigens dafür präpariertem Equipment oder Objekten kombiniert.
 
Noguera ist seit Ende der 90er Jahre in Manilas Bild- und Klangkunstszenen aktiv. Zu seinen künstlerischen Kollaborationen gehören u.a. Keiji Haino, DJ Sniff, Yuen Chee Wai, Sin:Ned, Otomo Yoshihide, Nonplus, Roger Lopez, Seido, Teichmann Brothers und Malek Lopez.
 
Zu seinen aktuellen Projekten gehören eine Komposition und eine Klangperformance mit Jang Young-Gyu, Raed Yassin, Asa Chang und Artyom Kim mit dem Titel "Vanishing Voices" im ACC Museum in Südkorea (2015) und die Teilnahme am Festival Asian Music Network 2017. Während der hundertjährigen Feier und Ausstellung von José Maceda im Kulturzentrum der Philippinen in Manila im vergangenen Jahr, wurde Nogueras von der Abteilung für Ethnomusikologie der Universität der Philippinen beauftragt, „Akkordeon & Mandoline“ zu interpretieren, ein Stück für 19 Instrumente, das Maceda kurz vor seinem Tod schrieb, aber nie uraufgeführt wurde.
Noguera hat auf Labels wie Dub Temple Records (Brisbane), SVBKVLT (Shanghai) und O-Rich (Tokyo) veröffentlicht. Seine neueste Veröffentlichung, „Vertical Stack“, erschien 2017 auf Kassette auf dem Manila-Label NINE IRON.